Humans logo

How Tiwa Savage's Pregnancy Affected Me - Simi

Simi reveals for first time

By Jide OkonjoPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Simi is talking about her recent collaboration partner Tiwa Savage in a new interview with American OAP Angela Yee. During their talk, Simi talked about being pitted against Tiwa and other female artistes, and also opened up about how Tiwa's navigation through the industry with her pregnancy and motherhood affected and inspired her. Here's what Simi said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about being pitted against women in the industry, like Tiwa Savage who she had a recent collaboration with, Simi said:

SIMI: It's everywhere. It's so intense sometimes. Sometimes, it can be so distracting. Because there are not as many of us as compared to the guys in the industry, so when you have the few of us and a new lady breaks in the industry, immediately, they just put her against us. We can all thrive. It's been very distracting to the point where everything you do--I've spoken about women so many times, I have songs about women--but people assume that because I'm in the industry, the only way that my talking about women can be valid is if I'm doing a feature with women. And it's just so weird because there's women in different walks of life. There's my mum, there's your mum, we have friends, we have people that work with us. So they do pit us against each other A LOT and I do think sometimes, that puts some kind of pressure on the type of relationship we would have otherwise. You might say something and they'll take it to mean something that it doesn't mean. So sometimes you're just trying to be careful of what you say or don't say. But I think the longer you've been in the industry, the more you get used to it.

Speaking more about Tiwa Savage and how Tiwa's pregnancy and motherhood journey in the industry inspired her, Simi said:

SIMI: Whether or not I do a song with Tiwa, I respect her. I think she's a phenomenal artist. She's been in the game for so long and she's been killing this. She's amazing and I respect her so much.

I don't think I've ever said this anywhere, but I remember when she first had her son. Watching her, at the time I wasn't married and I didn't have a child, so seeing how she got through that as well. Because the industry is not necessarily kind or patient with women. At the end of the day, if you're going to carry the child, the woman has to be the one. So seeing her just find her way back and doing all these things, I just really admire her and think she's amazing.

Simi has also gone on to marry and become a mother herself, and is still thriving in the industry. It's so wonderful to see people inspiring themselves and taking lessons from each other's stories and paths.

What do you think of what Simi said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.