Humans logo

Love Notes

A Love Story in Letters

By Brianna PaynePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
(I do not own this photo)

June 16th, 2051

My Dearest Ben,

I am writing this letter to inform you that mother has forbidden us to see each other any longer. As Daddy is away currently because of the war and the draft, Mom ended up the one in charge. Due to this, she has moved us across the country and forbidden that I write or have any contact with you any longer. This is so not fair! I do not want to stop seeing you! As internet and all technology no longer works these days my only choice is to write you this letter and mail it out secretly, hopefully Mother never finds out. If you do decide to write me back please leave the return address blank so she will never find out. If I do not hear from you I will just assume that you agree with Mother’s wishes and we will stop seeing each other.

Your Love,

Marie

June 21st, 2051

Dear Marie,

I just wanted to start this off by saying I love you darling! Times like this is very rough. As you know, I turn 18 in 2 more months, in which I too will be going to the war as well. I start training for this tomorrow as a matter of fact as I signed up earlier this week to go to war as it is inevitable that I would be drafted anyway. This way I can at least choose where I want to go. I am going to be in the Air force and learn the trade of airplane mechanics in the hopes I don’t have to see battle and I can come home safely to you my dear. I do not wish to accept your mother’s wishes, as I know I can probably get your dad’s blessing. Due to current law your mother should not be allowed to forbid our love as we were matched by the matchress herself in Aurah, Ohio where we are from. Why would your mother forbid what was already said and done years ago? We have been together for 2 years now and due to being betrothed by the matchress it is close to time I ask your father for his blessing anyway. This is very upsetting as she seemed to be okay with us before your father left. I hate two-faced people! Honey, I will make this right! I swear on my life that we will be together again.

Yours Forever,

Bennjamin

December 6th, 2051

My Benny,

Mother seems to be watching me like a hawk so I am sorry that it took me a bit to respond to your last letter. I hope you get this letter as I do not know if you are living in the same place now or not. I hope you haven't forgotten about me; I am still waiting for you to return. You are very right my dear. We were matched up by the God’s themselves through the matchress and there is no reason she should deny or love. Mom went all crazy once dad left, literally! Every morning she eats straight up granola and drinks her tequila sunrises until about noon. I have no clue where she is even getting the alcohol as it is illegal in that states now and she’s becoming quite the drunk. The key is to just stay away from her until 4pm and then she usually passes out anyway. She is very mean when she drinks. I don’t want to get into details on it as I do not wish to concern you. But Hun let me say this, please hurry and come home. I need you before Mother goes off the deep end worse than she already has. I do not know how much more I can take of this. I am worried that Mom left Dad when she moved us, she keeps saying Dad died, I know he has not! Please find my father, I am unaware what is really going on. Help!

Love Always,

Marie

January 1st, 2052

My Sweet Sweet Marie,

How is everything going over there? I have certainly not forgotten about you, I never will! I hope all is good and you are in good health. I have found your father; he is actually my leading officer as a matter of fact. Great coincidence huh? He has told me that he has no idea where you or your mother even are and has been very distraught about it. I hope you don’t mind that I shared with him your whereabouts as I am very concerned. I hope you get this letter in time, because he is headed to you in a week's time. I hope you are safe and your mother is good too. I have received your father’s blessing as well. We will be wed as soon as we get home. I love you!

Forever Yours,

Ben

January 15th,2052

Darling Ben,

Dad came home yesterday but sadly Mother has been in the hospital for a week now. I had no idea she was sick. Dad says he had no idea either. I guess Mother left right after she heard news that she had liver cancer and was refusing treatments. She felt it was the right thing to do to just disappear. She did not want to hurt Dad with the pain of losing her while he was at war, but in the end, she hurt him anyway. She passed out on the floor and is in the hospital and hasn’t woken up since, I am so scared I am going to lose my mom. Dad says the war is almost over after the last 7 years of us having to fight it. Is this true? Dad also says when you get home, we can wed as soon as we like. Mother forbid us because she was afraid of me hurting if you died in war, as she was worried about losing Dad as well. At least that’s what Dad thinks. I hope Mother recovers, I do not want her to die so soon, I am not ready for that. Please write back as soon as you can. I love you.

Yours Truly,

Marie

January 20th, 2052

Marie,

I am so glad to report that we have been given news today that we are no longer needed here. I will be home on February 1st until they need me again if they even do. I plan to have us wed on Valintines day, is that too cheesy? I hope you accept?

-Ben

January 25th, 2052

My Love,

Was that really your proposal? You are so silly. I am so excited to see you soon. I am even more excited to spend the rest of my life with such an amazing man! I will see you soon my dear and we will wed that day, I absolutely adore the cheesy nature of that day. My father will walk me down the aisle and Mother will help me get a dress. I cannot wait!

Your dearest,

Marie

P.S. Mother has made a full recovery so far so assuming all stays good she will be there rooting us on. I love you!

love
Like

About the Creator

Brianna Payne

I have loved writing since a young child! I continued this throughout adulthood, where I enjoy it even more. I love a good challenge, give me an idea of what YOU want to read, just email me @ [email protected] with subject line "Idea"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.