Humans logo

Love letter to my sailor

Long distance hopes and dreams

By Anastasia SPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Love letter to my sailor
Photo by Jorge Gardner on Unsplash

Love letters are a romantic expression of love in written form. Short or long messages sent to your loved one. When we are little, we learn from books and fairytales about love, about men wooing their ladies. The reality though is that, in today's modern's society, love letters are forgotten.

Did you know that the oldest recorded love letter was estimated to be around early Renaissance in the 14th century? This has been the go-to way for so many men in history as a way to confess their feelings for a woman.

It is not always easy to describe what we are feeling for our beloved significant other in words on a piece of paper. The majority of us reflect our love through actions or gifts. But it is not quite that way for a woman. We enjoy acts of love in which way they come.

I want to share below a love letter I sent to one of my previous partners that is in the Navy. When we started our long-distance relationship, he amused my desire to be cheesy and write love letters to each other every month. Sitting down with a piece of paper and a pen in my hand, I soon realised that the next two years would take away so much from us, we would miss so many moments of each other's lives. A beautiful testament of our love.

By Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

Paul,

I miss you so much and I am so happy I get to see you in a few weeks. But still super sad that I'll have to see you leave again. I am always so much happier when I have you around. And I've realised I spend a lot of time thinking about you when you're not here.

Every time we end our video calls, I have this strange feeling of happiness and sadness combined. I am happy as I chatted with you for a few minutes - okay I can hear you laughing now since I know skype logs show hours. I get to hear about your day, your workouts or how much reading you need to do for your online classes. I love listening to you and it makes my heart beat faster every time. But then I get this sadness feeling because I know we have a few good months before I can see you. You complete me and I feel so happy when we're together.

I hate that our lives keep us so far apart, but I also think it makes us stronger even though it hurts so much in the short term. I want nothing more than to be with you. To share your hopes and dreams, and also to share your struggles and challenges. I can't wait for the day when I won't have to say goodbye again.

I know that day is a long way off, but it's something I think about every day. It kills me that I can't be there for you on the days that you need me to be there for you. But I want you to know that I think about you every time you're having a hard day and I'm trying to help as much as I can from here, miles away.

I love you so so much and can't wait to see you in a few more weeks. You are my best friend and soul mate and you will always mean so much to me.

Love always,

Anastasia

I encourage you to write something down for your partner today and give it to them. It can just a mere thank you for making you dinner when you couldn't help, or an expression of your love. And if you are solo, write down something for yourself. We all need a bit of positivity and love despite what is going in the world.

If you enjoyed this love letter, please like it and I might soon share more of my letters sent to the sailor that stole my heart away.

love
5

About the Creator

Anastasia S

I always loved writing, but I never got the courage to start

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.