Humans logo

In the Name of Love

Her power is great...

By Michael OnstottPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo courtesy of KissPNG

I wrote this because the world could use more love. I wrote this in support of those in the LGBTQ+ community, including some of my family members.

She stands at the top of a crisscrossing stairway, that lies straight for the last bit. Countless stood before me, and countless will stand after, all to see... her. Her, the one that everyone at some point has done, said, thought something in her name. People have thought fondly of others in her name. They poured their hearts out about how they really felt about each other in her name. They have done things for each other, to each other in her name.

I now stand one person away from her. I can smell her from here. I can't hear her, for some reason, but I already know what I'll do when I face her. I will draw my proverbial sword, raise my shield, steel myself, prepare for her onslaught, whatever it may be. I want to tell her off. People think so highly of her despite knowing the dark side of her.

Yes, people make declarations in her name, they propose in her name, they marry in her name, they embrace, hold, procreate, sing, shout, laugh, clap in the name of love, but they do more than that in her name. They—. They steal in her name, they scream in her name, they lie, stop, die, reject, jog, kill in the name of love. People know all this about love and they still choose to believe in her goodness. My beloved—she chose to give love another shot.

She gave it another chance and look where it got her. Her family basically disowned her for being in love with me. They took one look at me, and turned their backs on her for choosing to love me, for being who she is and becoming who she was meant to be. In the name of love she declared who she wasm and who she loved and they shunned her... in the name of love.

The person in front of me got up from their knees after breaking down. Spilling declarations of love, confessing the bad they've done in the name of love, exclaiming the good they've done in her name. Not me. I will not declare, confess, exclaim in the name of love. No more. Love. A shelter from the storm, a prison you can't escape because you don't want to, an unrelenting yin and yang that holds up a mirror to yourself and asks you what do you see. No more. I will take that mirror and break it over Love's head before she can utter a word.

I walk up to Love, she currently faces the latest victim she claimed, and I prepare myself. I want to let her have it. I wait for the moment she turns to face me, before I berate her, pelt her with my words, now so angry and hot with rage that they are now knives ready to cut her 1,000 times and 1,000 times again. She turns and I watch as her head turns, her hair flips, and a light behind her head shines. And that's when I catch a good look at her. Beautiful, like an angel. Regardless, I steady myself.

Then she speaks, "What brings you here, my child?"

Her hands reach out to hold mine... and I fall silent. My face cracks a smile and the smile grows. I begin to make my declarations, confess all my confessions of love, exclaim all the good I've done in her name. I became overwhelmed with... love. I cried tears of joy.

I wished for happiness for those who loved unconditionally, as my beloved and I do. I even wished it for those like her family, who didn't accept her. Love makes us do things that we are both proud of and some that we are not. Love takes us to the lows and the highs. Because love is, for the most part, good. Because good defeats evil. Because love is love, no matter the circumstances. Because... in the end... love wins. Love always wins.

love
Like

About the Creator

Michael Onstott

I hope my writing makes your day a little better. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.