Humans logo

Messages to Kendria

Chapter One; The Unknown

By Amy HallPublished 2 years ago 23 min read
2
Messages to Kendria
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. The sound of their wailing cries removes me from my blacked-out state. As we hurdle through this uncharted piece of the galaxy on this suicide mission, I fear certain death is upon us. The sound of the controls beeping frantically pushes me further into consciousness. My body stiffens with a jolt and I react quickly and with purpose. I am hanging upside down in my seat belt as we suddenly gain gravity.

“We are going into a black hole, Captain Leo. Wake up!” Mason shrieks, his voice infused with fear. “Wake up, man! We can’t go in there, we won’t be able to return! LEO!” I regain control of the craft just in time to enter the portal smoothly. “I have no choice! If I turn back now, we’ll be ripped to shreds!” I inform him. Able to turn the ship onto its rightful side, there is a deep sigh of relief heard among the cabin. That relief will only be temporary.

The silence of the black hole is always so calming, but this time it brings dread. “This one isn’t mature enough to travel back. If we make it through, we can’t return home in this lifetime.” You can hear the devastation in Luna’s voice as she prepares the group for this reality. Some of the crew have family and children back home. We all knew the risks.

These dangers associated with pursuing the unknown are the highest honour available on our planet. At any cost; our family, our health, and our lives. We all know what comes with this job from childhood and onward. Each one of us is content in doing so, but when reality hits that, you risked it all; and lost. It’s devastating.

While we barrel through this light-less portal at record speeds, my life flashes before my eyes as if I was reliving it in slow motion. Image after image burned into my brain as it leads into this moment in time. My childhood, my parents, my teenage years, marrying my wife and having my son. He is special to us, as most offspring are. Tales of olden times have always intrigued me. A time where a coupling was permitted to have as many children as they wanted has always intrigued me. Brothers and sisters they used to call them.

A strange calm reaches across my body as I recall little Sebastian swimming through the water, like a fish, or running along the sandy shore while I chase him. I remember many times where we glided through the waters on our vessel, with the wind against our faces. The sound of my wife giggling with pure joy as I playfully chase her down the sands, threatening to throw her in the water. I won’t ever see them again.

My thoughts bring me back to the present as gravity slowly vanishes. We soon enter this mysterious, unexplored location in outer space. Our AI, Silva, is intact, and she is happily mapping this new information as we float across. Gabriel starts repairing the system so that we can walk about the ship, but in the meantime, we will have to make do with floating.

“Communications are down.” Gabriel continues debriefing me. “However, in theory, Silva should be able to transmit information back home. It is very unlikely to get any type of response within our life-time I am afraid. You did good Leo, you saved all of our lives back there.” He pats me on my back and I dismiss him and pull away. “Thanks.” I acknowledge him and change the subject. “I want a full engineering report upon completion of your review. Take Luna with you. I want all eyes on this. I want to know what caused such an unbearable force that pulled us in here. Complete a space walk and check for intruders.”

Silva’s automated voice pipes up, “No foreign cargo is detected in or outside of this ship, Sir.”

“Thank-you Sil, but your system could have been compromised. Have Mason run a diagnostic on Silva, make sure she is unscathed and correct. I will be in my quarters.” Just as I am about to leave, Gabriel announces he is about to restore the system to stop us from floating. We brace ourselves and with a thud, his efforts prove fruitful.

As soon as the door closes behind me, I fall to my knees and cry like no man has ever cried before. Deep within my being lurks a wail that would reach catastrophic heights if it were not for these soundproof rooms. I recompose myself and I am reminded that nothing is ever lost; it is just elsewhere. As I look down at a picture of my Son and Wife I vow to them, “If it is possible; it shall be done.” Looking out the window, I sigh, “It is only a matter of when.”

As we travel through space and hours tick by, Sil is fully operational. “I am glad to hear you are fully intact, old friend.” I say kindly and she replies quickly. “Me too, Captain. Shall I provide with a full report?” I accept and listen to her response. “We came across some sort of force that vacuumed us into that black hole. I was unable to detect until it was too late. Whatever this was blocked my operational system, and I was offline until Mason rebooted me. That being said, of course there was no data stored and I was unable to reroute us. Shortly before my malfunction, there was an alarm in sector seventeen. The footage has been deleted manually. Something is not right about this and I would trust no one, Captain Leo.”

“Where are we?” I observe my surroundings through the gigantic window that overlooks our path. “I am unsure. Our system back home is too far away or down. My guess is that we are in an uncharted territory unknown to mankind.” The glowing lights of the ship emulate our course and bring a glimmer of hope within my heart. “Sil. Look! It’s home!” My spirits are lifted when I see the blue and green sphere in the distance. “The atmosphere has depleted at least 250 years! SIL, how long have we been gone?”

“Let me make some calculations.” She replies. “This will take some time. I am not sensing any frequencies from home base. Do not approach until I check into some data.” We orbit around this beautiful sight and many questions arise, all leading to one conclusion. This is not our planet. I wait for Silva’s instruction but I have a feeling what her report will say. Hours pass before we are all seated in the observation deck meeting room.

“This is not Kendria.” She starts. “This is a sister planet containing H2O and oxygen. Although some of the planet’s natural defences have been depleted greatly, she is still operational and livable for the time being.” My burning question can’t wait any longer. “Can she sustain human life?” Silva answers immediately. “Yes. More will be known when my samples return, however, it is very likely.”

“Great. I will be particularly interested in any animal life forms you encounter on your field test. Thank-you SIL.” I return to my quarters so I can better cope with the gravity and disappointment of my new knowledge. I am lying in my bed as I request assistance with a whisper. “Silva?” She chimes through with a cheerful presence. “Do you think we were compromised from within?” She agrees it seems likely that one of the crew members disconnected her and changed our course, but there is no proof. “They covered their tracks nicely if it went down that way.”

I think aloud. “Mason and Luna definitely have the means to pull that off. I just don’t see it being them. We are comrades, we trained together and I would know.” Silva puts things into perspective for me. “You are right. It doesn’t seem likely but, Sir, don’t be blinded by connections. It would be strategic to place your enemies across the table. Just be thoughtful and diligent. Someone may have ill intent towards the mission and its members. I am about to call a meeting, the samples have returned and some urgent data is to be reported. Hurry!”

I run down to the observation area and make myself a meal as I listen. “I have positively identified many species. A lot are identical or similar to organisms native to Kendria. This planet’s name is Earth. The most interesting organism I have found may come as a surprise to you all. Humans!” Silva seems tickled by the data from this planet. Her make-up includes a chip that advanced her greatly, which gives her controlled emotion. A large portion being a thirst for knowledge. “They are civilized, but not always. I have tapped into a large information source they call ‘the internet.’ It will take Earth-months, to examine everything, but I caution you not to land on this planet until I have everything. The information I have collected suggests you may not be well-received.

Silva lands on the planet’s only moon to save resources and promptly starts taking samples of the rock. “No fuel source here, Luna.” Her bright blue eyes and blond hair sparkling as she brainstorms with SIL. “Are any of these other planets a probable match for a safe landing or fuel source? Maybe there is something we can use on the small, red one?”

Luna is so beautiful, so smart. There has always been a spark between us, but we dare not betray our families. This is punishable by death. My mind drifts off to a time where we can act upon this connection. Law clearly states that in the event where you can no longer be in the physical presence of your chosen partner for longer than two years on Kendria, that one could pursue another. Also, only if the probability of not being able to return is greater than 99.01%. I ask the dreaded question with a heavy heart.

“Silva? What is the probability we could return home?” A moment goes by before she answers. “More data is required to answer that question. However, I have located Kendria and given a fuel source is available, the next portal that would take us there could be reached in 147 years, 4 months and 16 days. “So we would make it there just in time to die?” I looked at Luna with obvious grief in my eyes. “Correct. However, your life expediencies could fall short if any of the preservation equipment is lost or damaged. Sector 17, 21 and 32 are of the utmost importance to maintain. In fact, protocol 7200 should be implemented.”

I put an announcement over the ship’s intercom. “All personnel in sectors 17, 21 and 32 please report to the main observation area for a meeting immediately. Report to Captains’ Luna and Leo upon arrival.” I turn to speak with SIL privately. “seal the sectors off once everyone has exited and reroute permissions to just myself.” Silva follows through and we move on with the mission as planned. “No one will have access to the organ growing farm, embryo cellar or the operation room moving forward as a precaution. Are there questions?”

“How will the farm and cellar operate without us, Sir?” Squeaks a voice from the crowd. “It will only be temporary. Until truth serum and interviews are given to each member of this crew, I will manage the integrity of these sectors. Any more questions?” The group falls silent and compliant, except one; Luna. “Why just you? I am also captain on this mission!”

“That is all, thank-you. Luna, may we have a word?” Mason snickers to Gabriel. “Mom and Dad are fighting! I’m scared!” They laugh as they make their way to the dinner hall. “You don’t trust me? ME, Leo!” Luna exclaims wide-eyed. “I do, Luna. I just can’t take any risks. Someone took Silva offline and steered us right into that black-hole. She suggested that I –”

Luna cuts in without concern. “Suggested what? That you should distrust someone you have known since childhood? Someone who has always been there for you? God Leo, we were two years old when our families came together in partnership. How dare you?” She smacks me with moderate force and continues. “Law clearly states we are all in charge of this mission.” Silva interjects our private conversation. “Sorry to intrude, Luna? This is not a personal attack and I deem you trustworthy, so does Leo. I submitted him to the same test you will receive. We could complete your loyalty check right now, so that you can be free to—” Silva is interrupted by Luna. “Stay out of this, you hunk of metal!”

Luna storms out of the control room and down the hallway. “I thought you couldn’t lie to humans?” Leo requests for information before he answers his own question, quoted directly from Silva’s manual and the declaration of responsibility charter for artificial intelligence. “Unless it promotes the greater good of the mission, or the safety of its members.” Silva agrees to the information and moves on. “Luna is pacing outside of the lab. I think she is ready for her interrogation.”

Upon completion, Silva makes an announcement. “Attention, all personnel. Control of sectors 17, 21 and 32 will fall to Captains Leo and Luna. I will send an invitation for your individual exams to your wrist band and you will have twenty minutes to attend. Remember, crew of the Galaxion 475, this is only a precaution. Every one of you is presumed innocent until proven guilty up to and including 99.99%. You may enjoy some free time until your name is announced. You changed history today; intentional or not. Your sacrifices will be celebrated in Kendria for many years to follow. Be proud of yourself during this difficult time.”

The absence of sound is heard among each corridor of the massive, city-like ship. Each bout of silence broken by Silva’s voice calling the next crew member to be tested for fraudulence and deception. One by one, they are ruled out to have caused any malfunction in Silva or taking us into this fate. As I oversee these proceedings, I think to myself about the possibility that someone who is not on-board could have planned this as well. They would need someone present on the ship at the time of the incident and if that mole was present on the manifest, Silva would find them to be dishonourable upon their exam.

“How many left, Silva?” I inquire while wiping the sweat from my brow. “Three, Captain. Shall I call the next person?” I carefully choose my words. “Not yet. I have some questions. Would it be possible to have done this remotely, or perhaps plant something without your knowledge?” Silva analyzed my question for several minutes so that she could give the most accurate response. “No. Not with our current known technology, Sir. Why do you ask?” I nod and reply, “I have some suspects outside these walls, is all. Carry on.”

The final three were examined, and the results had all been the same. “All 475 personnel on this ship are not responsible for our departure from our known universe to this one. Which, I might add, is named ‘The Milky Way.’ by its inhabitants. I found this to be rather delightful. Ha-ha. Ha-ha.”

“What makes these humans a threat to us, Silva?” Luna asks while spreading her dinner plates across the lab table, as if to make that chair her home for the next several days. “More is to be learned, however these humans wage war against one another. They can be greedy and selfish. Dividing themselves by race, wealth, and by their individual belief systems. These humans can be very dangerous and they conduct themselves quite differently. From what I gathered so far, they have evolved in quite a unique contrast to your human race.”

“What is this new word, Silva?” Luna asks with great interest as she dives into a salad. “Wealth.” Silva offers. “It means not everyone is equal on this planet. These humans created money, which dominates their efforts. Another thing I found to be curious, they have an organization like ‘The Elders’ in Kendria they call the government. Only their purpose does not serve the greater good, just the appearance of such.”

“Silva, why would these humans be at war with one another? Are there not any outside threats?” Silva scours files from various sources to find my answer in mere seconds. “It seems for land, for money and power over one another. Yes, there are outside threats, but for reasons unknown, only a handful of them are even aware of their battles with the non-humans. It is not common knowledge. This planet is overpopulated by billions. I am not sure what benefit would come of not training these commoners for battle. They have powerful weapons, however, they are causing damage to the planet.”

“How far are we from the nearest planet able to sustain our lives?” I am surprised by her answer. “Kendria, Sir.” The reality sinks in that we have no choice but to call this hostile planet home. “How long can Galaxion sustain everyone aboard this ship?” Computing like a calculator, she answers promptly again. “Providing no children were born, accounting for the current number of pregnant women on board and without travelling from this rock; twenty years, eight months and thirteen days.”

After a long pause of complete silence, Silva breaks in. “There are many kind, welcoming and inspirational people that line up more with our culture, as these humans call it. There is much to learn about, however, rest is needed for you both. Leo, you need to be hydrated. You are not at optimal reserves to make decisions or learn with retention. I am forced to complete a break cycle for you both.”

“Override.” Luna attempts for an extension. “Denied, Miss. Luna. I am sorry. Your vitals are not near what I need them to be. We have many years to engineer the best course of action. I will have a much more information for you after your rest is complete. I have been running simulations of approach and this takes time, anyway. You have both been through an ordeal.”

“Yes, mam, but under one condition.” I laughed. “You are unable to make demands, but I will humour you.” Silva responds cheekily. “You don’t tell the crew who really runs this ship!” It’s always comical to hear a computer laugh. Many questions run through my mind, but the most pressing one is when we land, how will these humans react? “Silva?” I ask sheepishly, disobeying her. “No. Leo, get some rest.” Then she reconsiders. “One question each.”

“What is the best course of action in presenting ourselves to these humans?” She thinks for a moment, then replies, “I don’t have your answers yet, but I will in the morning. Luna?” She pauses as if in deep thought, then asks her allotted question. “Are we at risk of war with these humans?” Silva speaks with purpose, as if she expected this question and had already calculated the answer.

“Yes, and no. Some humans will welcome and be intrigued by your existence. Some will see what you have accomplished with science and surely want to take it, want to do experiments on you and possibly want to destroy you all. Don’t worry, Captains! I will have a proper course of action to present you. Sleep well, I have an emergency plan in the event we have to vacate this area. To stay off of their radar, I will keep the ship facing opposite their sights. Luckily, we do not use the same frequencies. They have already detected me in their government files, but they are no match for me. They will continue thinking I am an enemy or spy looking for information. We will remain undetectable until we decide how to approach with caution.” Silva pushes us off to rest and plays our individualized tones for optimal sleep.

Earth-months go by as we study these humans. The more we uncover, the more I wish we had another choice. Silva’s voice is heard in the corridors. “The day has come to begin preparations to approach these humans. Set up your stations for you to be gone for approximately three Earth-hours as we comb over the details. Meeting will commence in one Earth-hour. Chattering is heard among the four-hundred and seventy-five crew members waiting to hear what Silva has planned for them.”

“In three Earth-weeks we will make our entry through Earth’s atmosphere and land on their planet. There are many things you will need to prepare for. Most importantly, they will need to believe that they are of equal intelligence, of equal life span and of equal technological advancement. You will slowly and methodically help them advance to our capabilities, but this will be a long and calculated endeavour. I do not advise any of you to become involved with any human on Earth in a romantic capacity. Those of you not already paired on this ship should consider pairing before your departure. I have a list of biological coupling suggestions. I will make available on your wrist bands upon the conclusion of this report. As always, free will is yours to possess and these are just guidelines.”

Silva’s suggestion brings many thoughts of myself and Luna coming together, as it should have been years ago. The elders spoke otherwise, and I was forced to pair with my lovely wife, Saria. I could have appealed the decision, however many factors played against us at that time. My thoughts are broken by Silva’s continued cautions and suggestions.

“I have two scenarios to approach you with. I will start with the most plausible. On our day of arrival, each of you will pilot your emergency pods and in formation, you will come together as one. Please refer to section 1037 of your manuals to prepare. We will then land here.” A picture of a large, green and well-kept field flashes across the holographic screen. I interrupt with growing concern. “Silva! We can’t do this mission without you! I will not sign off on this any other way!”

She responds, knowing I would dispute her plan to separate. “We cannot allow these humans to be aware of my existence. Artificial intelligence on Earth is hundreds of years away from my capabilities and, in the wrong hands, my capabilities could be very detrimental. I will debrief with you and Luna after this meeting, but Leo, I will not be unattainable.”

Silva continues as I notice the look of fear on many faces in the room. “This manicured field is where the humans will host an event called The Superbowl. Many people will be in attendance and it is televised throughout their world. There will be too many witnesses to keep our arrival a secret, and this will create a blanket of security and protection from those in the government that will wish to keep you a secret.” Silva moves on with her plan.

“I have created a script that will play out for all to hear in a most non-threatening manner and tone. As you have already learned, these humans speak many languages and the most predominantly understood is Kendrian, known to the humans as English. There are some words we use that are unknown to them and likewise. You must learn what these are and disregard them because it will draw attention to our advancements. I will test you all one by one and if we are not ready, we will wait until the following Superbowl. We have over twenty years until we need to habit this planet, however, the sooner we engage the better.”

“Why the rush, Silva?” Luna asks, and she gains a response immediately. “Should the greeting not go as planned, you will have the opportunity to flee and commence with plan C. Plan C is not advised, however it will be disclosed should you need it. Do not hold hope for plan C, as the outcome will be anyone’s guess.”

“What is Plan B?” Mason inquires out of turn and Silva is quick to oblige.

“Also unfavourable and unsustainable. You could land in this section of mountains. Food and water will be scarce, however, you will be undetectable. Humans can’t live in this area because of the harsh climate. However, with our technology, you would be able to live within the emergency pods for hundreds of years.” Gabriel’s question comes next. “Would we be able to leave the pods?” He answers his own question. “Only for a short time, wearing our suits?” Silva confirms this to be fact and moves on.

“I am sending you all the information you require to be a successful and sustainable future for yourselves. I am available in your individual corridors, should you require any information. There is an abundance of work to be completed in each sector so that I can maintain the ship and research. In time, I will be able to join you after the new humans are satisfied you don’t hold any more secrets. I will be undetectable and safe, providing no one gives unlawful technology to them. Please study the guidelines I have provided to you in the manual with precision.”

Silva answers the crew’s questions, and we set out to execute her plan. Throughout the following weeks, Silva’s plan changes. In another conference she explains. “After further review, we will land in a different location. Your plans will stay the same. These humans section themselves off by land mass. Humans in the Country of Canada have been observed to be more peaceful and accepting. Many other countries conduct themselves in the same way. However, my calculations suggest this is the best course of action. They are more likely to welcome and protect you. There is another popular event happening on this land within Earth-Year 2024. This gives you more time to prepare, but is still mere months away.”

As the day approaches that we will land on Earth and meet our counter parts I feel something within my being that I have not experienced before. “It is called anxiety, Leo. It strikes most when your needs are not being met, such as sleep, eating, and water intake. I have sent the proper schedule to alleviate these symptoms you are struggling with. Remember, you have four hundred and seventy-four people at your side. You have prepared for this for a long time since arriving in the milky way. If my guidelines are followed with precision, your success is a sure thing.”

Silva’s inspirational words set me at ease, and my symptoms dissipate. Preparing the pods for departure, I ask Silva privately. “Has Luna been made aware that a pairing with myself would be optimal?” Silva explains that a report has been sent to her, and she has not yet responded. “Perhaps she is waiting for you to respond, Sir?” I thank Silva and move on with preparations.

All personnel are locked into place and have passed all evaluations. As the emergency pods connect to one another, Silva reminds Luna and I of the chip she installed within the brains of myself, Luna, Mason and Gabriel. “This will ensure communication between the four of you and myself. Good luck and godspeed.” She counts down to our departure once all systems are a go. 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.”

humanitysciencehumor
2

About the Creator

Amy Hall

I have written since a little girl. With love for story telling, I was eager to learn how to write, so I could piolet my own adventures! I finally am pursuing as a career but have no idea where to start! Consider subscribing! Enjoy!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 years ago

    I loved this story and your dialogue was emotionally resonant. I enjoyed it very much. Great work I subscribed and hearted

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.