Humans logo

Love

What is it, really? It has so many different ways of being true and shown.

By Friday VibesPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Love:

An intense feeling of deep affection.

"Babies fill parents with intense feelings of love."

Synonyms: deep affection, fondness, tenderness, warmth, intimacy, attachment, endearment.

Above is the definition of love if you look it up on Google, but what is love to you? To me, it can have several words to describe it. Love, to me, is trust, understanding, compromise. It also includes communication on both ends; the willingness to listen with understanding and, if not, to ask questions that will iron out the understanding. Love isn't easy. By far, it's not easy! It takes work and dedication. Nothing worth having is easy to come by, right? If it comes too easy, it's not meant to be, or it won't work out in the way you thought it would.

After four years in the same relationship, I can tell you that I've had my fair share of tears cried in the midnight hour, fights, thoughts of walking out of it all. I've wanted to just end our relationship repeatedly but I'm a firm believer that if it's meant to be, you must work for it.

So, to you, what is love? Have you ever loved and not been loved back? Or was it the other way around? How many true loves have you ever actually had in your life? How many relationships have you ever been in that were just fly by the seat of your pants moments? Those are what I like to call the one-night stands or the "oh, you are just my spouse for the holidays. I only need for you to show your face at at least two events over the holidays. The others you can miss due to work, that way my family thinks you are a hard-working person."

Growing up, I watched my parents fight and go through hell and back. Eventually, they divorced and both married other people down through the years. My dad had about two or three failed marriages after that and now he's living at home with his mom. We don't talk much at all. My mom married again, and I don't care for her husband at all. He was just as abusive to her, if not more, than my dad. Growing up, I was confused on what real love was. It took me going through my own failed relationships and two kids later to see the true meaning of what love is and what it should be. I think going through that, though, was the universe trying to show me what I really needed in this life. Maybe it was a lesson on what to take into the next life. Who knows?

So, from this, I want you to sit back and think on what did it take for you to figure out what real love is all about? Are you still taking the time to figure it out and you are not sure in what direction to truly go in with your current relationship? I’ve met people that have tried going to a physic for guidance in their relationship and life. I’ve looked at them like they were crazy because before you talk to one, you must tell them what you are looking for information on. In that moment, you give them everything they needed to know to pretend like they are giving you an epic reading. You can’t get what you need from Ms. Cleo trying to have you call her hotline at two in the morning. Whether you choose to go the spiritual route in finding out what true love is or you learn it all by trial and error, have fun on your journey. Holding back in your quest to find it will only cause you to have to keep searching for it.

love
Like

About the Creator

Friday Vibes

I'm a somewhat single mother of 2 boys. 3, if you count my husband. Born and raised in Texas. I love anything with food, diy, love & relationships... I've been there and done that on so many topics :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ahmed Malikabout a year ago

    I've wanted to just end our https://salonpricelists.com/ relationship repeatedly but I'm a firm believer that if it's meant to be, you must work for it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.