Humans logo

I Might Be A Los Angeles 5 But I'm An Ohio 10.

By: Caroline Ricke

By caroline rickePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4

Being an Ohio Socialite, I was always fascinated with the superficial L.A. life.

Although I consider myself a little more down to earth, that’s why I have to take anti-gravity medication, duh, I was always keen on understanding the plastic culture.

Who wants to listen to a middle class 21-year-old talk about her average thrift finds when they could listen to a middle class 21-year-old talk about the horrible L.A. traffic?

Anyways, many people probably aren’t surprised that I would be moving to L.A. I swear, every time someone passes 1000 followers on any social media platform, they immediately think L.A. is calling their name. No sis, I think New Orleans, LA is calling your name.

Not everyone is cut out for the plastic life, some people are made for the farm life.

But hey I guess I am one of those girls.

Once my social media platforms started to attract more followers, I knew that I wanted to move to Los Angeles or New York for “more opportunities.” I love how everyone uses that phrase to justify paying 3 times more rent and to spending their days getting less work done because they are too busy meeting up with their “friends” at coffee shops.

To cut to the chase, last week I got an Instagram DM from a kid asking me to move into a McMansion (yuck) outside of LA with 8 other people. I maybe said one word to this kid in passing. What could go wrong? Apparently not much because I’m moving tomorrow morning.

My new neighborhood.

Well, I’m technically not moving because I will only be there for less than 2 months. The furthest I’ve ever lived is at college 2 hours away in a semi larger metropolitan city.

Telling my 58-year-old father that I’m moving(ish) across the country for the next 2(ish) months to live in a house with kids that also make socially awkward content was one of the most nerve wrecking experiences of my life. Yeah, I’m 21 but I still fear disappointing my parents because I am the black sheep of my family. Also, my dad got his first cell phone last year so I’m not even sure he even knows what social media is.

Me scared of being the family disapointment.

Don’t get me wrong, I love being a #girlboss and an “influencer.” I hate that word.

Please never refer to me as that. I use it solely in the context of making fun of people. Being creative or funny 100% of the time can be challenging. Maybe it was quarantine that made me lazy and not want to do anything but my brain is mush at this point. Even though I make obscure and comedic content, I feel like I can’t even form a joke anymore. Pathetic.

It’s not the online hate I get from people that makes me feel this way. I’ve never gotten a hate comment from someone I respect. Hate comments rarely affect me. They only really sting when I know deep down that what the person is saying is true. Or when I am running off 2 hours of sleep and am on the verge of a mental breakdown. But that doesn’t happen a lot because I haven’t played cross country since high school.

I am excited for "new opportunities." There I am using the phrase I hate the most. Maybe I will change. People can call me whatever they won’t, but they can never, and I mean NEVER, call me basic.

I don’t even know why I am going out there. To meet new people? Maybe. But also because I have no idea what I want to do with my life. In the next 5 years I could be the star of a hit Disney kids show or I could be working a desk job at a mid-size paper company. I guess I will do whatever I can to achieve the latter.

xoxo,

social media
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.