Humans logo

Interview with Georgia O'Keeffe. (Or regarding art).

From Richard Wilcox´s journal.

By Richard WilcoxPublished 3 years ago 6 min read

Interview with Georgia O'Keeffe. (Or regarding art).

The authenticity of various characters, could be, what most attracts my attention, so joyful beings that the circumstances that lead their existence provoke curious thoughts and incredible ideas; from geniuses, scientists, artists of various kinds, perhaps teachers or even uneducated beings. For this reason, I have decided to venture to the state of New Mexico, and thus, visit a famous artist who has more than caught my attention, the aforementioned person is the celebrated Georgia O'Keeffe, whom maintains a warm home in a small town called "Abiquiú". I should comment that the proportions and figures of such a place have an incomparable beauty, differentiating the banality and frivolity of the neighboring cities, as if such mountains surpassed the artificial constructions with a magnificent factor of natural bestiality. Last week, I questioned the mentioned character on the phone to find out if it would be appropriate for me to pay her a visit, although this idea was not a problem due to the warmth of this person's personality, however, I could see that her enthusiasm was not strictly aimed at the excitement of the event.

I must apologize, I would talk regarding the peculiarity of the road, but my attention was devoured by the impressive landscapes that surround the place, sometime later, I knew that we had arrived when my driver called my name multiple times. The differences between my home and the "dry" beauty that surrounded her house were clear, the scenery was more interesting due to the dancing balance between dry and lively nature. As I got out of the car, I ordered my driver to go back to the village and to come back in a couple of hours when I assumed the visit would be over, therefore, I hurried to the artist's door and pressed the bell. Here I share my experience:

Mr. Blake, it is a great pleasure to meet you; I must tell you that I found it highly curious that you wanted to meet me, I hope to be able to satisfy your curiosity. In the same way, in the hope of understanding you better, I spent some time analyzing or visiting your work, and it seems that you quite enjoy meeting people with unique qualities. Come inside. Make yourself comfortable. -Miss O'Keeffe.

I appreciate your warmth, in the same way, it is a pleasure to meet you. I hope you enjoyed browsing my work. -Mr. Blake

I proceeded to sit in a comfortable chair located to the right of a large window that provided magnificent views of the surrounding landscapes, therefore, the artist stood a couple of meters above me, thus sitting, in a corner of said window. Later, was spoken like this...

Tell me, Mr. Blake. What is it that calls you so much about my work? - Miss O'Keeffe.

That is precisely the reason for my visit. I can see part of your vision in your work, nevertheless I sense that information is missing. Madame, what motivates you? What is it that calls to your soul when it comes to putting your vision of the world on paper? -Mr. Blake.

Look out the window, Mr. Blake. The figurative includes great beauty in the tones that surround nature, such a fact goes beyond human belle. I wonder, if my eyes are the only ones that perceive such environments the way I do, after all, you must ask yourself, isn't the sunset that appears every day without fail at 5 in the afternoon beautiful? Or maybe the act of falling from a small petal succumbing to gravity, probably the grandeur of a mountain, honestly, Mr. Blake, I couldn't answer such a question in short sentences, therefore I wish you had the ability to see what my eyes share with me, in that way my ideals would be understood easier. -Miss O'Keeffe.

Her nature was lived, likewise, her language was acknowledged with great eloquence and I could perceive a huge manifestation of interest towards her environment. Afterwards, she continued...

But it is not enough, it is not simply the grandeur of nature that my art wishes to communicate, after all, a simple visit to such endless joy does not cover what is necessary to fully understand the importance of what lies in our surroundings... -Miss O'Keeffe.

What would that be, then? The missing factor necessary in such complexity. - Mr. Blake. I asked.

The simplicity. It is essential to accurately take the primary components of our surroundings, in order to put them on paper and share the main teaching of the essential characteristics of the meaning of nature. A special emphasis must be made that is followed by the simplistic selection and elimination of the elements belonging to the existing. Therefore, I must tell you, Mr. Blake. The works that you observe, of semi-figurative qualities, do not define to an absolute degree the perception that I have directed towards our environment, but the necessary destruction of the ingredients that understand the true meaning of natural observation. Thus, you can glimpse the true beauty of mother earth. For this reason, I have made the decision to live in this place... -Miss O´Keeffe.

The surrounding mountains, the composition of the beautiful plants and the very natural definition of the non-human inhabitants of this place, amaze me. They allow me to observe with severe reality in my eyes the very meaning of things through the agile simplification of existence, they seem to me, in fact, matters of greater interest than humans themselves. You must imagine, Mr. Blake, you need to observe the images in your mind of the landscapes that I have glimpsed, like the changing sunlight striking the desert and the mountains in a beautiful way, like an unimaginable and discreet dance. But make no mistake, my wishes are based on our own realization and understanding of our environment, certainly keeping one foot out of the confusion of the possible interpretation of the elucidation of the living. -Miss O'Keeffe.

Her speech was of interesting proportions, which, accompanied by the curiosities of her home, demonstrated the brilliance of this particular being. Allowing me to see a magnificent organization between her artistic tools, or the clear clues of the adoption of a daily routine where her own passion was involved. Hence, I asked.

Despite the brilliant ideas that seem to be hidden in your works, it seems to me that there are critics or voices of other artists who seem to reject your ideas, or more than anything else, your work. What do you think about that? -Mr. Blake

The singular idea of the need for fame, as well as the acceptance of the public and fellow artists, seems to me certainly irrelevant. The passion generated by art should have a unique signature, a thickness and depth in the principles that each drop of paint houses, therefore, I must tell you that they do not bother me in the least, without needing to mention that they do not cause interest in my person. Art is an impressive craft, however, more than a craft it is the unique revelation of the thoughts hidden in the artists' own perception of what we commonly call reality, therefore, it is full of authenticity, based on the unique painter´s personality and is not limited to the critical opinions. The art of a person may not be showy in the eyes of others, but the opinion that should have more weight regarding the work, is the artist's own, even if the work does not cause great pleasure in his/her person! The man or woman should be proud and admire the completed works, even if in the process of creation there is a curious desire to abandon them; It will become important that such a wish does not come true, after all, common or infrequent errors within the artist's soul, later, will be considered a fundamental point in future creations, thus leading to the acquisition of knowledge, it is part of the creative process. -Miss O'Keeffe.

Also, I would like to talk to you regarding ... -Miss O'Keeffe

By some misfortune, the device that I usually use to record my interviews failed at a crucial point that could have helped to understand her, however, I acquired, as far as I could, the essence of her character and, therefore, I shared with you what I considered important. After her speech, I continued to say goodbye in a warm way, promising that I would contact her as soon as I had the manuscript concerning the interview.

It is necessary to comment, that the ideals of such a person are certainly impressive, in fact, I am sure that at some point in the future she will be visited by historians whom will make sure to keep her story unforgettable.

art

About the Creator

Richard Wilcox

I attempt to pursue the joys of the art of writing, as the before-said represents one of my true passions. The imagination that surrounds the nature of the unexistant often amazes me, hence, giving me the ability to put in words the unreal.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RWWritten by Richard Wilcox

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.