Humans logo

Lesson My Uncle Aliko Dangote Taught Me About Money - Davido

Davido spills

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Nigerian billionaire Aliko Dangote is the is the founder, chairman, and CEO of the Dangote group which is the largest industrial conglomerate in West Africa. He is also the richest man in Nigeria, richest person in Africa, and the world's richest black person. In addition to all of this, he is also the godfather of Nigerian singer Davido.

During a recent interview with Forbes, the "Unavailable" singer Davido revealed how it was actually Aliko Dangote, who is his godfather, that drove him home from the hospital when he was born. Forbes wrote in the article: "FORBES: And then there's Davido's godfather, the business mogul Aliko Dangote, Africa's wealthiest person with estimated net worth of $13.5 billion. Davido says that Dangote drove him and his mother home from the hospital after his birth. "

Now during a new interview, Davido is further revealing more about his relationship with his godfather Aliko Dangote, and opening up about the advice that Dangote gave him about money. Here is what Davido said in a new interview about the lesson he learnt from his godfather, Aliko Dangote, as well as the lessons he has also learnt from his own father.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Davido and Aliko Dangote

Speaking during a new interview about the lesson he learnt from his uncle Aliko Dangote about money, Davido said:

DAVIDO: Uncle Aliko is a different type of billionaire. Uncle Aliko buys two cars every eight years. He is very disciplined and a different kind of billionaire. Every time I see him, he just says one thing and one thing only. Save your money. There is nothing more he tells me other than to save my money.

He and my dad they have been very close friends since I was young. He has done well for us back home; he has made us a lot of industries. He does it all; he just opened the biggest cement plant in Africa. That will provide jobs. Also, what we do, we have an electricity company so the top men in Nigeria do what they can to provide.

I learned so much from being around my dad, watching him in the office, hearing him on the phone, seeing how he handled life. He's very humble, principled and a strong Christian. Before I step on any stage, my team knows not to mess with my prayers.

Davido and his father

Wow! That is a very interesting thing to hear about Aliko Dangote. It is also a very important lesson that everybody needs to remember: to save our money. What do you think about what Davido said, and about Dangote's advice? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.