Humans logo

My Biggest Concern These Days - Tems

Tems talks pressure, concern

By Jide OkonjoPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Tems is currently in a very important point in her career. All eyes are on the songstress who has enjoyed a meteoric rise to fame with only 2 EPs out. It has been almost 2 years since Tems released her last body of work, If Orange Was a Place, and all eyes are on the songstress who is currently hard at work on her debut studio album.

During a new interview with Interview Magazine, Tems had a conversation with fellow artiste Kendrick Lamar, and during the interview, Kendrick asked Tems if she's afraid of all the pressure, and how she's dealing with all of it. In response, Tems opened up about the only thing she's afraid of. Here's what Tems said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During her interview Tems was asked about if she feels concerned because of the success she has been enjoying, and the pressure now to replicate it, Tems said:

TEMS: Yeah, you have to remember how you felt when you started as an artist, to understand the reason you’re doing what you’re doing. Yes, it’s to be seen, or to make a name for yourself, but beyond that, why are you doing it? Most of the time it’s because you have a story to share, a message to give. When you become more known or seen, it’s very easy to get caught up in, “What do people expect of me now?” But for me, it’s like, “What do I expect of myself now?” Because you’re the one that has to live with yourself, the one that has to sleep with the decisions that you make. Trusting yourself is so key, and I’m not going to stop trusting my guts just because people can see me now. It’s like being in a zoo. The animals don’t change their behavior just because you’re looking at them. They’re always going to be who they are. So why should I change?

What I’m concerned about is not being able to tap into that place anymore just because I betrayed myself, and that’s why I have to stick with my gut. Because how do you go back after betraying your trust?

What do you think about what Tems said and do you think she'll be able to deliver with her new music? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

If you want to follow me on social media, I am also on Facebook and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.