Humans logo

Just one drink

Better late than never

By Bobby SteelePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Just one drink
Photo by Avi Agarwal on Unsplash

My headache couldn’t have come at a worse time. “Headache?” I thought, more like an aneurysm ready to burst. I chuckled briefly thinking about my late night searches on WebMD. A few weeks ago I didn’t know what a brain aneurysm was and now, well I was practically an expert on how every ache and pain could be my demise. “Brain aneurysm “ I mumbled under my breath as I scanned my closet looking for a tie. Not just any tie, but the right tie. I grabbed my phone, hoping that I had more time. 545pm. Only 5 minutes had passed since I last checked. I’m supposed to meet her at 630, but I have a thing about being early for dates. Even saying the word in my head brought anxiety. I hadn’t been on a date in years. Not a real date anyway. Tinder doesn’t count you see. I really liked this woman and I want her to like me. So much so that instead of the usual local bar I had brought so many any dates on, I decided to bring her to my favorite restaurant. The Endcut. Great food, but horrible advertising and an even worse location. But the owners were an honest migrant family who worked hard and their old style service was just what I needed. Plus it was quiet. I didn’t want to yell over barbacks and college students singing to songs that were billboard hits before they were even born. “Quiet”. Perfect place to talk, as I went over the opening conversation in my head, I grabbed a silk red tie and headed out. 606pm. I only had a four block walk to The Endcut. As its name suggested, they were famous for their steaks. When I mentioned the restaurant to her, she seemed indifferent at first, but slowly warmed up to the idea of dry aged beef. I had to explain that aged didn’t mean rotten, and luckily was able to browse through Instagram to show her some pictures. She said she would walk as well, but didn’t say how far her trip was. No matter. As I arrived I scanned the dining area through the large plate glass windows. “Empty “. 636pm. The owner of The Endcut, Joel, seated me at my usual table farthest from the door. I liked the corner. It was cozy and since I was usually alone, it was perfect for people watching through the glass. “Are you dining alone”? Joel asked, in a thick Hungarian accent. “Not tonight Joel” I responded. “First date, so I’d like something special”. “I’ve got just the thing” he smiled as he hurried back into the kitchen. One of the servers came out with warm bread followed by Joel proudly holding a dusty dark glass bottle of wine. I glanced at the dust disapprovingly, but Joel quickly stated. “This is a special vintage for special occasions “. I could tell he was proud of the bottle, and I was curious, so I asked him to elaborate. He went on to tell me that this Merlot, was from his own personal vintage. He called it the wine of love and said that it would pair perfectly with any girls f the meat selections on the menu. He also alluded to its aphrodisiac properties and blushed as he winked and opened the bottle to breathe. “Brain aneurysm and homemade wine” I thought as the smell of the Merlot wafted into my nostrils. At the very least, the wine would make conversation fluid. I poured myself a glass and looked at my phone. 737pm. Joel had been pacing back and forth as I poured the last glass from the bottle. “Maybe she got in a car accident”? He said as he cleared the uneaten bread from my table. “Maybe” I said half-jokingly. Although the thought did indeed cross my mind. I slowly came to the realization that I had been stood up. I wasn’t so much upset as I was relieved. At least now I wouldn’t have to stumble over my words trying to make conversation. I tried to make more excuses to justify her absence. But I always came to the same conclusion. She probably just didn’t want to say no. I groaned at the thought. I gulped down the remaining Merlot and stood to use the restroom. Then I heard the from door open. Before I could turn I felt a hug. A BIG hug. I was being lifted off my feet! As I was put down I turned and saw it was her. I smiled sheepishly, embarrassed that she had picked me up, but it quickly faded. “Hi”! She bubbled. “I’m starving”! She sat at the table and Joel immediately summoned the waiter for bread, grinning from ear to ear. He was as relieved as I was. I sat down and before I could say a word she began talking. The words just flowed from her lips and although I listened engagingly, I couldn’t remember what she was saying. I just sat and smiled in awe. Finally she reached out her hand across the table and I prepared for her touch. She wiped my brow gently “Hot in here, huh”? I was sweating. I blamed the wine but I knew it was her. Just being in such close proximity to her my body temperature elevated to almost a fever. Joel then came out of the kitchen with another bottle of his special Merlot. She glanced at it and then her phone. 959pm. She gave me a crooked smile and as I looked at Joel I noticed he was smiling too. But not his usual grin. It was different, almost sinister. I felt sweat dripping down the small of my back. The waiters had all left and the lights had dimmed. “Joel, are you closing”? I asked. But he did not answer. He just stood and smiled. His grin growing bigger. I looked at her and she smiled wider. Her grin no longer crooked, but perfect. Perfect red lips. Perfect white teeth. Sharp white teeth. Before I could even move she lunged across the table. “Shhhhh” she whispered in my ear. “Not time to go just yet”. I knew she was strong, but as she held me down I felt paralyzed. Joel still grinning and standing there. As I look up at him in confusion I noticed the bottle of Merlot. It was empty. As I turned to look back at her her perfect mouth was opened wide. Rows of perfectly white, perfectly sharp teeth on full display. She looked upon me one last time before she bit down. Then I remembered what she said. The only thing I could remember that she said. When I asked her out on a date. A real date. “Sure,” she said. “Just one drink”.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Bobby Steele

I’m an artist, although I’m not sure what art is anymore. If this world is a canvas, than I am a brush. My punishment is my palette is only crimson and coal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.