Humans logo

Love, wine & dine

Twisted Turn

By Ruth S RiveraPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Love, wine & dine
Photo by Roberta Sorge on Unsplash

Suddenly life didn't fill me up with boredom anymore. Tinder would have never been my first choice to find true love. Must have been my insecurities of being the first to ask someone on a date. So it became an icebreaker in a sense making it easier for people to meet. I was getting ready for my first date with Usuai one Sunday afternoon. Thinking how strange the events that took place to end up actually going on a date with him which was far off in my plans early that morning. As I recall I had sparked a conversation with another boy named Aniko a few weeks back and he seemed sweet enough that we went on a date. We went to the beach and stopped for shakes and fries and then headed to Laguna beach. As he was parking his mortocycle it came crashing down, scrapping him right on his knee. He stood there caressing his knee for comfort roughly for 5 min before we headed down the stairs which lead us to the open soft sandy beach. There was something so breathtaking about the beach that night. Just watching the small specs of glimmering city lights far ahead shimmering like twinkling stars and hearing the splashing of the waves clashing into one another as the high tides rose it just filled me up with butterflies inside. We found the perfect spot to sit and he took out some purple grapes, cheese bites, crackers, two wine glasses and a bottle of citris blossom dry white Allonym out from his backpack. I glanced at him let him know I had only drank one beer in my life so was not comfortable drinking much. He chuckled and said "Don't worry, one glass of wine won't get you drunk" I trusted him. He handed me the glass and I just stared through the glass at the sparkling bubbles, bubbling their way to the top of the glass and right behind them the beautiful scenery of the ocean and the far off glimmering city lights. Then brought my glance back at the wine, just staring at it filled my mouth with saliva that I sipped it all up in 2 gulps, more please.... What happened there miss lady? Aniko asked. Well, this is so light and fruity, where did you get it? It doesn't taste anything like beer! "No m'am, this is definitely not beer, I ordered it online just for this special occasion, for you and me." Oh sweet! "Yes, I usually have a glass after work once in a while. I have a monthly subscription and get to taste different selections from Bright Cellars which they have paired up with my taste. It's a great start if you don't drink much." Nice! Thank you Aniko. After my second drink I started getting warm and relaxed. I remember wearing sandals and placing my toes underneath the cool sand feeling more awake than ever. We ended that night with a high adrenaline rush as we rode his motorcycle high speed in the empty freeway at 3am at night. Such a memorable night. We were set to go for a second date. Still I was open to dating more people, but a second date with Aniko seemed pretty set for that Sunday afternoon. It was Sunday morning. I had no intentions of doing anything other than get myself ready for my second date with Aniko. Things took a twisted turn. I got a message from Usuai. Another of my Tinder matches. I don't know what made me continue a conversation with him and after a few back and forth messages I agreed to go out on a date with him that same Sunday afternoon. My luck! What did I let my mind do! I was so in for the thrill of it that I now had two dates. I knew I was going on my second date with Aniko no doubt, this thing with Usuai was just for fun. So I was getting ready. Usuia kept texting me every hour eager as a child, letting me know how excited he was to actually meet me. He must be bluffing I thought, if only he knew I had no intentions of meeting him. And so 5pm came, Aniko called me said there had been a change of plans, he wouldn't be able to meet. He had important things to get done for work. Alright, so that was that, I was not going to let it ruin my weekend so a date with Usuia it was! The date with Usuia was set. He had a very particular request, wanted our first date to be at his home. I thought it was a bit eary but I did ask myself if that’s what people are doing now a days with Covid and all. So I didn’t overthink it and agreed but not without texting my bestfriend his address in case she never saw me again lol. I was definitely not staying home tonight that’s for sure. The seek thriller in me was actually curious to see how this would turn out especially after not even wanting to go out with him from the gecko. He had a thick accent, kinda threw me off. Anyhow, I got ready and went to his home. He greeted me at the gate entrance. He lead me inside his home. He seemed eager as little kid kept offering me food every 5 min. Both of us quite shy I glanced at him as he analyzed my every movement and tried to chat a bit. He let me know he had ordered Buffalo Wild Wings and different flavors to see which I like the most. I was delighted by this gesture. A few minutes later a knock on the door. Delivery guy came with all sorts of wings, there was Lemon pepper, Buffalo, sweet BBQ, spicy garlic, pretty much every type you can think off. We sat and stuffed our faces with wings. At the far end of the table I noticed a bottle of wine and two smooth stemless wine glasses. I could imagine the silky taste in my mouth already just like last week with Aniko. So I was the first to ask if I could please have a glass of wine? Two glasses of merlot coming right up. My eyes sparkled as he handed me the crystal glass with the silky smooth grape wine. I sipped it in my mouth and felt the frutiy flavors burst through my taste buds. I both opened up and started conversating about careers, life and goals. It was such out of the box date but I was glad it was out of the ordinary. We ended up dating for four months after our unique date until I found out he had a fiance across the country in India. As for Aniko he disappeared out my life without hindsight. This lead me to rethink my life. Thanks Aniko for the online wine recommendation and thank you Usuia for the lovely four months of my life next to you. I learned something from these men. I love myself more than ever. I am joyful and relaxed coming home from work not having to cook if I don't want to and I treat myself to a glass of relaxing wine. Thank you to the men who introduced me to the elegance of wine and taught me to love myself.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.