Humans logo

I Miss My Ex

I never wanted to break up with him.

By Brittany FromlathPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Heartbreak Hurts

Pools of blood are forming on my bed and I can’t make it stop. He’s leaning over me with a wide grin on his face, his hands stained red, a scalpel in one hand and a hammer in the other. He’s already pulverized the bones in my legs so I can’t run, and now he’s moving on to what he really came for. I let out a piercing scream as he slices open my chest, but every noise I make is being drowned out by the music he is blasting from my Amazon Echo. I yell your name, but I know you won’t come. You won’t come because I messed it all up, like I usually do. And you finally gave up on me. I successfully pushed you away, and now I’m dying. He slams the hammer against my ribs and shatters them, sending me into unconsciousness.

I giggled and kissed you after I beat you at Gun Game.

“Sorry, Babe. I’m just too good.” I put my controller down, do a little dance, and gasp as you pull me down onto your lap.

“Yeah, yeah, sure. You’re crazy,” you say, while chuckling. I smile because your laugh always makes me happy. You switch to Fortnite on my Xbox and I watch your expression turn into one of focus. I love you so much that it never matters what we’re doing, because just being in the same room as you makes me happy.

Suddenly, my bedroom fades away and I’m sitting in my bathroom, crying. I watch the texts on my screen as I break up with you, and my heart falls apart all over again. I don’t want to do this. This is killing me. But I have to, because this is what you told Cristina that you wanted. You told her you didn’t love me anymore, so I have to let you go. I try to be as civil as possible, but I let my anger get to my head, and we end it by being upset at each other. The tears running down my cheeks are never ending, and no pain is worse than what I’m feeling in my chest. I walk to my room and pass out before I even reach my bed.

I gasp as ice cold water is poured on my face. I wince as the feeling in my body starts to return.

“Good. Now I can continue.” He snorts as he picks his scalpel up again. “This will only hurt a lot.” His face brightens as he starts cutting anything and everything in order to get to the one thing he desires. I go back to screaming and yelling your name hoping with every inch of my being that you will come and save me, but I know you don’t care anymore. He gasps and starts dancing. “There she is! Damn, she used to be so beautiful. I can’t believe I gave her to someone as stupid as you. Not to worry, I’ll give her to someone else, and that will be the lucky girl who marries the love of your life!” He chortles as his hands disappear back into my chest cavity. At this point my body is completely numb, and all I can do is watch as he pulls my heart out of my body. There’s a small yellow tattoo of an arrow on the front of my heart. His mark.

“Please, no! I’m begging you, give me another chance! I want to fix it, I want him back! Please!” I’m freezing and my vision is going black. I don’t have much time. He just starts laughing hysterically.

“HAH! I gave you your chance. You failed. Goodbye, Antoinette.” I’m slipping away now. I’ll be dead in a few seconds.

The only thing I have left to say is, “Screw you, Cupid.”

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Brittany Fromlath

Come join the broken hearts club.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.