Humans logo

Just Because I'm Homeless...

To me it's not really a good deed it's treating other's the way I want to be treated.

By Greer CollinsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Google images of a gas station in Texas

In 2018 I worked for a gas station called, Zip In Zip Out. I was hired to keep the whole property clean. This meant that I did not only clean the inside of the gas station, I also went outside a lot to make sure it was clean as well. One day I noticed a person laying down on the side of the building by the dumpster. She was wearing thick sweatpants, and a sweatshirt in the summer sun. I remember thinking to myself this is a bad neighborhood full of gangs, Mexican construction workers, and African American dope dealers. Where did this older looking Caucasian lady come from? As I continued to work that day inside of the building, I just so happen to see her came in to use the bathroom. She to me appeared to be severely dehydrated. As she was walking out the door to return to the box on the side of the building. I noticed that all the other employees were looking at her. This included the owners of the gas station who happened to be there at the time giving out paychecks for the week. I asked my boss if she wanted to donate something to eat and drink to the lady. She gave me a puzzled look, thought about it for a minute, and then brought me a chicken leg from behind the Krispy Krunchy Chicken counter. After that she told me I had her permission to get a bottle of water. I thanked my boss, and took the chicken and water outside. When I approached the lady, I greeted her politely, told her my name, asked what her name was, and handed her the stuff in my hand. Ms. Linda began to really talk to me. I told her that I really felt bad that this was all I could do for her right now because I was at work. I further explained that I would be getting off work in about three hours and at that time I would see what else I could do for her. As I continued to work I could not stop thinking, my thoughts eventually started to become judgmental. It bothered me that all my coworkers did not have a problem with talking about Ms. Linda, but none of them talked to her, or wanted to help her. My boss even had me tell Ms. Linda to leave the premises after she was finished eating and drinking. Just because she was worried that Ms. Linda would make the side of the building her new home, and be begging customers for money. In my mind I hated watching the people around me that day treating Ms. Linda as if she was less than human because she was homeless at the time. After all my boss and her husband owned five gas stations. They could afford to help Ms. Linda more than just a leg of chicken, and a bottle of water. So what if there gets to the point where more people in need start showing up for help. Help those you can and tell the others you will pray for them. Whatever you do at least treat them like humans.

Pictures I actually took myself

I finally got off of work and took Ms. Linda home with me. I said to her," If I could do anything for you that would actually make a difference in your life, what would that one thing be? It did not matter what it was just tell me. " Ms. Linda told me that she had a college degree, and was a school teacher in Fort Worth, Texas. She had been hit, robbed of her purse, and was left with nothing on the streets. We were in Houston at the time, and her one wish was to be back in Fort Worth where she could go to the school she previously worked at and get in contact with her friends that could help her. She could not remember anyone's phone number to call them, she needed to go see them in person. Plus she had a daughter who was probably looking for her. When we got out of the van to enter my house, my husband immediately gave me the look. My son's took quite a few steps back and spoke the words my husband's look meant. Mom, why do you keep bringing strangers home with you? What are you going to do for this one? I told my son's to call her Aunt Linda, they said hello and sat down on the couch where they could watch my every move. I asked Ms. Linda to have a seat at the dining room table and wait for me I would be right back. I returned with a toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, washcloth, a bar of soap, two outfits, some socks, and a backpack. which I then gave to Ms. Linda and told her she was welcomed to use the bathroom and freshen up before we leave. I then had the husband and children get ready to go with us. While they were all doing as I asked of them. I put a granola bar, some fruit, and bottles of water in the backpack I gave to Ms. Linda. Before I we realized it an hour had gone by.

I knew that my family was hungry and honestly so was I, so I took us all to Sam's Club for pizza.

Picture I took at Sam's Club in Houston, Texas

Everyone enjoyed the pizza, but they were all quiet and trying really hard not to stair at Ms. Linda or me. I still did not explain to anyone what I was going to do for Ms. Linda. We just got into the van and took a thirty five minute drive to downtown. I parked at the greyhound bus station and everyone followed me including Ms. Linda. I asked my children to take a picture of us together, then after purchasing her a one way ticket to Fort Worth, I walked her to the actual bus, gave her a hug, and told her that I would be praying for her. To this day the only thing I regret was not buying her a phone from Family Dollar to call me with, so that she could let me know if she was alright.

Ms. Linda an I at the Greyhound Bus station in Houston, Texas taken by my son's.

Just because a person is homeless do not assume the worst of them. You never know what all they have been through, nor do you know if you will ever have to experience it yourself personally.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Greer Collins

Newbie to writing, yet enjoying every minute of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.