Humans logo

Mask Wearing Types

Have you noticed people’s responses to mask mandates?

By Dean GeePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mask Wearing Types
Photo by Kay Lau on Unsplash

With a new surge of Covid cases here in NSW Australia, mask mandates have once again been implemented.

We would expect viral activity to increase during winter if history is anything to go by, and the fact that Australia was slowly opening up to international travel again, with NSW taking the bulk of overseas travellers. Sydney is a big tourism attraction, as it should be it’s a beautiful city (says biased me!)

Looking around at people and their mask habits I have compiled my own list of maskers.

The Rebel non-masker

This is the person who will not wear a mask no matter what authorities say. The usual claim is that “I am not giving up my freedoms to some bureaucrat.” Although I agree with his questioning of bureaucrats, when it comes to health protocols, I believe it’s best to follow the advice.

The half hearted masker

These people claim to want to follow the advice, but often plead ignorance of the well known and publicised protocols. “I am not against wearing a mask, I just didn’t know I needed one for here, when did that change?”

The less reluctant masker

These are the people with the mask on, but only covering their mouth, they are wearing it, but their nose, knows no masking. “All this mask stuff is bovine faeces if you ask me, but I don’t want to get a fine. It’s unhealthy to not breathe properly.”

The more reluctant masker

This person is more reluctant than the reluctant masker. They walk around with the mask under their chin. “Hey I have a mask on my face, what’s your problem?” Yes but it’s meant to be on properly.

The ‘do gooder’

This person wears a mask and follows the rules implicitly, but also publicizes just how important mask wearing is. “You have to wear a mask, we need to protect our friends and family, people who don’t wear masks are murderers.”

The militant masker

This person wears masks continually probably to bed too. They drive alone with a mask on. They walk out doors alone with a mask on. “Everyone should be masked at all times until 100% of people are vaccinated, this is essential. Anyone not wearing a mask should be put in prison until the pandemic is over. People are so irresponsible. I mean how difficult is it to wear a mask.”

The high fashion masker

This person understands we all need to wear masks but is not happy with standard issue. Masks are just another fashion accessory. “I will mask up but I will look mighty fine doing so, nobody will have a cool mask like mine, unique and original in cut and design, oh I look so cool, while being responsible. I am so happening.”

The high tech masker

This person is fully professional, a material or general surgical mask won’t do. They need the top of the line mask, the one that is proven to give complete protection, The N95 and better, mask wearer. “You lot think you are all protecting yourselves with your stupid little home made material masks, and you lot with your surgical masks, you know nothing. You need industrial strength protection. Look at this, let that stupid virus try get through this baby.”

Final Thoughts:

Covid and the resultant required activity, and protocols definitely brings out the inner attitudes of people.

I am sure there maybe other categories than the ones I have made up above, but it was fun observing people nevertheless. Perhaps your experience and observations are similar or different from mine where you live? Thanks for reading if you have got this far.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Dean Gee

Inquisitive Questioner, Creative Ideas person. Marketing Director. I love to write about life and nutrition, and navigating the corporate world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.