Humans logo

Marriage is awesome for introverts

You’ll always have someone there when you’re lonely.

By Terrell WalkerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
The Grand Canyon of Yellowstone National Park

I met my wife in Las Vegas, NV. We both are not from there. I was selling pest control for the summer. She was working for the USGS and BLM out in the desert. She loves plants. We meet online. Our first date was Hibachi dinner and a family fun center where we rode go carts. We had a good time but it wasn’t love at first site. However, we did go on a few more dates and I got to like her. I decided to stay in Vegas and spray houses and keep dating her to see what was what. We fell in love and got married a year later. As an introvert, I like my me time. My wife is a great mix of introvert and extrovert. She has many friends. She is super chill and controls her emotions very well. She doesn’t get angry easily like me. We are both just chill.

Anyway, being married to her for about a year and a half has been the best time of my life. We have done so many fun things together. I took her to South Africa for our honeymoon. In the picture we went to Yellowstone, just to mention a few great adventures. Being an introvert, I don’t talk much but I enjoy talking to her because she can keep a conversation going.

Yet when I need alone time, I get it. Always having someone around takes away the loneliness that many introverts like me have felt many times, risking that lead into depression. Depression many times stems from loneliness or a feeling of worthlessness because you feel nobody would want to be around you.

I feel that some forms of depression is caused by ingratitude. Gratitude eliminates a lot of those so called seven deadly sins. I promise as you make a list of all the things you’re grateful for, that depression will tend to gradually disappear. Depression is a chemical imbalance, so it may take a mix of drugs and doing something different in your life, meaning making a list every day of what you’re grateful for. Maybe just think of one thing every day for thirty days. Post it on social media to start a chain reaction of people sharing what they’re thankful for.

It’s easy to be thankful when you find that special someone and spend quality time with them. Going on adventures with your spouse especially makes you grateful for this wonderful life you’re creating memories with that special someone. Remember those great times you’ve had. I personally think that suicidal people have forgotten how great their life really is and how great it could be when they remember what they’re grateful for. If you’re happily married and suicidal, there’s something you’ve forgotten. If you’re not happy in your marriage, then make it right because marriage is supposed to be forever and there’s something you need to change. Again, gratitude fixes many problems in marriage. When you’re grateful, your outlook changes. You don’t take things for granted.

I met my wife online. That’s a great way to meet people without having to go too much out of your comfort zone. Then again when you meet that special person, you’ll need to get out of your comfort zone to meet them face to face. Long distance relationships or relationships online are bound to fall apart especially if you’re getting serious but have never met them.

My advice, find that someone and get married. It’s the best. Even if right now you’re single feeling like nobody wants you, keep your head up. When you do find her, don’t push her away.

love
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.