Humans logo

Just Make a Beginning

Charity Begins at Home

By Hari PrakashPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Just Make a Beginning
Photo by Dev Leigh on Unsplash

Sandalwood tree perfumes the axe that cuts it. A tree laden with fruits always bends low. Shade-giving banyan itself suffers the scorching sun. The list is almost endless.

When a dumb creature like a tree can be so benevolent, humble and sacrificing, why can’t man, endowed with the power of speech, intelligence, exploratory instinct, etc., act a little more responsibly in saving the earth from gradual degradation?

Degradation is not just material. It is intellectual, spiritual, financial, academic, ethics and everything to do with lifestyle.

One may be strong, powerful, influential and wealthy, and have everything going in his or her favor, but all these pale into insignificance in the absence of empathy for others.

Kindness flows in the blood of every soul, be it in the past, present or the future. Only the quantum and direction vary.

Even the most dreaded animals are kind to their offspring.

A wrong-doer is kind to his accomplice.

A tramp may show kindness to a stray.

A child may kindly pet an injured bird.

The world is full of kindness – hidden or visible, rewarded or unsung, misunderstood or otherwise.

Just like a virus, even kindness has its own variants in the form of charity, humanity, service, forgiveness and so on.

Just like the Covid, if only kindness could go on a global rampage!

Just like a rumor, if only kindness could spread!

Wait a minute! Why ‘if only’? Why can’t it be ‘yes, it is possible’?

Wherever there is life, there is an opportunity for kindness.

May be, everyone cannot be kind at all times under all circumstances. For example, on seeing a snake, you cannot go and pet it to show your kindness. At the same time, if it is on its way, there is no need to kill it unnecessarily. Absence of kindness doesn’t mean mindless cruelty.

Yes, I have decided, from now onward, to be kind as much as possible and as often as possible.

Being kind shall start with me. It will have a ripple effect. I will spread kindness. Let alone the devils, even angels shall feel jealous of the earthlings for their kindness.

Heavens will descend on earth.

May be, one day, kindness shall become a unit of measurement in trade, exams, wealth, personality, etc.

Kindness, one day, shall be worn, by the deserving, as a badge of honor.

Kindness, one day, shall become the most popular surname.

Kindness, one day, shall rule the world.

Even at the cost of being labeled immodest, let me imagine the celebratory moment when people would acknowledge my role in spreading kindness.

Then, I shall look back with pride and satisfaction. After all, it is I who had started the ripple effect.

The day, the world around me would be brimming with kindness.

No, that day is not far off. It is here, today. I had started the ripple effect long time back. Today, the result is there for all to see.

In spite of refusing, though reluctantly, my admirers have come to felicitate me. I have to be ready to go there. A red-carpet welcome awaits me. My own Oscar- and a Grammy-award show.

Can you imagine cameras clicking away? Fans crowding me for autograph! Yes, it has happened. I can’t wish it away.

“Hello! You are getting late. Get ready.”

A violent nudge and a screaming tone jolted me. I got angry and shouted, “Why did you wake me up so soon?”

She (my mom) replied in her usual loving tone, “Son, you are getting late for the office. I have kept the breakfast ready. Come on. Get up…”

There was so much kindness in her voice.

I hung my head in shame for having shouted at her.

All those dreams of being kind had no meaning.

A small act (of kindness) is better than great plans.

I apologized to my mom for being rude.

Here too, she was kind as usual, “It is okay son. May be, I should have been a little softer. Sorry son!”

We hugged each other.

I have decided (and hope I stick to my decision) to be kind as far as possible.

That would be my minuscule contribution to a world of kindness.

Charity begins at home.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hari Prakash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.