Humans logo

Ladipoe Fires Back at Wizkid's Rude Comment Against Him and Boss, Don Jazzy

Ladipoe responds

By Jide OkonjoPublished 24 days ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian rapper Ladipoe was in the middle of drama not too long ago after he made a tweet saying "Nigerian rappers that survived 'hip hop is dead' watching Afrobeat artists go through their own".

The tweet led to somebody telling Wizkid about it which is what led Wizkid to then tweet the now infamous line "Lol never chatting to anyone signed to an influencer. Next".

Now, the Mavin rapper is finally addressing how he felt about the whole saga during a new interview with Cool FM. Here's what he said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about how he felt about the whole Twitter drama between him and Wizkid, Ladipoe said:

LADIPOE: For me, Twitter or X is a funny place for me. I don't share so often on X. I have a very peculiar sense of humor and I feel like sometimes it needs extra context, and X just doesn't give me that. But I've been tweeting more recently. And to me, the whole P was a joke. Hip hop artistes have been through this time when there was this false narrative that hip hop is dead. It has been something that has been in the industry for years now. And now you're getting these same whispers about Afrobeats. Once again, I think they're just as ridiculous and as false as the times they were saying hip hop is dead. So I was saying see you guys, we went through our own so this too will pass for you Afrobeats guys. So it was meant as a joke like we've gone through ours, now you're going through yours. And that was the joke, and funny enough if there's anybody it was aimed at, it was aimed at the audience or anybody who believes this narrative. Who are you to say any genre is dead. As long as the artistes are alive and there are people wanting the music, then it's alive. Any other interpretation of it is something I didn't anticipate cuz I know what I was thinking when I tweeted it.

How do I feel about [what Wizkid said], I stand ten toes on what I said. I know what I was talking about, that doesn't change. How anybody interprets it, that's really how they feel. I know who I am, I know who I partner with which is Mavin and Jazzy. I know what they stand for. And so for me, it's Twitter, that's one place where I don't put real emotions or take real emotions away.

Ladipoe and boss, Don Jazzy

What do you think about what Ladipoe said, and about what Wizkid said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake24 days ago

    Keep up the good work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.