Humans logo

Knowledge about Dua Lipa

Dua Lipa Information you should know

By WHBPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Some facts about Dua Lipa

British pop queen Dua Lipa is going to visit on Australian shores for the ARIA Awards next week so we deemed it only fair to celebrate by providing 24 killer facts about Dua.

Dua has only released her debut self-titled album, but due to songs like IDGAF, New Rules, and collaborations with superstars like Diplo and Mark Ronson (Silk City) like Electricity, her album has already achieved multi-Platinum status in many nations.

She recently released the immensely groovy single Don't Start Now, which she has been performing all over the world. In 2020, she will perform at Sydney's annual Mardi Gras to spread her positive energy among Australia's LGBTQI+ population.

.Not a stage name, Dua Lipa

Yes, Dua Lipa—which is pronounced "Doer Leaper"—is the name she was given at birth. She claims she didn't enjoy it growing up, but she subsequently realised it prevented her from having to come up with a stage name!

. Her first name is Albanian for "love."

Despite being born in London, Dua's parents are from Kosovo and are Albanian. In 2008, she moved back to live there.

. Her father is also a singer.

Dukagjin Lipa, Dua's father, is also active in the music business as a musician and the creator of the Sunny Hill Festival in Kosovo. We believe he is Dua's biggest fan based only on his Instagram account.

. She has travelled with some legendary performers.

Fans of Bruno Mars, Troye Sivan, or Coldplay may have seen Dua perform as a support act alongside them while they were on tour. In relation to Coldplay...

.Chris Martin left a message on her album

Dua and the Coldplay vocalist collaborated on a tune in Miami last year. It ultimately became the last song, Homesick, on her self-titled album, and Chris contributes uncredited guest vocals. "It was originally just going to be me singing, but I pleaded with him to join me. You must be on this song, I thought. And he concurred. The album's most lovely song, in my opinion. I believe it causes everyone to cry a little bit "She spoke to NME.

. At the age of 15, she left home.

Dua returned from Kosovo to London in order to pursue a career in music. She lived in an apartment with some friends. "The housekeeping and cooking were challenging. It was difficult to realise that no one would clean up after me. Last year, Dua spoke with NME. "Such things definitely forced me to mature earlier than I should have." When my mother visited once, she looked inside my closet and asked, "What are all these clothes?" "Those are all the dirty clothes I've never washed," I exclaimed.

. Like many musicians, she posted covers to YouTube.

When I was 15, I started publishing book covers online, but it never became popular; rather, I used it to build my portfolio, recalls Dua. She performed Here by Alessia Cara and I Would Rather Go Blind by Etta James.

. She was a doorperson at a club in Mayfair.

Dua had to work hard in non-musical occupations like any other aspiring musician. She manned the nightclub door and frequently had to turn away her own pals since they were wearing sneakers.

1. She signed when she was 18 years old.

Just three years after returning to London to pursue music full-time, Warner Bros. signed Dua. I recall calling my parents in Kosovo and requesting that they book a journey to London in order to attend the signing, she recalls.

. The New Rules video has received a tonne of YouTube views.

Since its debut in July 2017, Dua's well-known breakup ballad New Rules has amassed 1.9 billion YouTube views. Shortly after the song's release, Australian party starter Alison Wonderland also remixed it.

. On Spotify, she was one of the most streamed female musicians.

She previously held the record for the most female streamers before Camila Cabello recently reclaimed the top spot. 37 million people listen to her each month! The musician with the most monthly listeners is Ed Sheeran, who has approximately 64 million.

. Her Kosovo hometown's key was given to her.

The mayor of Prishtina, Kosovo, presented Dua with the first key to the city when she visited again in 2018.

. Robbie Williams is a bit of a crush for her

Robbie Williams, the go-to bad boy of British pop, holds a small piece of Dua's heart. "My mum had a crush on him when I was really young, and I saw him at the iTunes festival and I thought life yeah, he's really fit," she claims in a recent interview.

. She cherishes Tupac.

Dua reportedly has a terrific rendition of Tupac's Changes if you ever take her to karaoke.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

WHB

Writing is just my side hustle,editing is my passion,painting is my hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.