Humans logo

MY JOB CORPS EXPERIENCE CHAPTER ONE

THE BEGINNING OF CHANGE

By Sakoli Norman Published 3 years ago 45 min read
Like
MY JOB CORPS EXPERIENCE CHAPTER ONE
Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

By the time the middle of the year 2007 came around, it I felt a lack of purpose and I hit a wall. I had moved to back to Iowa that May after leaving Orlando, Florida. I lived with my then girlfriend Lisa for the remainder of the year. She moved into this beautiful three- bedroom home in Cresco, after living in Calmar, Iowa for a lengthy period of time. While I still lived in Orlando, I proposed to help her move. I was happy and excited that she finally was moving into her dream home, but I also knew that she would let me stay there because she loved me.

It was the weirdest thing we actually met through an ex girlfriend of mine. We met a year prior. I lived with my ex girlfriend Jessica, and things didn’t work out, but we stayed together because it was easier to pay the rent and split the bills. After we broke up, Jessica would always mention Lisa to me in a round of bout manner. One day she we were in the kitchen cooking and talking. Out of nowhere I hear:

“Man you’re going to miss out. This friend of mines is nice you better get her before somebody else does!” Jessica exclaimed

“Who is this friend you’re always talking about ? I replied.

"Lisa” she said. “She’s a cute big girl with her own place, nice job and two children, and she loves black guys.”(Yes I said Black guys)

“Oh Ok, I can do that! Invite her over to the house one day so I can meet her” I said.

Oddly enough it was the same time of year in May. One day Jessica invited her over for dinner. Lisa knocked on the door and Jessica let her in, and as she walked in the room I was instantly attracted!

She was Caucasian, tall, wore glasses, nice short hair, chunky cheeks and face, a big girl, and she was a jazzy dresser.

“Lisa this is Sakoli, the guy I was telling you about!” Now as she saying this I instantly thought to myself: “Guy I was telling you about? What is this an auction? Are you selling me off to the highest bidder? What’s really going on here?

We ordered from Pizza Ranch that night which is my top two pizza places in Iowa period. As were speaking I noticed this grin on Lisa's face when she looked at me, that couldn’t be faked if you tried.

Now, being that I’ve dealt with a good amount of women up until that point I knew exactly what that look meant. She was undressing me with her eyes, but trying not to make it obvious so Jessica wouldn’t notice it. What Lisa was not aware of was that I was very good with body language and eye contact. I could read posture, certain body gestures, and know how someone was feeling, or have a good idea of what they were thinking.

“So how did you and Jessica meet?" Lisa asked Jessica and I with a curious look on her face.

“Well we met while I was in New York living in a shelter called “Promesa.” My friend was cool with her, but we began to talk, got close, and I moved down here.” I replied with a smile on my face.

“New York huh. You’re a big city type of guy huh? So what do you think about Iowa?” She smiled.

“Iowa is beautiful! I said “This land and these houses are nice!” I replied laughing and smiling.

Now to be completely honest I never knew how I was able to keep Lisa's attraction. I was twenty one years old at this time and I didn’t look mature or think as a mature young man, but I’ve always carried myself like I was mature. My conversation was mature to an extent, but there were just certain things about me and my character that I just didn’t think would hold Lisa's attention.

It seemed like the more we talked the more attracted we became to each other. After our dinner Lisa gave me her number, and we kept in contact. Jessica eventually moved out and got her own place since we were no longer together. I lived in that apartment by myself, and at the time I worked at a company called "Camcar Textron". It was a company that manufactured car parts. I was a "Parts Washer" that washed motorcycle bolts and screws. It paid really well, but I eventually left that job because it was a temporary assignment with a company called "Manpower Temp Services". I then began to work at a place called "Aase Haugen" Nursing Facility as a Nurses Aide. I used to get rides back and forth home because I didn’t have a car. It was a hustle, but I kept the apartment for the moment.

I remember one night I got off work and it was so late that I forgot to eat. It was my pay week, and rent and a couple of utility bills were due. I had to make sure that everything was paid. I hadn't ate that day and I hate little money to eat. My stomach and I literally had an argument.

“Come on man, really? Me!! You’re doing this to me!! What did I ever do to you? All day I carried you and this is how you do me. No man this is not going to work!!” My stomach said upset.

“I’m sorry man I’m going to hook you up I promise. You know I got you, why are you acting like that, you know I got you” I replied with a sad voice.

“I know I’m sorry Sy, you know how I get when I’m hungry” My stomach replied ( Yes my stomach and I really had that argument) Just as this argument ended I got a phone call from Lisa.

“Hey Mr!” She said “What’s Up?”

“Nothing, I just walked in from work 30 minutes ago and my stomach and I had a argument.” I said in a serious voice with a straight face.

I thought Lisa was going to going to go into cardiac arrest she laughed so hard. “Wait a minute!!” She said. “What….wait….I can’t breath, hold on…So wait… what was this argument about?” She said laughing hysterically. I repeated the argument word for word and she laughed even harder.

“You definitely have a future in comedy kiddo” she repeated as she wiped tears from her eyes from laughter. “Its about 9:30, I’ll come get you and take you to Walmart, how does that sound?” She asked.

“Thank you” I said. “I’d very much appreciate it because this dude won’t shut up, he acts like he never ate before!”

“What!!” She said laughing again. “It has a gender?”

“Yeah” I replied.

“Why is it a guy?” She asked.

“It’s a guy because it’s always hungry and no matter how much I feed it, it always wants more. Greedy dude man.” I said sarcastically.

Lisa laughed. “You’re so silly, I’ll text you when I’m outside” She giggled as she hung up the phone.

“OK” I replied.

About 20 minutes later Lisa pulled up outside. We drove to Walmart which was literally 5 minutes away from the house driving. We pulled up to Walmart.

“Grab some food for the house.” She said.

I literally looked at her like she had food between her teeth. “No Lisa I can’t do that to you. I don’t want to spend you’re money like that” I said.

“I have some money saved up so I’m ok, and I know you’re doing what you can on your own. I don’t mind helping out when I can. We can’t buy a big screen TV, but, we can grab you some food for the house until you get paid.” Lisa said smiling.

“Well I really appreciate that Lisa. Thank You. I don’t know how I am going to repay you.” I said humbly.

“It’s not a loan, it’s a gift. I admire what you’re doing here by keeping your job and handling your business. Most people would of quit when forced to make a grown up decision, but you didn’t. It’s a mature thing to do and I can appreciate it.” Lisa said patting me on the shoulder.

Wow! I thought I never thought such a small action could make a big difference. It really made me feel good that she noticed that I was trying and was willing to help. A few short months later I ended up moving back in with Jessica for a short while in her apartment back in Decorah. My two brothers from NY came to visit and we had a blast. We did everything that young men could do. We did everything from bar hop to drive drunk. We were jumping out in the middle of the street at red lights, running up to cars at gas station, and sitting on top of a trunk of a cars while its in motion. We were young, in a different place, and just living our lives.

While they were there Lisa and I started hanging out more and started to get to know each other a lot more as well. We went on more dates and spent more time with each other. Jessica mentioned that I should move in with her because it would be better for both of us. I never actually thought about it, but at the time it seemed like a great idea. Not just being able to live with Jessica, but also because I had quit my job, and Jessica's one bedroom apartment could not fit all three of us. Nor could she pay the rent for all three. So I figured or at least thought I’d live with Lisa and try to get a job.

One day out of curiosity I called Lisa. The phone rang and she picked up.

“Hello Hey Lisa how are you doing?” I said.

“Hey you What’s up?” Lisa replied

“Hey Lisa I have a question to ask you and I hope it’s not too soon” I said.

“Wait you aren’t going to ask me to marry you are you? You’re cute and all, but shouldn’t we at least have a couple more dates first?” Lisa replied. sarcastically.

“You’re crazy Lisa!” I said with laughter.

“No I wanted to know if I can stay with you for a while? My brothers are going to stay here with Jessica, but I need to physical space to stretch my body” I said still cracking up laughing at her previous notion.

“It shouldn’t be a problem. I’m pretty sure the children won’t mind the company.” Lisa responded.

“Wow Lisa! Thank you I really appreciate that although I wasn’t really expecting that” I said in shock.

“Well what were you expecting?” Lisa said in a soft sarcastic voice.

“Well uhhhhh….I was…" I stuttered. "I was expecting you would say no because we haven’t known each other long enough, moving in with someone is a big step, and plus I don’t want you to look at me crazy when I ask you to pass the eggs” I said with a smirk on my face.

“Well pass me the eggs when I ask you to pass them and I won’t look at you crazy kiddo, geez grasshoppers these days” Lisa said with a smile of her own.

“Let me explain a couple of things to you young man” Lisa said as she proceeded to break some things down to me. “Yes moving in with anyone is a big step, especially if you don’t know them, but let me ask you a question, if risk is the biggest difference between success and failure, then how can complacency and risk co exist? This is a lesson that I want you to learn as you in life because once you learn it you will truly become successful not only in life, but within yourself.”

“Yes it is a risk I’m taking on you, but being complacent in my life hasn’t gotten me anywhere and you anywhere either. You’re not a bad guy, you just haven’t figured it out yet and one day you will. When that day comes you will fully appreciate what I’m doing for you and what others have done for you. So we will figure it out and you will too. I know my children will be in good hands because you are a good person, if I thought you weren’t trust me we wouldn’t be having this conversation.” Lisa explained.

Man you talk about being speechless I think my jaw dropped for at least 5 minutes before I spoke again. I could not believe what this lady was telling me. The knowledge she had just gave me was unreal. I didn’t truly understand what she meant about complacency and risk because I was to young to see beyond what was actually there. I didn’t get why a stranger would let me in to her home so willingly. It wasn’t that she was letting me in willingly, but it was more so that she saw a lot in me that I didn’t see in myself. She saw a chance to love someone, help someone, teach someone, and show someone the way.

“So when are you coming?” Lisa asked.

“Well I know that you work, what days are you off?” I replied.

“Well since today is Wednesday I’ll come and pick you up on Friday. I’m off and I’ll be able to come get you and bring you back.” Lisa said.

“Ok, cool! I’ll be packed and ready to go!" I replied in excitement.

"Ok kiddo see you then.” Lisa replied

After we got off the phone I heard Jessica in the background ask “Did you talk to Lisa?”

“Yeah, she said I can stay with her and she’ll pick me up on Friday.”

That Friday came and Lisa came to pick me up. My things were already packed and ready to go. It wasn’t necessarily goodbye to Jessica and my brothers. Calmar was only 11 miles away from Decorah and it only takes 20 minutes to get there so they could drive up any time that they wanted. It was just crowded at Jessica’s apartment and Lisa’s apartment was a lot bigger. She had two bedrooms, 2 ½ bathrooms, kitchen, living room, basement and she a nice little patio in the back of the apartment. These apartments were about $350 to $400 a month. In NY you couldn’t find an apartment that nice for $350 to $400 a week!

Looking back on that first experience with Lisa was like a football team that was never expected to make they playoffs, made the playoffs, but missed going to the championship by one game. It was like we got there, but failed. We did things together, we talked a lot, I spent a lot of time with the children, my brothers came over and they bonded with her, and we had a great time, but it didn't feel the same after a while. September came around I just felt like it was time for a change, and I wanted move to Florida so I could spend time with my mom.

One thing that Lisa never did was judge me. We talked about it. She asked why I felt how I felt, felt a little hurt by it, but she helped me leave because she knew that’s what I wanted to do. My leaving had nothing to do with Lisa at the time I just missed my family. I spoke to my brothers about it and they thought that I should do what’s best for me. I remember the day Lisa drove me to the bus station in LaCrosse, Wisconsin. I could look in her face and tell she was sad, but she understood. I kissed her lips, then her cheeks and said that I loved her and appreciated her for all that she had done for me. I got out the car and she drove off.

Its crazy that less than year later I’m back with Amy and back in pretty much the same situation. I remember being in The Salvation Army in Orlando, while working temporary jobs, texting her, and keeping contact. The daily struggle in Orlando was a lot especially being that I hadn’t gone through it in a while. I had become accustomed to a quiet house, children, and just a relaxed environment. The Salvation Army was a good environment, but after the time that I’d spent not just with Lisa, but in the Midwest, it had spoiled me and took me out of the life of constantly struggling.

So that May when Amy and I spoke of me coming back, I told my mom. She wanted me to stay, but she also knew that I had to make decisions for myself whether she approved of it or not. So In the beginning of May of 2007 I got on a greyhound bus and moved back to Iowa. By the beginning of the month sh was moved in, within days a lot of her things were unpacked, and it seemed like everything was falling into place for her! She had her children there and she finally owned her home! This is the type of thing she had been waiting years to do.

Although it seemed like I had been a help to her it felt like I to me that I was obstacle in her path. She came home from work one day and we talked.

“Hey Mr.” she said as she walked through the door with a smile on her face.

“Hey Lisa” I replied quickly. “How was work?” I asked.

“Man I love my job, but sometimes they drive me up a wall!” She said with both a sarcastic and humorous tone.

“I’ve been meaning to talk to you kiddo” she said, “but first I have to go pee and change my clothes.”

We both laughed and she went to go change. She came back later smelling good in her green tanktop and basketball shorts. I almost forgot about our talk as I gave her kisses and hugs.

“You’re giving a lot more than these kisses and hugs later, you know that right?” She said with a sly smirk."

“Im never scared baby!” I replied with a dead serious face as we both laughed.

We giggled for a few more minutes and after a while we got a little serious. “ Sakoli what has been wrong with you lately? “I miss us doing things like this, but you’ve been very distant lately”. She said.

“I'm sorry Lisa I’m sorry that I’ve treated you this way, but I just feel like I’m not doing anything with my life right now. I see the children going to school in the morning, I see you going to work, and it just feels like I’m just here just to be here.” I said in disappointment.

“I love you and I always will, but opportunities are not going to just fall in you’re lap, you have to go out and get them. I know this is a small town far away from what you’re used to, but there off plenty of opportunities here for young guys like you. If you want to go to school, I will help you, if you want to work I will help you, but I can’t just let you not do anything. You’re to smart of a guy for that and I wont let you waste you’re potential.” Lisa said with spunk.

“What is it that you want to do? Lisa asked

I thought about that for a second and really let it marinate. What was it that I wanted to do? I mean everybody said I could write Hip Hop music well and that I was a good listener. Other than that I never really developed a trade or a skill. Growing up in New York City during my teenage years in the hood, staying alive, surviving, and staying out of trouble were the only skills I developed. I never really took the time out to develop any necessary skills, that would lead to me making any serious money, or significant lifestyle changes. As I pondered what Lisa asked it really made me think.

“I’m definitely going to think about that Lisa. I’m going to look into taking some classes or finding a job. I know I can’t keep doing this to you, myself, or your children.” I said with sincerity.

“I know you will young man, now back to all that other stuff you promised me” She said with that sly devilish grin. We kissed, giggled and disappeared into the bedroom.

The Next morning I felt fresh. After Lisa's and I talked I felt signs of new life, feeling motivated I got up, took a shower, fixed breakfast, and went to the local library. I went to the Northern Iowa Community College website. It just so happened that they had a branch campus not to far from where Lisa lived. I looked up some of the classes to see if anything interested me. I honestly wanted to pursue Digital Audio Production because I had a passion for music.

I could write lyrics, but I never knew how to engineer the actual music. I figured if I could learn how to operate a mixer, learn how to mix songs, and how to master them then that would be a good gig for me. As I’m scrolling through the local branch classes in Cresco I wasn’t finding any classes.NICC also had a branch in Calmar across the street from where Lisa used to live. So I searched through their branch classes hoping to find a potential Digital Audio course that would interest me, and I still couldn’t find anything. “Dag man, this is frustrating.” I said to myself in my library voice.

I looked into other college classes and courses in different cities hoping to find the Digital Audio course I really wanted to take. I still had no luck. It was really disappointing because I felt like the whole day was a waste of time. I looked and looked and found nothing. I was motivated for nothing and it felt like it was the dark cloud over my head that would never leave. I remember walking home from the library that day thinking “Man I don’t want to just work a lousy job I want to really learn something, I want to be around people who are like me and relate to what I’m going through.” I also didn’t want to disappoint Lisa.

She stuck with me and helped me out when I needed it. She never chastised me or asked for anything in return. She was a real woman and I always loved and respected her for that. I knew she wouldn’t be mad at me because I took a step in the right direction. Which is way more acceptable than what I had been doing which is nothing. I got home kind of early and the children were still at school and Lisa was still at work. So I had time to clean and read before they came home. I was reading the 48 Laws of Power by Robert Green. It was a book that I heard about when I was in the Salvation Army. The book was getting real interesting.

I was reading the chapter: Never Out Shine The Master. I was up to the point where King Louis’s right hand man had made a crucial mistake. He tried to go above and beyond to impress the king at a gathering of different members of the King’s council. I stopped at just about the end of the chapter. They were at the point where King Louis asked the guards to escort him off the court. I was locked in and ready to read! The story was so good that I couldn't wait to read it!

About a hour or two later I hear the door open followed by “Sy whats up?” It was Darryl Lisa's oldest son, then her youngest son Andrew who is following behind him says “yeah what up son?” My New York talk has ruined these children I thought jokingly.

“Whats going yall? How was school?” I asked.

“It was good.” They replied.

“Are we watching Smackdown tonight you know its Thursday night?” I said with a smile on my face.

“Yeah we are son because you know its Thursday and that’s crazy!!!” Darryl said in his famous imitation of me.

I cracked up laughing. We spoke for a few minutes and then they disappeared into their rooms. The children always knew how to make me laugh. They were like the little brothers I had never had. We always watched wrestling, played video games, and real life wrestled sometimes. I attended Darryl’s football games, and it was cool to have a family outside of my real one. It definitely helped me take my mind off of my struggles and frustrations.

Once the children ventured into their rooms I read my book a little more and then turned on the TV. Thinking about my problem and how I was going to find a solution. About an hour or two later I heard Lisa’s car pull up in the garage. She surprised us with Casey’s Pizza. I walked outside to help pick up the pizza box and other grocery items she had.

“Hey young man” she said with a smile on her face.

“What’s up Lisa” I replied with a smile.

“I see you bought my one of my favorite dishes tonight huh, what did I do to deserve this?” I asked with a sarcastic humorous tone.

“Well first off I’m starving, second of all I know you didn’t cook, and third of of all Im tired and I’m not cooking tonight, and fouth of all your kind of cute so I thought I’d get ya something” she said nudging me on my cheek.

In true New York fashion only hearing the good part and the part about me, I said “Oh I’m cute huh?

“Oh yeah” she said before she kissed me.

Eventually the kids ran in, got their food, and sat on the couch. It was close to eight pm so I knew Smackdown was getting ready to start. So were sitting in the living room conversing, laughing, and talking. The kids are talking about their day at school and Lisa was talking about her day at work. I was still feeling down about not finding anything today, but I was good for the moment because at least I got to be around people the cared about me. I know that Lisa and I would talk later. Everybody had a good day so at that moment that’s all that mattered.

Wrestling finally went off the and kids turned in and so did Lisa and I. A lot of time we wouldn’t go straight to sleep. Sometimes we would stay up and talk about things. Despite my attitude since I moved in with Lisa I really enjoyed times like this because we bonded. It felt good that somebody listened to me and it also felt good to Lisa that somebody listened to her.

“So What did you do today?” Lisa asked

As I recalled to her my day I felt that negative feeling come back of feeling like I didn’t really accomplish anything. “My day was ok until, I went to the library. I looked and looked on the NICC college sites and I couldn’t find any thing. I wanted to take a Digital Audio course, but this particular college campus doesn’t offer it. I also looked for jobs, but I didn’t see anything I was interested in” I said with a sad tone.

“You’ve got to crawl before you walk young man. Ill tell you what. I have an appointment in Decorah on Monday, Ill drop you off at Manpower this way you have access to jobs that are hiring. You can also talk to the staff there about school opportunities. How does that sound?” She said with an ambitious voice.

“Ok cool! Man I didn’t even think about Manpower! I know they would have something for me!” I said with laughter and a new revitalized energy.

Lisa cracked up with laughter because of the way I phrased my words. I said them with a New York Italian accent. I’d definitely forgot about Manpower I just saw them as an employment staffing source which they were, but you could also look for school courses there as well. It more useful than a library because every new job came through there. Once you signed up for Manpower, you fill out applications, and it would go straight from Manpower to the specific job you applied for. The other cool thing about Manpower was that if you had to take a aptitude test, or any other exam for a position they had it right there at that location. So it basically saved you a lot of time from going here to there looking for jobs. Manpower was definitely on point.

“Thanks Lisa! I know Id definitely will find something now, I’m putting in a lot applications” I said with a new found enthusiasm.

“I’m glad I can help. Sometimes all it takes is an idea, thought, or information to help someone to get their gears grinding. Relax this weekend and Monday I’ll drop you off."

“Wow!” I thought. This woman has been very supportive of me and my situation. Never has she once yelled or screamed at me to get out or find a job. She’s been in my corner pretty much from the day I got back here. I’d left once before because of similar reasons, more so because I missed my family. I was at an immature point in my life, not realizing that I was creating a life cycle. Walking in and out of people’s lives is not always healthy. In some instances family and friends can resent you and even view it as disrespect. I’m just glad Lisa saw it for what it really was being young, and inexperienced. As a young man from New York I knew a lot but there was a lot I still needed to learn especially being away from home and being on my own.

“Sounds like a plan grasshopper” Lisa said sarcastically with a smile and snicker.

“Hell yeah it does, and I’m definitely with it.” I replied.

“So that solves that problem.” She whispered in a seductive voice.

“There’s still one more problem to fix sexy man” Lisa said as she kissed me.

“Oh really! You’re not saying anything but a word love, bring that body over here!" I said as I pulled her close and turned the light off. We turned off the light and let our imagination take flight.

After a weekend of relaxing with the kids and running errands, Monday morning we were up bright and early. Since it was fall and it was a bit cold outside Lisa took the children to school. Normally they walked because it wasn’t to far, but it got them there earlier and since Lisa was dropping me off, it made since that we all rode together. She dropped the children off first and then we drove to Decorah, which was about a fifteen to twenty minute drive. On the way there we were talking about her appointment, and how she was looking forward to it. She told me about how much she appreciated her job and her clients.

She said in her new position as a manager it has its challenges as in staying late, training new employees, and doing a lot of daily paperwork, but the key thing she always mentioned is how: every time a client was learning to be more independent, more patient, more communicative, and more willing to learn that made all her sacrifices and challenges worth while. I don't even know if she knew what she had just done. She taught me something without her knowing she did. In life you are going to be confronted with struggles and challenges. You have to find your reason to want to keep fighting the fight. Your motivation, that spirit, and energy that makes you want to keep going. Grind is meaningless without purpose.

After a while we pull up at Manpower in Decorah, Lisa told me to text her when I was done, kissed me goodbye, and drove off to her appointment. I walked into Manpower with sense of purpose and great energy. I spoke to the assistant who was always so nice and polite whenever I was there. She had me to sign in on the “sign in sheet” and pointed me into the direction of the nearest open computer. Since it was pretty early in the morning Manpower was empty, which was good. Lets face it I’m a lets get in and get out type of guy I don’t like to stick around in places. Unless it’s like a music store or somewhere I’ve literally never been, I’m like “you ready to go yet?

I log in the computer and start my school search again, and I was getting the same results. I looked up courses in Decorah’s Luther College. They had a lot of music composition courses and music theory courses, but nothing digital audio related. I even broaden my searches outside of Decorah, Calmar, and Cresco to different cities in Iowa. I still found nothing, at least nothing that interested me. An hour had past and I’m still looking for classes or something that interested me and I still had no luck. Something told me to get up, walk around and stretch my legs. Feeling just as frustrated as the day I left the library I got up and walked around for a minute.

There were several employee pamphlets and job openings on the wall. I continued to look for a minute and was about to walk away when a blue pamphlet caught my eye. The pamphlet said “JOB CORPS” It had students on the front. “Oh snap!” I said “This is what my mother was talking about! I completely forgot about this!” Back when I graduated high school she mentioned it to me, but I never pursued it. Up until this point I’d forgotten all about it. I opened it up to read more information about it. At first I was disappointed that it didn’t have any digital audio classes, but I read about all of the free room and board, trade classes, college opportunities, and all the other benefits that it offered. I thought man there are so many pros to this one con. I’d be a idiot if I didn’t at least consider it.

As I continued to read in excitement I noticed that there was an age range from sixteen to twenty-five. I remember saying out loud to my self “That’s what’s up!” I was twenty-two at the time so I could definitely roll with this. In excitement, I texted Lisa, that I was ready to go. Lisa arrived about a little while after I finished looking through the pamphlet. She saw the excitement and wonder on my face.

“How did it go? She asked with excitement and curiosity.

“It went pretty damn good!” I said with excitement.

“Alright!, that’s what I like to hear! She said with a smile.

While we were driving home I explained what I had read in the Job Corps Pamphlet. I told her about the trade classes they provided, the dorm rooms, the recreation activities, and the placement opportunities after you finished the program. I told her that since it was pretty late in the day that I would call the recruiter tomorrow. She saw how excited I was and how eager I was to find out more information about the program. “Finally!” I thought to myself. “Here is something that I can do, here is something that will help me in my future and in my life!’

Before we went home we stopped at A&W Burgers to get something to eat. We still had a little while to talk before the children got home. We sat down on the couch, ate, and discussed the situation.

“I would hate to leave you guys because your like my family, but I know you have a full plate here with your children and this new home, I need to be a man for once, and stand on my own two. I don't know if there is a Job Corps near here, but if there isn't I may have to travel." I told Lisa as I held the pamphlet in my hand

We were both sad after that statement but Lisa was also relieved and she understood. If I wasn’t interested in getting a regular nine to five, or if I wasn’t going to try to take a class then Job Corps was going to have to work, (and if it didn’t work I was going to make it work)

“I definitely understand young man. You have to be your own man and make the best life decisions for yourself. No one knows what’s best for you, but you! We will miss you around here, but I’d rather you be making friends, learning something, and living your life, then to sit here, doing nothing resenting me, and more importantly you’re self.” She explained passionately.

I won’t lie I almost got emotional hearing her say that because she understood. She wanted me to fulfill my potential, but she also knew that sacrifices would have to be made on my part to do so. It was cool to know that she supported me and had my back in any decisions that I chose to make.

“Thank you Lisa for everything! I appreciate everything you’ve done for me and I appreciate you’re support, it means more than you know.” I said as I gave her a hug.

“You’re welcome, but when you get you’re first paycheck in you’re fancy trade I want 25% Mr. Norman, and I’ll take cash please.” Lisa said jokingly she hugged me back.

After a while we went to pick up the children and brought them home. We told them about my job corps plans and they were happy for me. They said they would miss me playing NFL Live with them watching wrestling with them, and all of the child like activities that we would do, but they understood. As long as I came back to visit they said it wasn’t a problem. We laughed and joked about it for the rest of the day.

The next day I got up early so that I could call the recruiter. I was up with the children and Amy. I didn’t want to make the mistake of sleeping in and not getting a chance to call early. I didn’t know if Job Corps was in high demand trade school, how many spots they had left, or how many phone calls they received each day. I just knew that I wanted to be one of the first callers of the day. This was on a Tuesday, and Tuesday is usually a busy business day I wanted to plant this seed early. It was about 8:30am when I called the Job Corps hotline, an agent answered the phone and I told him that I was interested in the program.

He asked me which state I resided in and I replied Iowa. He then gave me the number to the Iowa recruiting office. I called the Iowa office and a young man named Chris answered the phone. I explained to Chris who I was and how I obtained the information. He said I was just in luck because he would be able to meet me at Manpower in Decorah on Wednesday or Friday to conduct a interview. They had openings at the Denison Job Corps Center. I told him that I probably wouldn’t be able to make it Wednesday because my transportation wouldn’t be available, but Id definitely be there on Friday.

“Great Sakoli! I’ll just need you to bring you’re Social Security Card, you’re Birth Certificate, a 10 year residential history, and your State I.D. The application process requires these documents for you’re intake." Chris said enthusiastically.

"Ok Chris I can have those things available for you for our interview not a problem Chris! I’ll have these documents ready for you Friday! I said with excitement

“ Ok, Sakoli “See you then!” Chris replied

As we hung up the phone I danced around the house in excitement! Things were finally coming into play and into fruition! I was finally about to move into the next phase of my life I was nervous but ready! This had to work because what I’d been doing, wasn’t. It was still early in the day so I put on my coat and walked to the library. I still remember the cold on my fingertips of my gloves, it was like the wind had a dogs sharp teeth and it was nibbling away on my fingers. It was about 15 degrees, but I was walking with a passion and purpose and I wasn’t going to let anything stop me, not even the cold.

I got to the library pretty fast (the cold will do that to you). I signed up for the computer as a guest and began my ten year residence document. I went all the way back to 1997. I don’t know what it is but, every time that I’ve had to do a ten year residential document I’ve always went down memory lane in my mind. Every place had a special memory and it had its struggle and success stories. After about a hour I finished it, printed it, got a folder from the librarian, and went back home. Once I got home I wasted no time and found my Social Security Card and my Birth Certificate.

I placed them with my ten year residency, just to make sure that I had everything together. This was a opportunity of a life time and I wasn’t going to waste it. I’m forgetful from time to time so I like to organize things very early for most functions or activities. So that way when the time comes I am very prepared. When Lisa returned home that evening she could see the excitement in my face as she walked through the door. She could tell I was very happy about the decision to go to job corps. She knew doing what I was doing wasn’t getting me any where and that this opportunity would be the best thing for me.

She was just as happy and excited for me as I was for myself.

“Hey young lady, how was you’re day today?’ I said with a grin.

“ It was good” she said “kind of a easy day today, and you know how much I appreciate easy days” Lisa said as she laughed and moved her eyebrows up and down sarcastically.

“What was you’re day like Mister?” She asked as she put her bag down on the table.

“Great!” I responded “I called the recruiter today and it turns out that they have vacancies at Denison Job Corps. He said if I can meet with him Wednesday or Friday, that I can get my application in now, and if its approved I could start at the beginning of next year!” I said nodding my head in agreement

“That’s wonderful! Well I have to work Wednesday, but I have off on Friday this week so, ill be able to take you. What time do you have to be there?” Lisa asked with a delightful gaze.

“Well he said he’ll be there around 10AM, but I want to be at Manpower at about 9AM. It’ll behoove me to be there earlier than he is. It’ll let him know that I am serious about attending job corps.” I replied

“Perfect! We’ll make sure you’re there on time. Now excuse me young man, I’m going to slip into something more comfortable, these work clothes feel like they are sticking to my skin” Lisa said as she stood up

“oh ok lady handle you’re business.”I said slapping her behind.

She turned back around with a devilish grin, looked around to see if the children were in the room, and put her shirt over my face!

“Ooooh! We”re doing this right now huh? I said rubbing my hands together

"Nope, prying eyes are still awake. We'll settle this later” Lisa said seductively.

Oh really?” I said biting my bottom lip.

"Really!” Lisa replied as she blew me a kiss and disappeared to the bathroom.

Friday morning came around and I was up with everyone, I didn’t have to be there until 9AM, but I still wanted to make sure that everything was in order, and that I had everything that I needed. I didn’t have to be there until later so Lisa decided to drop the children off at school again, it was a bit colder than before so it was no need to let them walk. While she was gone I got myself together and double checked my bag for my documents. Lisa returned home 20mins later with some breakfast sandwiches from Casey’s. It was about 8:00AM, we ate, talked for a few minutes, and then we left.

She dropped me off, and told me to text or call her when I was finished. She said she’d be at the Decorah Office talking to some of her co-workers.

“Cool, young lady I will text you when I am finished.” I said as I got out of the car

“Cool, young man. Break a leg.” She said with a smile.

Smiling back I grabbed my bag, walked in Manpower and Lisa drove off. I told the young lady at the desk that I had a job corps placement appointment with a young man named Chris Smith at 10AM.

“Oh ok, Mr. Smith informed us that he would be arriving today at around 10AM, are you okay to wait Mr. Norman? The receptionist asked

“ Yes ma’am” I replied “That would be fine. I can wait”

“Well Mr. Norman you can have a seat right over here, and as soon as Mr. Smith arrives we will direct him to you.” The receptionist said nodding in agreement.

“Thank you very much I appreciate that." I said with a grin

“Would you like to use the computer while you wait? Asked the receptionist.

“No thank you” I replied. “I will be fine.”

As I waited in anticipation I walked over to where the job corps brochures were and I grabbed one. I looked up the information again just incase I had any more questions about different trades or just the facility in general. The more I read the more fascinated I became, and the more I started to regret not doing this after I graduated high school. All the school and work opportunities that were aligned with job corps, how could I not have saw this before. My mom told me I would like and benefit from this program and I shrugged it off, but as the old adage goes "When the student is ready the teacher will appear."

About 45min to a hour later a caucasian gentleman about average height walked in to Manpower. He wore blue jeans, a white button up, and he had on a black coat with a black bag draped over his shoulder. He stopped briefly at the counter and then him and the assistant both looked in my direction.

“Hello how are you! You must be Sakoli!” He said with a smile as he extended his arm for a handshake.

“ Yes I am, and you must be Chris!” I said smiling back extending my arm to shake his hand as well.

“We’ll use this room over here so we can have privacy and won’t be disturbed. How does that sound?”

“Sounds good by me” I replied.

“I noticed a accent when you spoke, where are you from originally?” He asked in a curious voice.

“ Oh Im originally from The Bronx, New York. I came out here for the first time in December of 2005.” I said with a confident tone.

“New York huh? What brought you to Iowa?” Chris said with attentive look on his face.

“A woman” I said while laughing. "I also wanted to experience someplace new”

“Well, there is nothing wrong with that.” Chris replied with a smile.

“ New experiences are good to have, they help you grow, and become a better person. Speaking of new experiences, lets talk a little bit about why you’re interested in attending job corps." Perfect Segway I thought. I told him the truth and not what he wanted to hear.

“Job Corps will help me be a better man in life. I think it will give me the tools and experiences necessary to create a better life for myself. My mother told me about job corps after I graduated high school, but because I was to young to listen and I never went. I also did not know the age ranges were from ages 16-25. I probably would of attended job corps along time ago.” I explained

“It seems that you are a bit familiar with the program, and you’re right the age ranges from ages 16-25. Don’t beat yourself up about not attending, what matters is you’re ready now, and because you are mentally ready now you will get the most out of it.” Chris replied reassuringly.

As the conversation went on we laughed and spoke about different things as he educated me more about the program. He asked me to fill out the application form. Once I finished it he retrieved it, and made copies of all the documents he requested in our initial over the phone conversation. I signed paperwork giving them permission to do a background check.

“Everything looks good. All we need now is to wait for job corps to accept you’re application and make your background check is good. Once everything is good, ill schedule another meeting and give you the information you’ll need to take to the campus." Chris explained.

“Sounds great thank you Chris, it was nice meeting you!” I responded.

“That was a “dope” interview!” I thought after we were done It was very informative and it felt like I was on the right path. Chris seemed to be a very wise person, I very much appreciated the encouragement that he gave me, and he was right. When it’s meant for you to do something in life the time will come whether it’s sooner or later. The meeting went more smoothly then I thought it would. I thought I’d take an entry exam or something to that extent. It was completely the opposite. Lisa came back to pick me up about 15 to 20mins later.

“Hey there stranger, where can I take you Mister?” she said in a playful voice.

“Oh so you’re picking up strangers now huh.” I replied with a laugh.

She put her hand on her chin for a second as if she were actually thinking about it. “Well!” she said as she exaggerated and dragged out each letter of the word. “You are kind of cute so you can kidnap me until 3:00, I have to be back by then to pick up the children.”

I just put my head down and laughed hysterically. “You are one crazy lady Lisa.”

“So, how did it go? She asked.

“Grrreeatt!” I replied in my Tony The Tiger voice.

“Oh my” She said with a slight snicker.

“I did my thing young lady, you would have been proud of me. Everything went smooth. Chris told me all I have to do now is wait for my application to be approved and my background check to come back and everything will be good!” I said as Lisa drove off

“Grrreeeatt!!” she said mocking me.

It felt like everything went faster after my interview. Two weeks later Chris called me and told me that my application was accepted and that I was leaving on January 7th 2008, which I thought was cool because I could spend the holidays with Lisa and the children. Lisa took me down to meet with Chris and I picked up some paperwork that I would need to provide to the Denison Job Corps Center and The driver would take me to Denison. He told me the driver would pick me up near Casey’s off Main Street in Cresco.

Over The next few weeks I spent time with the Lisa and the children. I started packing everything I could fit into my bags. I didn’t know what the dorms looked like but I still wanted to make sure I had enough of my clothes. If push came to shove I’d just have Lisa send me my more of my things. I had enjoyed Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years with Lisa, but unfortunately all good things come to an end. The Morning of January 7th had arrived and this was the end of my Journey with Lisa. I appreciated everything that this woman had done for me, but she and I knew this was for the best.

This was not by any means a “goodbye” but more like “see you later.” The driver would be here at 7:30am so we had to be at Casey’s at least by 7:15am. Lisa went to turn the car on so it could defrost the windows and heat up a bit. I came out and put my bags in the back seat. We got in the car and drove off.

“We will miss you around here young man” she said with a smile.

“I’m going to miss you too young lady, keep my spot on the bed warm” I said.

“You take care of yourself up there. Be good, focus, and always remember why you’re there. You can do this and more importantly have fun doing this kiddo.” Lisa said

“I love you Lisa". I said as I gave her a hug and kiss.

“I love you too.” She replied.

Just at that moment we saw my transportation bus pull up. I jumped out the car, grabbed my bags from the back seat and hugged Lisa again.

“Ill call you when I get there to let you know that I made it.” I said as I waived.

“Ill be waiting, she replied.

I got on the bus put my bags down and watched as Lisa’s Blue Mercury vanished in the distance.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sakoli Norman

The world is a blank book, what you choose to fill in that blank is the purest form of creation.

Aspire to create and Create to inspire!

Check out my Instagram! @writingisthriving

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.