Humans logo

Identity:

Chang, Gay, and Nguyen

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Identity:
Photo by Iulia Mihailov on Unsplash

"Opposing Us, the Self, and Them, the Other, is to choose a criterion that allows humanity to be divided into two groups: one that embodies the norm and whose identity is valued, and another that is defined by its faults, devalued, and susceptible to discrimination.”

This quote from Jean-Francois Staszak’s work embodies the ideas shared by Jeff Chang, Ross Gay, and Viet Thanh Nguyen and the identity of self. Each has confronted what it means to be “the other” and how mixed heritage becomes the catalyst for discrimination.

In his work We Gon’ Be Alright, Jeff Chang writes about his Asian American identity, discrimination, and his own activism. As an Asian American, he has approached the Asian American community, asking that they advocate for their own personal rights as well as for global justice and equity across all cultures and backgrounds.

Ross Gay is an African American poet who has faced the realities of racism and social injustices. This reality has become a central theme of his life and identity. Gay takes these themes and writes about them in his poetry. His poem Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude found in his book of the same name addresses friendship.

In the interview, "On Writing, Memory, and Identity," Viet Thang Nguyen discusses how memory is a way to confront the traumatic past. He addresses the issues of war, the refugee experience, and memory in his writing. Included in this discussion is the issue concerning his own identity; claiming that his hybrid identity is closely linked with his ethnic background, the refugee experience, and social relationship.

In On Powerful Memory, Viet Thanh Nguyen poses a question about the visits to Asian war sites and the visits to German war sites: "Was it because this history seemed closer to me, in time, in history, and in culture?" I have often wondered if my own personal experiences are affected by proximity in time, history, and culture. I recall visiting several memorials located in Washington. There was a sense of solemnity throughout. However, there were only two locations that impacted me. The first was the Vietnam Veterans Memorial - the names on this wall overwhelmed me and my daughter to tears. The other was the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. I have a personal connection to this history. I have family members that have fought and died. I also have family members that have been declared missing in action/presumed dead.

As I was reading "A Report from Occupied Territory," I stopped briefly and wrote the following in my notes:

I feel like this country has not learned from history and the consequences of racial hatred. As individuals, we expect to be treated with respect. Yet it seems many feel that this respect is only reserved for a select few.

As a youth, I was not exposed to violence as described in Baldwin's essay and was left in shock the first time I became aware that this kind of injustice existed in a country that claimed freedom for all. The shock and wonder I felt regarding United States history have not waned in recent years. I returned to college to complete my degree in the Spring of 2018 and one of the courses I enrolled in was U.S. History. As we discussed the slavery of Africans, Mexicans, and Native Americans I was both ashamed and appalled. I spent hours considering the assault on human beings and found myself discouraged by human beings. I discovered that the infringements on personal liberties were not only hidden during my youth; but that there are many who continue to try to hide history or to pretend it never happened today. I was not surprised when I came across the following passage in Baldwin's essay: "Where is the civilization and where, indeed, is the morality which can afford to destroy so many?" For me, any injustice is wrong. Where Baldwin's ancestry includes that of slaves, mine includes that of Jews. The atrocities of slavery and those of the holocaust are points of fact and cannot and should not be hidden; nor should they be erased from history. We must learn our history; understand it, and learn from it.

One of the other passages that resonated with me was "The law is meant to be my servant and not my master, still less my torturer and my murder." In the debate between Baldwin and Buckley, I made note of the tone in which both men addressed The House. I was impressed with Baldwin's eloquence and demeanor and was deeply put off by Buckley's condescension. I actually had to turn off the video 3 minutes into Buckley speaking. He may have had valid points - I was less inclined to hear them because of his manner.

I am old enough that I have seen changes and progress. Yet, we still have a long way to go as a nation - as demonstrated in the past couple of years. Hatred and violence are not the way to unite as a nation. When we say that we are proud to be Americans, what does that mean when we fight amongst ourselves? We should be ashamed of our behavior. We should be accepting of others and their differences. In fact, we should appreciate what makes us different and celebrate it. After all, we are human beings regardless of where we have come from and what our lineage might be.

References:

From the Abstract of Other/otherness by Jean-Francois Staszak published in the International Encyclopedia of Human Geography, 2008, Elsevier https://www.unige.ch/sciences-societe/geo/files/3214/4464/7634/OtherOtherness.pdf

ON WRITING, MEMORY AND IDENTITY: AN INTERVIEW WITH VIET THANH NGUYEN, Longyan Zhang interviews Viet Thanh Nguyen about war, the ethnics of memory, and identity for Consequence Magazine. https://vietnguyen.info/2020/on-writing-memory-and-identity-an-interview-with-viet-thanh-nguyen

humanity
1

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.