Humans logo

Little Black Book

A Jumpstart to Wealth

By Lis E.Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Have you ever wished that some miracle would happen and you would all of a sudden be able to easily pay all of your bills and debts; that you would then still have plenty of money left for fun things? It’s definitely something I had wished for many times. Of course I worked jobs- sometimes two or three at a time- but they only ever paid just enough. Enough to pay my bills, eat, get a new outfit every now and then, and maybe save a few dollars. Two years ago, I was thinking about this very thing while I walked to the bus stop for work when some random person shoved a little black book at me. I grabbed it because it’s an automatic reaction to being handed something. By the time I even realized I’d been handed something, the person was already gone so I didn’t have a chance to tell them I didn’t want this little black book. Though, now I’m glad about that. I looked down at the little black book- it was leather, about the size of my hand, with a band around it that snapped in the front. There was nothing written on the outside- it was just plain, smooth leather. Then I opened it and there on the first page of lined paper it said, “Congratulations! You are the recipient of $20,000! There are only three things we want you to do: 1) Accept this money! 2) Invest it! 3) Pay it forward! Whenever you’re ready, put $20,000 in the book and pass it on to a random stranger. Let’s keep the good fortune moving! Thanks in advance for helping someone out!” I was shocked. In the middle of the book, tucked securely in the binding, was a check for $20,000.

I quickly shut the book and headed for the bus stop that would take me to my bank- I didn’t want to carry that much money around any longer than necessary. I called in to work while I waited for the bus. I cashed the check, went home, and stared at my bank account. First, I was in shock. But after that passed, came the excitement. I actually got that miracle I was wishing for! I immediately thought of all the things I wanted to buy- a car, a house, clothes, game systems, restaurant food everyday, a new laptop! I glanced back at that little black book and got my excitement under control. The book said to invest it, so I would do that first. I spent the day researching what I could invest this money in and how I could go about it. At this point I’m very glad the little black book suggested investing. Had it not, that money wouldn’t have lasted long- I would have immediately started buying random things that didn’t help me get out of that un-wealthy life I was living.

After researching all day, I decided that my first investment would go into stocks. The next day happened to be Saturday, so I researched stocks all that weekend. I watched videos and listened to podcasts and read articles about stocks. Then I watched the news, read news articles, and researched to see what was a good stock to buy at that time. By Monday morning I was ready and I bought my first stocks with $5,000.

Over the next few weeks, I sold stocks and bought stocks. I lost money on some transactions, but made money on others. I kept track of it all, though, and after the first month I was up $3,000. I was so excited! At this point, I put the rest of the money into stocks thinking I pretty much had the hang of it.

After the second month, I was down $5,000 and realized that the profit in stocks is a bit up and down. But with my strategy strengthening day by day, I continued to increase my money over the next four months.

Six months after I received the little black book, I was riding the bus and I saw this duplex with a for sale sign out front. I had read about people buying a duplex, living on one side and renting out the other side, so it caught my eye. It looked pretty nice so I got off and went to have a closer look. As I approached the duplex, a guy came out one of the doors and began locking up.

“Excuse me,” I called. He turned around to look at me.

“Are you the owner?” I asked, pointing at the sight that read, “For Sale by Owner”.

“Yes, I am,” he said. “You looking to buy?”

“Maybe,” I told him. “Could I look inside?”

“Sure!” So I followed him in.

It wasn’t real big- two bedrooms, one bathroom, a kitchen, and a living room. It was also a little rundown and would need some work.

“Are both sides the same,” I asked?

“Yep. Exactly the same,” he said.

“How much are you selling it for,” I asked him.

“30,000 for the whole thing.”

“Okay. I’ll write this one down and talk it over with my partner. Do you have a business card?”

“Of course! You talk it over and then give me a call. Here’s my card right here.” He handed me a card from his pocket. I took it and we both left. I didn’t actually have a partner, but I read that this was a polite excuse to give you time to do a little research on a house you looked at on a whim.

A week later, we sat down and worked out the contract. I got a realtor to work with, since this was my first time doing this. I got him to sell it for $20,000, which I paid for with the money I made in stocks. I used $10,000 more for fixing it up, then I decided to rent both sides out for $750. So, since then, each month I’ve been getting a $1,500 check from my first property. I found this to be very exciting and in the following days I continued looking for other properties.

Now two years have passed since I was given the little black book. My investments are steadily growing. I was able to quit my jobs and do real estate full time while investing in stocks on the side. Of course, I made mistakes and faced many challenges to get to this wealthy lifestyle. Each time I felt like giving up and giving in to my previous mindset and way of life, I’d look at that little black book sitting on my bookshelf and think, “I can’t give up! Someone gave me this opportunity! I can do this! And I can give someone else this same opportunity!”

So here I am now, writing a check for $20,000. I fold it in half and tuck it securely on a middle page, in the binding of the book. I snap it closed and with a smile on my face, leave the house to give someone else the little black book.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Lis E.

Hi everyone! I'm Lis E. Majority of the time I'm either reading stories or coming up with them. The stories I share here will mostly be fantasy- not all, but mostly. Hope y'all enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.