Humans logo

Lez Have Coffee

Spilling the tea

By Sarah RickmanPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

I didn't intend to fall in love with a girl. It just happened.

One day I was living a "normal" heterosexual life and the next I was questioning my sexuality.

It all started when I walked into a pizzeria over 7 years ago. I wanted the serving job so bad. Why? I do not know, but I wanted that job and I was determined to get it. I put my smile on and honestly think my charm was the only thing that got me that job. I knew nothing about being a server, but somehow I got the job.

It wasn't long before I saw her. Gorgeous tanned skin, honey-colored eyes, dark hair. She was truly a dream to look at. But what took my breath away was her smile. It was infectious, and she knew it. I thought I had turned the charm on, this girl turned the dial all the way up. She was a people person through and through. There was literally no competing with her when she was in the room. I was intrigued.

We didn't work closely the first few days I worked there. But it didn't take long before it was her turn to train me. It was an odd day all around. She tested me, and I left work that day feeling completely defeated and embarrassed. I was confused. She seemed nice enough when I first met her, but this day she was putting on a front for some reason.

The day ended leaving me perplexed.

What happened in the days to come is really a blur looking back. When I think back to days after that all I remember is flirting, intense eye contact, sweet notes and pen stealing. I was seriously confused. I didn't know why I was so drawn to her, but I did know that I really liked her, and not just as a friend.

The feelings were intense and really confusing, but I navigated it all the best that I could. I didn't grow up learning much about same-sex couples, so for that reason I was shy at the idea, but not entirely against it. I cannot explain how intense it all was for me; it was a complete whirlwind.. but I fell and I fell hard.

Fast forward to the present time, and me and that girl from the tiny pizzeria are married with two kids. CRAZY!

Looking back, it has been the most intense years of my life; the best and worst years, the happiest and most sad. It has been a life to love and brag about, and also a life lived in the trenches with the one I love.

I would never change a thing.

I am so glad I walked into that pizzeria over 7 years ago.

lgbtq
1

About the Creator

Sarah Rickman

tiny living | artist | marketer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.