Humans logo

Married at First Sight Australia

The villains, the victims and the vixen

By Monique PattersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Bec and Bryce

I've never been ashamed to admit my penchant for trashy reality television. But even I know my slight addiction to Married at First Sight is possibly taking it a bit too far. Truth is, I - like so many others - can't get enough of the trials and tribulations of these people trying to forge a bond with someone they have just met. As always there is an eclectic mix of characters, which makes for good TV. Sadly, it's at the expense of some of the less colourful characters who are probably on the show for the right reasons - not a shot at fame. Last night Bryce was again in the hot seat. The rumour mill was swirling (for a group of people who are apparently living somewhat of an insulated existence, word sure gets around - I'm guessing a few friendly producers may ensure this is the case) with talk that Bryce had a girlfriend on the outside. The source? Bec. Now don't get me started on her. Every other "bride" on the show would happily throw themselves at her husband but she would rather call him out every time he sneezes. Anyway, apparently Bryce and his big mouth let it slip to Bec at the gym about this so-called girl on the outside. He had been talking to a mate about her and spoke to Bec about how he planned to last until the end of the experiment with Melissa - all the while talking about said girl. Apprently the mate asked Bryce if he wanted him to take her a present. Well, good old Bryce, who doesn't seem to know how to think on his feet (surprising for someone who works in radio) flat out denied it. Said there was no truth to any of it. Fast forward to the dinner party and Bryce had to back-pedal faster than Cadel Evans. Yes, he had met a girl a month before marrying Melissa. But no he hadn't spoken about a present. Well, Bryce, I don't think that was the part your new bride was worried about but, whatever, you do you. Not sure what Bryce's deal is but his beetroot-red face sure seems to be a tell that he's been caught in a lie.

Our next villain? James. Talk about arrogant! Pretty sure he's used to women falling at his feet on the outside world. And if your wife is calling you out for your bullshit - just cozy up to the newest bride Kerry and laugh like a psychopath from any Stephen King horror film. That's about all I have to say about him.

However, the real surprise of the night was the show's newest vixen. Apparently all she needs to do is straighten her hair and poof her alter ego emerges. The shy and retiring dancer let James have it! You go girl.

As for the people who have exited. So long Coco. She clearly wanted to be the Innes of this series but fell short. And that catsuit. Clearly you've got a kickass figure but that was WAY too much. Maybe I'm becoming more conservative as I reach my fourth decade on this earth or maybe I just can't understand why any person on this earth would want to wear something that uncomfortable and that revealing. OK, I'll admit it - I'm old. But no one wants to see that much skin. The only place you would see more is on a nude beach and I'm not going to visit one of those any time soon.

Want me to continue to recap my thoughts on the episodes? Please consider leaving me a tip.

tv review
1

About the Creator

Monique Patterson

I'm a journalist/author living in south-west Victoria. I have written two true crime books and I am about to release my third. The titles are United in Grief, about the tragic murder of bride-to-be Stephanie Scott and Tears for Tyler.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.