Humans logo

Lez Have Coffee

Spilling the Tea Part 2

By Sarah RickmanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

S o after my last story time I got a lot of feedback from people wanting more. They want a more detailed story of me and my wife, Morgan.

So after thinking about it, I decided that- while adorable- the whole thing was a little rushed. So, the people spoke. And the people get what the people want.

I decided that I'd start telling our story in more detail, in parts.. because lez be honest- this is a long story. So... you ready? Here we go.

Picture this, it's 2013. I am a new(ish) single mother. I'm a full-time college student working 2 jobs. It was pure bliss.. not.

My child was my life. I was determined to make something of myself and provide for her. I didn't do anything except homework, work and workout. I also need to add that I not long before this moment had recently gotten out of a pretty bad marriage. I in no way was looking for anything romantic. I definitely never wanted to get married ever again (at the time). I was a little broken and was just looking to provide for my daughter the best I could.

I had recently quit my job at Office Depot and was looking for something better, as I had just enrolled my then 3 year old daughter into a very nice private Methodist church pre-k with absolutely no idea how I was going to pay for the tuition. But in typical Sarah fashion, I quit my job solely based on the fact that I hated it and no matter what- I was going to figure it out. Fly by the seat of my pants kinda gal I was.

So talking to my aunt (that I lived with at the time) one day, this little pizzeria that we loved came up. We would go there often as it was right up the street from where we lived, and we loved the food! The conversation ended with me deciding I was going to go up there the next day and apply.

So I did. The next morning I fixed my hair bone straight, put on a pink and white striped shirt with some jeans and was on my way. What do you even wear when applying for a job at a pizzeria/bar?

I got there and spoke to the manager and the conversation went something like this:

Have you ever served at a restaurant before?

No.

Have any bartending experience?

No.

Do you know anything about the food industry?

I worked at another little pizza joint briefly, but I just stood behind the counter and checked people out.

Total different ballgame. But somehow I got the job. Like I said in my first blog, it must have been my charm that got me that job, because I have no idea why they chose me!

I somehow managed to be there for an entire hour and never saw Morgan not once.

The next few days were when I was supposed to start my training. I remember being so excited but so nervous because I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I straightened my hair of course and put on a form-fitting gray shirt.

I don't remember a whole lot from that day but the one thing that will stick out in my mind forever was the first moment that me and Morgan saw each other.. and, always wear slip-resistant shoes when working in a restaurant.

I had just got to work and sat at a table to fill out some paperwork when Morgan was ending her shift. I remember she walked past me but at the time I wasn't paying attention to who it was. It wasn't until she got out of the door and walked past the big window where I was sitting did I notice her, because as she walked past the window and our eyes briefly met, I remember she did a double-take and came back to the window for one more glance.

I'll never forget the look on her face. It was like she had just won the lottery, and I was obviously very flattered. From that moment on, I was determined to find out who that girl was.. but it wouldn't be another couple of shifts before I got to work with her one-on-one.

To be continued...

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Rickman

tiny living | artist | marketer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.