Humans logo

"I Think" versus "I Am"

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
2

So, what rabbit hole is Julie going down today? I am going to address the dangers of those two words “I think” followed by a personal opinion.

Quite simply, the words “I think” are ego-driven. And here’s why.

I see this all the time, especially in spiritually based conversations. People will puff themselves all up in an attempt to have an intelligent and relevant discourse, and the first words out of their mouths, are “I think” which is an anathema to true knowledge and is really nothing more than a profound manifestation of ego. They are really saying, “My thoughts,” “My ideas," and “My interpretation” are more important than yours, hence “I think” and they immediately close their minds. When you state those two little words, you effectively and completely close off your mind and soul to any other ideas or thoughts because your pride and ego are convinced you are right. “I think” is radically opposed to the sacred goal of all of us which is to recognize and live the life of “I am.”

Words are very powerful, and they have the ability to manifest in ways that can be very detrimental to our growth and ascension.

We must always remember that ALL knowledge is sent from Source and how we interpret that knowledge can be a real challenge and is frequently a test of our spiritual readiness. It is very easy to run this Source sent knowledge through our human brain, interpret ourselves as creating this knowledge, and make self-righteous pronouncements such as “I think.” Atheists are very good at this. But in the eyes of Source, your opinion is meaningless because it is all about you, and not about “I am” which is universal love, and what we should be striving toward.

I have a friend who I care about deeply, and he is very strongly and academically immersed in Buddhism (or I should say, his interpretation of Buddhism). He is also extremely intelligent. However, whenever we have a conversation and he doesn’t agree with what I have expressed or said, he goes into ego mode and states, “Well, I THINK….” With no backup of resources, citations or reasonable argument as to where he came up with his opinion. I am supposed to immediately agree with him, because HE THINKS it. It is simply “I think” and I should bow down to his “opinion”. And then he goes on to state an opinion as if his opinion is all that matters. He closes his mind completely to any different interpretation because that is how HE HAS interpreted the teachings of Buddha.

Source speaks to us all in many different ways, and listening to other interpretations is vital to spiritual growth. Source speaks to some through angels, some through Christ, some through their inner voice - the ways are myriad. Source is so extremely powerful… There is not just one way. And in all fairness, I personally have to be careful when talking to him to not let myself get triggered and to always try understand his point of view. You cannot have discourse with this man because his opinion, his “I think” mechanism is very strongly engrained in him due to decades of people accepting his word as truth due to his high intelligence and success in the workplace. But it really is nothing more than arrogance and ego.

The ego hides behind the “I” and “me” in declarative thoughts and statements about our identity, and the words “I think” are statements reflecting our self-identity. They are not truth. Opinions are not truth. And when we have such thoughts and agree with even the slightest conviction that our ideas and opinions define us, we build or reinforce the most dangerous part of our egos.

That said again, opinions are quite simply ego-driven and extremely low vibrational methods of communication. And we frequently state “opinions” by prefacing them with the words, “I think.” We formulate them to make ourselves feel better about our own insecurities and to lord our perceived superiority over others. That is all an opinion is. Source is truth. Opinions are ego-driven human misinterpretations of truth.

I am not saying that we are not supposed to receive information, and analyze and form interpretations of that information, but when you take the information, analyze with your ego and then pronounce your opinion as truth, even if it is simply "your truth" that is ego. And we all know ego must be put aside in the interest of ascension and growth, followed by surrender and faith.

When you find yourself thinking “I think” you should step back, analyze what your “opinion” is, how you came to that opinion, and open your mind to think, “maybe, just maybe” that is not what Source intends. When the egoistic urge to opine comes over us, we need to step back, and ask our higher self what the true message is. Your higher self can be your God consciousness, your spirit guides, your angel, whatever mode you chose to identify them as. But to immediately dismiss an alternative viewpoint through personal opinion is extremely low vibrational and does not resonate with any true spiritual teachings. “I think” is not discourse, it is ego.

Disclaimer: I am fully aware of the conundrum of this article. In effect, this is my interpretation of Source knowledge which I have processed through my human mind thus making it my “opinion.” However, I am aware that this is simply my opinion. Being open to the idea that this is my ego speaking and recognizing it also enables me to learn and listen to others. Stop saying “I think” and focus on accepting other viewpoints. Source does not make growth easy.

Julie O'Hara 2023

advice
2

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Wonderfully written & sage advice!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.