Humans logo

IMPORTANT FINDINGS

Personal letter and memoir.

By luzPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

For so long i thought that being in a relationship would bring me happiness . I would often be saddened to see my friends and other acquaintances "boo'd" up whilst I would be single or in an never ending entanglement with a stranger I met on instagram, the rants would begin, the indirect posts and stories about how much I missed you or how much you hurt me, a never ending toxic and depressive cycle. Feelings of insecurity came crippling my mind , I often questioned my appearence, if I'm being honest I have always been tall, with a fluctuating weight, my skin has never been exactly smoot, and for the most part I am an average looking gal, which adds to the thoughts of worthlessness. I had an inconsistent ideal of what a good partner looked like, in the back of my mind it always had to start with the physical. I had a "type" or so I thought. I held pride over what I liked, constantly telling myself that anything else that didnt fit the requirements would not be allowed, boy was I surprised. I tried dating women , here and there which I confess isnt a bad thing nor do I regret any of it, however I can with all honesty confess that I felt completely out of place, as if part of me was trying so hard to enjoy it. I realized pretty quickly that I had not been on my own , I am always involved with someone or catching feelings it seems, I wonder now if the pressure of being in a relationship created the fear of loneliness or if my libido was just needing stimulation. I always craved companionship, attention, and admiration, never did I truly get it at a full extent, it was always half assed on both parties. After this last entanglement, fling, situationship, whatever you want to call it , I came to the realization that I have never fully discovered myself in depth. Even in my singleness I would engage sexually , which is infact draining of itself, having to fulfil your needs with the needs of another began to tire me wholesomely. Often it would take me into a spiral of regret and shame, but that was the demon of insecurity trying to shame me and make me feel bad. I soon accepted that what I greatly needed was to find myself again, yes very cliche but also very accurate. Self-care and Self-love became my new entanglements. They became what I needed and desired, my comrades in the night when I craved a midnight sext or wanted to call up my "usua" for a quickie. It has been a real challange to be real with myself, I can be hardheaded and lead myself straight to self-sabbotage , for almost a year I believed that I deserved mistreatment, actually accepting it , I was complacent with buying someones love because at least I wasn't lonely right? Yes very pathetic indeed, I rushed love and forced it, I saw my life flash before my eyes and saw myself continuing this cycle way into my 30's. Something in me snapped, almost instatnly after finding out my "friends" betrayal. I realized that I needed to get back to the journey I paused , the train I left before reaching my destination for a little fun. I ended what we had , officially I may add, it hurt so bad, I cried, tried killing myself, but i grew the cojones to say enough is enough Luz. I accepted that no matter how hard I tried he would never be loyal or truthful, he had issues all on his own that I would have never been able to fix, he would continue to believe he was the best option, he would always call me a whore and I would only be an atm for his financial needs and struggles which were always unfortunately. I wont lie and say that I have forgotten him, that I have moved on, no one will trully understand the hurt , the self loathing and the self mutalation. My physical scars were covered, I did it because i wanted to start somewhere, to not have a physical reminder of the pain he caused, I changed my room because the tears, the many drunken nights, the constant cutting were surrounded in the walls of my old room , I had dumped my sadness and anxiety into my room, I never trully felt at peace, I would be reminded , he was a ghost in my room even though he never entered my home. I made the choice to start over with everything. I think i am doing great, even though there are a couple things that I am still working on building a more firm economical founndation. Still working on myself constantly even though sometimes it feels like I should be giving up, but I have discovered that the part of me that wants to give up and seek him again is part of him , part of the darkness that he conjured unto me. I am step by step killing it , slowly. You may never read this, we never dated although I wanted to , maybe you didn't like me the way I was, I understand that but what I will never understand will be why you continued to pursue, why didn't you set me free when you knew in your heart that someone else dwelled in it. I am slowly forgiving you, but not for you, not for your well being, nor that you will have a clean mind , I am doing it for the sake of my sanity, my health, my self love.. I have lost myself over and over again in people. I constantly grip tight so they dont leave me, I go above and beyond for everyone except me. I learn how easily I love and put others first but forget to grab some oxygen for myself, I killed my self everyday, every waking moment to see you happy and that was never enough, the thousands of dollars I invested in your dreams were never enough because you still lied, you betrayed my trust, you treated me like the slimiest trash and for a whole year and 6 months I believed it. I had faith that maybe I could help you , help you be the best version of yourself, help you through your addiction but now I understand I deserve more then what you bargained for. I loved you, I confess and perhaps still do, actually I will always love you, silly of me to think I could forget you, there wont be anyone to replace the love, but I have burned the memories, I am slowly moving on and I am finally believing and accepting that I am worth so much, my God I am worthy of love, of true happiness, of truth. I wont thank you, I will simply say that you were a lesson well learnt. You taught me to love myself again. I learned much more then you think, I hope you enjoyed the good life I gave you, but you know no ones love will compare.

Sincerely, Luz.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.