Humans logo

In The Pockets Of the City

Exploring my surroundings

By Juliette McCoy RiittersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

One of my favorite hobbies is, perhaps, a wee bit dangerous at times. On any given day (if it is not raining), I am probably wandering around Minneapolis looking for oddities to photograph. I am somewhat hampered by the fact that I do not have a car, but the Metro City Transit system helps out quite a lot, barring the occasional hiccup of getting lost. Scratch that. By now I am used to getting lost; I have learned to simply cross the street and catch a bus returning in the same direction I have just come from.

I recently moved into a new area of the city, so as yet I still have many curious things to click away at. I am a transplant to Minneapolis, so what I think is new and offbeat will probably not be quite so noteworthy to those who have lived here their whole lives. At first I spent quite a bit of time looking at old buildings and homes, imagining myself living in the different settings. I loved this venerable hold-out against the city's encroaching modernity.

I've seen countless dwellings that made me yearn to pack up and move in, but out of every home I've seen, this is the one that won my heart. I feel like there should be a sign outside that says, "Hobbits welcome."

Another theme that I enjoy spying out is the hidden gardens or flowers set in unexpected places around the city. I love walking down the sidewalk, concrete holding me captive on every side, and then glimpsing these gorgeous gems flourishing next to a parking lot:

And sometimes I am taken by surprise by suddenly coming upon adorable little friends whiling away their afternoon in a park.

In a deserted alleyway, I suddenly become Alice in Wonderland, and wish for a nearby cup that says, "Drink Me!"

Or on a sunny day I may take refuge in the as-yet unfilled pool in Peavey Park with its geometric M. C. Escher characteristics.

Elsewhere in the park I am introduced to a sweet little wounded bird. A stranger and I sat with it until it was able to flit away to be with his own kind once again.

One day I went for a walk and found the Mississippi river where I did not at all expect it to be! I enjoyed walking along the boardwalk in the cooling breeze.

A few weeks ago I just happened to walk around the block from my church, on my way to nowhere in particular, and lo and behold! A little grove of trees~with my friend St. Francis looking after the little birds that hopped around at his feet.

Nearby was an intricately fashioned water fountain, which I would have loved to take home with me.

After a long, hot walk, one afternoon I wandered through the courtyard behind my apartment building and headed up the back stairs. I love the old-fashioned atmosphere in the stairwell; it makes me reminisce about my grandparents and relatives long past. I brings a kind of calm over me.

Reaching the landing, I nip over and find that someone forgot to lock the balconey door! Of course I must step outside and record the view I see each day.

Then, finally reaching my little home, I look out over the lovely courtyard below, and take a picture to capture the scene outside my window that welcomes me home.

I have many places that I plan to investigate in the months ahead. It is exciting to wake up in the morning hoping I will find another magical little spot to add to my collection.

photography
1

About the Creator

Juliette McCoy Riitters

I am curious. I am unfamiliar with boundaries. The combination has led to an eventful life, and I am looking forward to what lies before me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.