Humans logo

Make friends with yourself and love life

Like ordinary me

By Lene NoxonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Make friends with yourself and love life

Man's greatest enemy is himself, but his best friend is himself. Maybe we don't need to defeat ourselves, but to be friends with ourselves in order to love life.

In the past, I knew my shortcomings, but couldn't find my advantages. I want to change my shortcomings, but I always lose to self loathing. Those deep-rooted shortcomings can not disappear overnight. I have no confidence, much less patience and determination to stick to the day when my shortcomings can be improved. So I became more and more disgusted with myself and wanted to change, but every time I gave up halfway. Sometimes I had already let go before I even started to change.

My past is as plain as water, and maybe the future is similar. I have no great achievements. I have always been mediocre, neither outstanding nor poor. I am so ordinary that people often ignore my existence. I am unwilling to be ordinary, but I cannot change it. I seldom mention the past to others, because I don't understand what to say, and I don't want to say a large section of daily accounts that makes people feel bored. I like listening to others' experiences, and I always feel that others' lives are many times more wonderful than mine.

However, when I was really willing to deal with myself and understand myself, I realized that I had wronged myself for a long time. There are many shortcomings, but I haven't discovered the advantages and I haven't had time to improve them. What about the plain past? At least my life is peaceful, and I still have the future to work hard. In fact, I don't need to be disgusted with my own shortcomings and past. After all, these are all part of me. To deny them is to deny all of me. Therefore, I am full of complaints about my life, and I am increasingly unhappy.

Even if I have many shortcomings and boring past, it is also me. Why can't other people replace me? Why can't I open my heart to understand such myself? After I accepted myself, I suddenly found that life never owed me, but my own ideas were too one-sided. I only saw the unsatisfied areas in life, and hardly saw the happiness and happiness brought to me by life.

In the past, I always regarded myself as an enemy, intent on defeating this disgusting self, and each time I could only weakly surrender to myself, but could not be convinced; In the past, I desperately denied the past and tried to cover up those boring experiences. Each description was understated, and I was very angry when I seemed unconcerned. Therefore, my life is always full of gloom, and I can't see any bright colors.

If even I can't understand myself, how can I let others understand such a negative energy filled me? Because even I am about to be defeated by myself who is full of negative energy, how can I defeat the unhappiness in life? Fortunately, I understand it not too late, and I have the opportunity to shake hands with myself, and also have the opportunity to look at the good and bad in life in a different way. If the mentality changes, the life will also change. Maybe life has never changed, but I have never really felt the other side of life. I stubbornly believe that life is only boring and difficult, and I am unwilling to change my perspective or mood.

My greatest enemy is not my own shortcomings, but my own inability to understand them. The past has become a reality. What I can do is not erase the past, but create the future I want from now on. After I became friends with myself and fell in love with life, I drove away the gloom in my heart and ushered in a sunny day in my life.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.