Humans logo

MARY J. BLIGE'S MY LIFE

MY REAL RECAP

By Sakoli Norman Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
MARY J BLIGE (SOURCE UNKNOWN)

If you are a R&B fan like me that grew up in the 90's than chances are, you are a huge Mary J. Blige fan. This young lady's career has been nothing short of extraordinary. She has won over nine Grammys and sold over 50 million albums worldwide. Dubbed the Queen of Hip Hop and R&B soul, her debut album: "Whats The 411" sold over 2 million records, touching fans world wide and sending the music world in to a frenzy. Hits such as "Real Love" and "You Remind Me" were smashes on the billboard charts that launched her in to immediate superstardom.

Although Mary had huge success with her Debut Album, she still didn't feel like she was successful inside. "Success comes from when your already successful on the inside. For a long time I didn't know I was successful. Most of the times I was depressed and didn't want to live" Mary details on her My Life Documentary. The My Life Documentary is Mary celebrating the 25th anniversary of the albums release. She is also detailing her thoughts, feelings, and emotions in retrospect, at the time that she made the album.

MARY J BLIGE MY LIFE ALBUM COVER(SORCE UNKNOWN)

The Documentary details how Mary grew up and how she got discovered. "I was raised in Schlobolm Projects in Yonkers, NY it was me, my sister and my mother. From the first day that we moved there we had to fight the other kids in the neighborhood. Singing was an escape for me, for a second it made me forget the horrible things that went on where we lived. It was a prison, inside a prison, inside a prison. It was hurt people hurting each other. I carried my pain, I carried my mothers pain, I carried the neighbor's pain, I carried everyones pain. " Mary stated, vividly painting a picture of what her childhood was like growing up in the projects in Yonkers.

Mary also details how she made a demo tape at the mall and played it for her stepfather, who knew Jeff Redd, which was a popular singer at the time. "You sound good" Mary said paraphrasing her stepfather. I have a friend thats in the music business, I'm going to pass it along to him, and see what he says. His friend was Jeff Redd." Mary said recalling how her tape got heard. The Documentary also details how Andre Harrell the President of Uptown Records drove out to Mary's home in Schlobolm Projects to hear the 19 year old sing.

" I remember that day like it was yesterday. He pulled up in a black SUV, with a polkadot shirt on, sky blue pants, and black Gucci Loafers on. I waived him across the street, we went upstairs to my apartment, and he said sing. I zoned out and sang the whole Anita Baker Rapture Album. He looked at me like: Oh my God. She's amazing!"

MARY J BLIGE (SOURCE UNKNOWN)

Sean "Puffy" Combs also known by his stage name "Puff Daddy recalls working on the My Life Album and how it affected everyone around the project." It was one of the most un secure times of our lives. I was going through a break up with my child's mother Mysa, and Mary was going through a break up with, K-Ci from Jodeci. We were in a studio in NY, and you can actually see outside, and it was raining. It was one of those days where you walk around with tears in your eyes." Puff said looking back on the project. "We made a connection through the pain."

"The Fans got me through it. I didn't think that I would make it through that time to see today. I was mentally, emotionally, and physically fighting for my life and my heart. I was in a dark place, and I did what ever I could do to numb the pain. Whether it was drink or get high, whatever it was to keep me from feeling the pain. I was screaming for help and nothing came out." Mary said as she recalls her feelings during that time.

MARY J BLIGE (COURTESY OF ALLY VEGA)

The "My Life" Documentary is filled with a lot of Gems and life lessons that anyone can learn from. From Mary's tour celebrating the albums success and impact, to the listening sessions where different people discuss how the album has affected their lives, and countless celebrity's who celebrate Mary's willingness to be bold and tell her story, it is no doubt that this documentary solidifies Mary's greatness, and why she truly his the queen of Hip Hop Soul. Even more then her greatness it brings awareness to being a human being.

It teaches that no one is immune to the trials and tribulations of life, and it also teaches that everyone can triumph over sadness and depression, but it starts within. This is definitely a must watch. Thank you to producer Vannessa Roth, Mary J. Blige, and Sean "Puffy" Combs for delivering this classic! Definitely check out Mary J. Blige's "My Life" on Amazon Prime Video!

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Sakoli Norman

The world is a blank book, what you choose to fill in that blank is the purest form of creation.

Aspire to create and Create to inspire!

Check out my Instagram! @writingisthriving

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.