Humans logo

My car being hit

(In the McDonald’s parking lot)

By Saige WhitneyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It was my Junior year in high school. I was at McDonald’s for lunch, (we called it McDanks back then) and I was eating some McNugs. I remember walking out to my car, because lunch was over, and me and my friend getting in. It was before I had even twisted the key to my ignition I heard this loud crunching sound in my back bumper.

My friend jumped and said,

“oh my gosh Saige did you hit someone?”

I was so freaked out, but I said,

“Jess the car isn’t even on.”

Instinctively, we both looked at each other at each other and bolted towards the back of the car, seeing what the hell had happened.

There was this disheveled girl just standing there in pure shock. Red hair, slim frame, eyes big.

I turned my head to see her car had literally rammed into my bumper. And was still positioned inside my car.

She looked at me, “oh my gosh I hit your car.” She was surprised, why was she surprised she had hit a parked car?

“Ummm yeah you did.”

Staring at her in disbelief waiting for an answer.

Another homeboy saunters out of the parking lot and we lock eyes.

Out of nowhere I just start laughing. Loud. She didn’t jus nick my car or hit a moving car backing out. She full on rammed into a parked car.

“So why did you hit my car?” I said between tears of laughter.

“ I don’t know! I was looking over my shoulder to see if anyone was coming and all of the sudden jus hit your car!!”

Ok this girl is way dumb.

“Ummm right now?”

I said looking around the vacant parking lot. Most cars were gone because lunch was over and they had to get back to class.

“Yes!” She cries in desperation.

Is she a crackhead?

This was the best part.

“This isn’t even my car! It’s my friends!”

She says throwing her hands in the air.

“I don’t even have a license!”

At this point everyone is in disbelief. And the friend just awkwardly stands there and doesn’t say anything.

“Hmmmm....” I think. This car is super old. And calling insurance or the police would wreck her driving career surely until eighteen. And the fines. And her parents.

“Go.” I pointed away. Catching myself by surprise because this crackhead should not be on the streets.

I showed a smile.

“It’s ok. Go get out of here. I don’t want to ruin your life.”

“What?!”

“It’s ok, jus be better, or like, get a license?” I said nodding to her.

“Ok thanks.”

“Yep.”

As she walked away my friend grabbed me.

“Are you really not mad?”

“No, it’s an old car. Honestly my car is so off the ground that it damaged her car more than mine. And, not to mention her driving career would be over.”

“You’re a good person Saige.”

“Thanks.”

I smiled back at her.

Driving away, hoping I would not have to have another encounter with another crackhead like her.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.