Humans logo

Merman

Mer-man

By Deandra PrabhuPublished 3 years ago 12 min read
Like
Merman
Photo by Annette Batista Day on Unsplash

Merman

Setting: Late afternoon. A woman who is clearly upset and distraught is sitting on a large rock talking loudly. Her hair is out and half fixed, her makeup is half on and off, her shoes are on her lap, her face is a mess.

She gets up and paces back and forth talking and talking.

Abigail: I can’t believe I am losing this case. What am I not seeing? What is wrong with me? I have done cases like this thousand of times well hundreds and I never had a problem what am I not seeing this time? Ahhhhhh. I give up. What cant I see? She says as she looks ferociously at the stack of papers she has all over the floor.

I know that my cases haven’t been going well and the partners are looking for a win but I still don’t get what I am doing wrong. She gets down on the floor and gathers up the papers. She then kneels.

Dear creator, can you please help me? I don’t see what I am doing wrong and I need your help. Please show me the way so that I don’t get fired. Oh and if you are not too busy can you send someone to keep me company. I have been really lonely. She says smiling.

Excuse me, umm can you help me a man’s voice says as Abigail opens her eyes.

She opens them slowly not believing that the voice is real. When she does she sees this tall beautiful man looking down at her. She smiles and looks at him like he is a Greek God.

Oh, that was fast. Thanks God. Oh Hi, how are you? How are you? Where did you come from? she says excited Oh I came from the sea. You know the ocean.

Yes. I can see that. You are dripping wet. She looks away. You do know that this is not a nude beach right she says as she jumps up and covers him with her towel. Still blushing she starts to move closer to him. I am Abigail by the way, what is your name?

Name? Oh my name is Mer. Mer Man to be correct.

Really your first name is Mer? And you’re last Man? That’s funny.

Why is my name funny? A-B-I-G-A-I-L?

Oh, I didn’t mean to upset you. I just have never heard a name like that before. Where did you come from? You’re dripping wet. Over there. The water. The sea. The ocean as you humans call it.

Humans? Aren’t you one?

No.

What are you?

Abigail I am going to be straightforward with you. I don’t have a lot of time.

What are you dying?

No.

What then?

I only have four days.

Until what?

Until I have to return. Come here. Come with me.

What I don’t know you. I am not going anywhere with you.

Abigail listen to me. You know me. I know you. I know everything about you.

Are you a stalker? Were you the one sending me threats?

No. nothing like that. I have come on land to take you back.

Take me back? Come on land. You aren’t making any sense. Mer. Mer man whatever your name is. Where do you want to take me?I want to take you. Abigail. Abigail Spencer back to my kingdom. Back home with me.

Where is your home she asks getting frustrated?

There he says while pointing to the sea.

You’re a merman? She says laughing uncontrollably. You’re kidding right? They don’t exist. You’re not real. You’re so cute to not be real.

Well, thanks but I am real he says holding her hands and pulling her to the sea. Come with me. Come let me take me back home with me.

Well, I do have a few hours before I need to get to a meeting. I can go for a while.

He turns around looking at her. You can never return. I am taking you home to be my merqueen. She just stares at him dumbfounded.

I can’t go with you. I have things to do. Man things. I don’t even know you Mer. Please just leave me alone. I have to go she says as she gets her things and leaves. Leaving a dictionary behind.

Day Two.

Standing facing the road in a tight black dress.

Abigail: Mer are you here?

Mer comes up behind her but doesn’t say anything. He just looks at her.

Abigail: Hi. How are you?

Mer says nothing

Mer? Can you hear me?

No reply.

Mer?

Mer?

Mer? She says again but touches him this time.

He blinks.

Abigail: I knew you would come.

Mer: I am always here.

Abigail- I know. That’s why I come every day. Can you just tell me how do you know that I am here? Do you wait all day to see if I would come?

Mer- No.

Abigail- then how. How do you always know when I am around?

Mer- come with me. Sit with me. I want to share my story with you.

She takes his hand and sits down with him on a rock. She never lets go of his hand.

Mer- this is nice. To have you so close. You look nice. You smell nice. He says then goes silent. Abigail- what? What are you thinking?

Mer- just how nice it would be.

Abigail- it would be nice.

Mer- I know. I can’t wait for you to join me in the ocean and have you naked my by side for all time.

Abigail- oh that is what you meant. Ohhhhhhhh. I will naked forever. And you? Wow. She says blushing.

Abigail returns talking to herself. It doesn’t make sense. Why come here? Why wash up on this beach. Did he know I was going to be here? Was everything true? Did you really come here for me?

Mer- yes I did. One is day is gone. I think I have to try another route with you. Let me share my story with you. Ok she says wondering what else he has to say.

Mer- A long, long time ago when the earth was being formed and God made everything. Humans, angels, the sea everything he also made warriors or protectors of the sea. We call ourselves Sea Men but you humans call us Mermen or mermaids. We protect and take care of the oceans and all that live beneath them. We keep order like the Angels do on land.

When a young man reaches a certain age he starts to have feelings or wants for the opposite sex. Before this time he only knows one woman. His mother. You see we cannot create females. We are designed to only produce male offspring. So when the time arrives and we need to find a wife we hear her calling to us from up above or on land as you know. You called to me. I heard your voice. I saw you. I came to find you. I knew where you would be.

Abigail: What do you mean I called to you?

When the time comes like I said. We see our future wives lives. From your birth to when you marry us. We see all of you. We fall in love with you before we even meet you. We can feel you. We know when you are happy or sad or in your case frustrated. If you come with me I will ease all the pain from your life. I will make everything perfect for you like you will be perfect to me. I will make you happy for the rest of our days. I will never hurt you. I will love you forever or maybe longer.

How are you feeling about all of this?

Abigail: I believe every word you are saying. In some weird way I am beginning to feel you too. Not lust but I truly think you were made for me.

Abigail that’s great. Are you ready to go now with me?

How will it happen? How will you make me like you? What are you doing to do to me? What do you mean?

Well you can breathe under water. I can’t. How will I?

Oh I will give you gills. Like the fish.

What? How?

It’s called the breathe of creation. I will have to pour or give a part of myself to you.

Will it hurt?

No not at all. You just have to give your last breathe to me and I will give you the breathe of creation. It’s painless or so I have heard. I have never done it before.

What? You are a virgin breathe giver? What if I die?

What if you don’t? Don’t you trust me?

No. I don’t. I have to go. This is too much. I can’t take all of this. Goodbye Mer. Please forget me and just leave me alone. Erase me from your memory. Good Bye she says as she walks away.

Day Three

Abigail is clearly upset. Her face is grief stricken and she looks sick.

Mer are you here? I really need to talk to you. Did you leave? What have I done? Abigail asks as she walks around waiting for Mer. She is all dressed up. Tight pants fitted shirt etc.

I am here Abby.

Ok.

Whats wrong? Why are you upset? Did something happen?

Yes. Something terrible.

What?

Don’t you know? Can’t see you everything that has happened or will happen to me? Why are you playing as if you don’t know when I know you do?

Mer- I do know. I just want you to tell me.

What’s the point? You already know.

Abby I am so sorry. I am sorry that you lost your job. But can’t you see that now you have nothing holding you back from me? You are free to come and be with me. Your human ties or at least one of the them has ended.

You like that don’t you. You wanted this to happen.

No I didn’t but I knew it would.

Ahh. In some way I am happy as well. I lost my passion for the law a long time ago. I always knew I was meant to do more.

You can. You can be anything you want to be. You can practice law in the sea. Mermaids don’t just have babies you know. You can have a career as well. You can’t do anything you want as long as you’re with me.

I know. You make it sound so great. Like it’s perfect.

It will be. I will have you.

Mer this is hard. To give up everything I have ever known and just dive into the sea with you. It’s a lot to ask of anyone.

Not if you love me. Love is limitless. There are no doubts. No arguments. No regrets. You just dive in with everything and know that the other person will catch you and be there no matter what happens. Don’t you believe that?

I am not sure. Honestly I have no idea what love is. I have never fallen in love. I never knew my parents. They died when I was young and I have been working so hard that I forgot to stop and actually live until now. Until you. I have been thinking and I want you to spend the day with me. Come let you show you my life.

Abigail I don’t have time. I have seen your life. I know the human world and it’s not for me. My world is for you. Come and be with me. Come Abigail we can go now.

Mer I can’t I am not ready. I need more time.

Mer- fine you take all the time you need. I should have listened to everyone. They said you weren’t ready. You needed more time. But I said no she is ready. Once she sees me she will come but you are so resistant to everything. To me. To letting go, to actually being happy and getting everything you have ever wanted. Abigail that’s it I am done. I have one day. I am going to use my trump card and pick number two. You aren’t ready you never will be and I can’t wait any longer. Goodbye Abigail. Go back to your mundane human life.

Why are you being so cruel to me? What do you mean number two?

You can’t think I would just have one option. If it didn’t work out with you then I can have more time to find someone else. Don’t worry you will forget in a few days.

What? You don’t want me anymore? You never loved me?

You don’t want me Abigail. I guess not. I have to go I need to find someone else. He says walking away.

No mer please don’t go. I am ready. That’s it. I know it. I want you. I want to be with you naked and all under the sea. Can you take me back?

No. this too much. You will never be able to return and I don’t you to regret being with me. I cannot be your regret. You wont be. I want you. She says hugging him, I want to swim with you for all time.

Are you sure? I don’t want to..

Mer I am sure. I am 100% sure that I want to be with you.

Fine. Lay down.

What? What are you going to do?

Lay down. You trust me remember?

I do she says as she lays down.

Close your eyes.

She closes them

Open your mouth.

She does.

Wait one second I need to send a text to my friend to sell my stuff and tell everyone I left town. Ill take care of that for you.

Ok

She repositions herself and lies down.

Wait one more thing.

Oh Abigail what now. Ill will take care of it. No I want to kiss you as a human and not a mermaid. Trust me it much better as a mermaid. Ill show you. Now please lay down.

One more thing

Ahhhhhhhhh Abigail. Are you going to let me do this?

Yes. I just wanted to tell you that I love you.

I love you too Abigail speeeeeeeeeeeeeencer. He says smiling.

Ok. She lies down and closes her eyes.

Mer comes down on the ground next to her as the camera drifts away from them and focuses on the sea.

love
Like

About the Creator

Deandra Prabhu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.