Humans logo

Loving Unconditionally in the Digital Age

Can we still love unconditionally when we are constantly being bombarded with many different perspectives on love?

By Dream SilasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Loving Unconditionally in the Digital Age
Photo by Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

It’s good to love. It feels good. It is good. I am a loving person and I am very lovable so I give and receive a lot of love and I look forward to all the love I will give and receive in the future. I have felt at odds with myself a few times in my life when I felt like loving someone, no matter what, was too painful and maybe even impossible. Even though I thought this, I still had a strong sense of the truth in the back of my mind that didn’t go away. I knew it was right to love anyway. It’s who I am. It’s who we are. It’s said that the human soul is made out of pure love. I believe this undoubtedly. It’s actually quite beautiful to think this and to entertain it even if you do not fully believe it.

I would sometimes get caught up in the very cynical nature of others at times. For instance, on social media, there would be a plethora of people talking about how others couldn’t be trusted, infidelity, or people having ulterior motives or ingenuine intentions. I would hear people complain about people harboring extreme jealousy or hatred yet disguising themselves as friends or family, loving actions not being reciprocated, and literally everything under the sun. It is rather easy to absorb these negative perspectives and to claim and accept them as your own unconsciously, thus permitting these perspectives to express themselves in your physical reality. Ultimately, accepting these perspectives as true only allows you to prove them true to yourself because we, more often than not, get what we believe. It is clearly such an exhausting process. But as I stated earlier, beautiful unconditional love is natural to human beings as this is what we naturally are. Having such a cynical mentality and way of being is extremely unnatural. For me, I began realizing the aspect of myself that brought a person to me. Whatever feelings or perspectives I was deeply holding and believing to be true would be reflected back to me sooner or later. A person would come into my life as the complete embodiment of whatever these feelings or perspectives were, positive or negative. So it became for me, of course I love you, you are me. You are perfect and perfectly placed in my life. Thank you for showing me myself.

Tips On Unconditional Loving

1. It is important to see yourself in the people who you love and people in general. This allows for compassion and a better understanding of the person that you love.

2. Always try and search for the good in a person and highlight their good in your mind. Associating a person with their good will often times change how you see them altogether. This also allows for a person to unconsciously feel good while in your presence and love who they are while they are with you.

3. Acknowledge the aspect of you that has called certain people into your life. There is always a greater reasoning behind someone's presence in our lives and we usually call to us the kind of person that embodies whatever we dominantly feel inside of us. I have noticed in my own life that whenever I was feeling miserable, I'd find myself surrounded by miserable people. But as soon as I acknowledged my own miserable-ness and opted to change it, the people around me also changed.

4. Sometimes it is important to distance yourself from people. There may be many reasons for this but regardless of the reason, if it is necessary then learning to love someone from afar is beneficial. In fact, I feel like loving someone from afar is the perfect way to practice unconditionally loving someone because you can still love them without knowing what they are doing or where they are. Instead you'll just love for the sake of it.

5. Being patient with yourself and the person you love in times of difficulty is important as it bulids a stronger foundation and builds trust.

6. Let it be natural. It should never feel like we are forcing ourselves to love someone because this often breeds resentment. Instead, we should let the feeling of loving naturally take over us.

7. Change your beliefs. If you harbor negative beliefs and perspectives about people, it is imperative to make an effort to change those beliefs to beliefs that align with love instead of going against it. Besides, in this life we often always eventually get what we believe. So let's believe in something good.

If you've liked this article, please give my podcast linked below a listen. Thank you.

love
1

About the Creator

Dream Silas

I love to write about love, the beautiful, and the natural world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.