Humans logo

Kindness can change the world

The impact of humanity

By Lauren DeePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Kindness can change the world
Photo by Andrew Thornebrooke on Unsplash

Going through life we all strive for purpose. Nothing is ever good enough or up to our standards, because we aren't looking at the small things. We aren't paying close attention to the world we live in, just the personal bubble that surrounds us.

I personally put everything into the little things. I think back all the time to moments that happened and find joy in the meaning that they gave to me. If I had to choose just one moment that sticks in my mind, I think observing kindness is what brings me joy.

It's Christmas morning in the early 2000's. My family gathers and collects for months. We collect toiletries, clothing, food, and many more essentials, to prepare to help our community.

We wake up before the sun and start loading everything into the car. We head down to the park where all the people in need gather. There is so many people there to get a hot meal it breaks my heart. Everything from new babies to the elderly, we have something for everyone.

Everything is set up and we are ready to start feeding, clothing and providing for those in need. As we watch people pick through the mountain of clothes and enjoying their hot meals, it bring tears of sadness and smiles of joy to everyone there. It really feels like we are making a difference in some lives, even if just for a day. Our hearts are full.

Once everything settled down and we cleaned and packed up.

My mother was pushing one of my baby brothers in a stroller to the car, and saw a woman with her child. The woman wasn't able to find any shoes for her kid in the pile. My mother took the shoes off my little brothers feet and gave them to the woman. Despite my brother's cries and protests, she made a difference in that family's life.

This is the memory that sticks in my mind a lot. We were dirt poor and still she chose to give to those that needed it more. It really has stuck with me all these years.

Growing up in a religious family meant we did a lot of service for the community. I really enjoy this, even at the time as a child.

Helping people brings me joy and warms my heart. It makes me fill full to help the ones that need it more than ourselves.

Every person deserves kindness, love and compassion.

In the world today there is a lot of things that can be done to help your local Community of people in need.

I help in every chance to make someone's day better, and that's how the world should be. We are lacking humanity a lot in the world today. Showing so much hate towards each other. It breaks my heart to see all the people that need help being abused, having their makeshift homes torn down, being ridiculed for just needing help.

20 odd some years later, I did a similar thing as this with a local charity last year, and it was an experience I cherish and intend to keep doing.

Fleeting moments are where we can make a difference. Smile at people that need it, hold the door open, compliment a stranger, or just say some kind words to people that look like they need it. We are all human and we all find meaning in different situations. Sometimes the little things are all someone needs to have the will to keep living.

Be kind to the people that you meet, you never know what an impact you can make when you do things with kindness.

The world needs it's humanity back, and only we can make that change.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Dee

I have had very disturbing dreams my whole life. I write fictional short stories, rants and poems all based off of my experiences in life. They can be dark, but it's the only way I can get them out of my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.