Humans logo

In Between

_

By Sunshine EwbankPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
In Between
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

You know what is better than driving home with the radio blaring and the window down? Not very much. At least for some of us.

Music just has some magic over us that consumes us completely. Empowers us with the creative drive and force to move forward emotionally. Whether it be relieving a heartache and letting go with the girls at karaoke night. Or bellowing out that guilty pleasure as it rolls through on Spotify. Whatever your flavor of magic, we know it works and it remains our consistent go to for therapy or relaxation. What we tend to forget, is that music is our greatest creation for communication. We rely heavy on it to ease ourselves. A trend I noticed recently was Spotify's 2020 Top 100, which they allowed for all of us to share and subscribe to our friend's Top lists. Wow.

I LOVED seeing how popular this was!!! The diversity of everyone's playlist I had the honor to be privy to was exhilarating! Our playlists reveal so much about us. The strong influences in our lives, the trends we are following and where our general head-space is at. My playlist was heavily influenced by coming back into contact with a really amazing friend of mine. Over 50% of my playlist was influenced by this friend's own music tastes. My one year was summed up in just a few short months. Listening to my playlist now, you can see where those influences lie, and just what the direction is attempting to show me. Our perspectives are heavily dictated by outside influences, and they come in from all directions at once.

I have been getting lost in my music, letting it do more than just play while I scream at the windshield; I get lost in it. I let the emotions and the music resonate with me on a deep level. Til' my forehead itches real hard and the music feels as if from me.

I have had many a revelation that I have already known, but had been pushing away. I have relieved heartache, and let go of the burdens of the past that I have placed upon myself. I let myself grieve over what I had lost (even if briefly, some timings are just perfect). I reconnected with a few different pieces of myself I had hidden away for "safe-keeping". Know those good old thoughts? "What sounds good right now, is hopping on flight to Canada one way and just crushing it on a business venture. Make it or break it." We dash these thoughts quickly, there is always an excuse. Oh but so-and-so won't have this. Or those pieces of our personality that society doesn't agree with. I am a gypsy soul. And damned proud of it. My light is all encompassing and eternal. I move through the world touching hearts and leaving marks. I try to retain my do unto others mentality, and I always strive to make decisions based out of love. My gypsy nature means nothing is going to tie me down, which often reflects negatively on some people. Heartache, longing and regret are things I can add to my list of conjurations. My world is a fleeting vision of adventure and well, life. I have pushed that down and neglected that Core Island. Oh but that Core comes thriving and popping when certain songs come on!

Remember in Inside Out when Goofball Island lit up and started going crazy 🤪 and that inner child in you, your very own Goofball Island started bumping for a minute and you smiled as those old memories of goofy antics assaulted you? Remember then immediately after that smile how you questioned why you don't do that anymore? What was the answer to that question? Well, your next response was the answer. 50% will immediately start tickling or teasing the nearest person, and the other 50% bash those thoughts excuses as to why they can't do it. I have for a long while forsaken certain Core Islands. My Gypsy Island has long since been disappointed with me for not experiencing. Choosing to lock myself down for the sake of societal requirements. My Secrets Island got a revamp recently too! The acceptance of my past actions, and the darker side of my own nature let's me relish in those songs of petty revenge, those hidden guilty pleasures (if you pay attention, I will feature one on my main page at some point in the near future). Anybody who routinely talks to me knows that one of my favorite emojis to use is the sly face. I do wish this current keyboard had it to show you all, but I will relish in the knowledge that I know and you can guess.

I want you all to set a goal this week. I want you all to listen, and I mean LISTEN, to your jam out sessions. What Islands are you activating? Which songs push you to feel the hardest? Which songs get you so lost you feel empty when they end? What does this show you? If you don't know, you are more than welcome to ask! I am always pleased to assist in any breakthroughs and journey you may partake on. My love is vast and endless for all of you and once again, I am signing off. Thank you for listening to the ramblings of an eternal Star. May you all move forward in love and light.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Sunshine Ewbank

Hello! My name is Sunshine and I am here to live my life one beautiful day at a time! I live to inspire and help others to become and live to the very best of their potentials!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.