Humans logo

I met my son at Subway

A homeless child who became my family

By Dios MacPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

I met a child living on the street today and I told him I loved him.

You can walk by countless people in your experience who would kill for what you have. You can have all the things they want and somehow still feel lack. We all want abundance, but never truly understand what a blessing it is to have. We all want sympathy, but never understand what it is to be without.

Stowe and I decided to walk most of this week. It was an amazing decision that started in a "broke" moment. It started with us trying to make sure we used every dollar we received wisely. We didn't expect to enjoy the walks as much as we did. We realized how much life and nature we missed when we traveled underground and decided to continue even after we received money. Oddly enough, when we received money we had no idea why. We had no idea why this money randomly came.

Isn't it odd when you truly find value in your life outside of money, money decides to bring its ass around.

On one of our walks we decided to bring food, water, and clothes. At the beginning of this journey, every single thing packed was something we appreciated greatly because we had been "without" for quite a while.

We began the walk from 145th street and literally loved every part of nature. The green of the trees to the movement of the animals around us. Everything had the exact filter to make the picture perfect.

As we walked by 125th street, we heard a voice call to us from in front of Subway.

That is an amazing necklace bro!

I turned to say thank you and saw the voice belonged to a young man sitting on the sidewalk. His being radiated positive energy towards me while his situation seemed to push me away. So many amazing people live in bad situations. We must be open to help others with the same energy we would like to be helped. I walked up to him and gave him a handshake and met him with the same love he sent me. I thanked him for noticing me, and asked him how he was doing.

I'm actually ok, but I just wanted to try and get some money together for a sandwich.

Stowe immediately told him to get up and go inside and get whatever sandwich he'd like. It's so funny how the money randomly happened upon us and we felt we didn't deserve it. Sometimes you are blessed with money in order to share that energy with someone who truly needs it. We thought we had so little prior to that moment, until we were blessed with the opportunity to give. We had the blessing of watching this young man smile as his situation became a little easier to deal with.

In Subway, we got to hear his story. We got to understand the situation that would cause a 17 year old boy with two living parents to end up alone. I do not wish to disclose his situation, but I will say; learning about it did teach us that the only way pure light can be tested is darkness. The most amazing and kind hearted people must go through trails and tribulations harder than most people experience because they are the only people who can handle it. We told him how amazing he was and how much we loved him for stopping us. We thought we had so little and got upset at our life and each other for what we believed we didn't have. We thanked him for teaching us that even when you are in a situation you don't want to be in, your positivity is your power. Spreading love over yourself and others is the most divine thing you can do in any situation.

This moment was meant for him, and it was meant for us. So many things he said he needed, we had. We gave him as much as we could in that moment because we appreciated his love and his strength in his situation.

We walked away from him and couldn't tell if the beautiful human in front of Subway was real. We knew for a fact that his impact on our life definitely was. We knew his parents did not appreciate the light they created, but we did. We are all children and parents in some form in our life. Like any person who needs guidance, we saw him as our family. I have never felt like more of a parent then looking at this young man in his eyes and telling him that no situation or experience can define him. Telling him about his power taught me about mine. Telling him how much he deserves love nourished love in my being. The only thing that separates this kid from my family is blood, and even that doesn't stop the love.

We continued our walk and realized how much the love matters. How much it means over all other things in this experience.

Stowe and I came across a crystal seller outside of a train stop who happened to sell rings. Up until that point, we had always known we wanted to be married. We had always known that eventually it would happen. We knew that money was the only thing that was stopping us from having the dream wedding and ring that we wanted.

Then we realized what really mattered was the love. The fact that we could wake up and smile every time we see the other is still there. The fact that without a ring, we knew this was it, for this lifetime, and the next. Legality means nothing to unconditional love. Ceremonies mean nothing to unconditional love. What is significant is the love. And after experiencing it and spreading it to someone who deserved it, we realized we can carry a sign of ours on our bodies forever. We will have ceremonies, we will have it on paper, but for now we have this undying love that means more than anything we have ever received.

I married my wife for the first time in front of a subway station, and I wouldn't change a thing.

Thank you for reading me. I love you.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Dios Mac

I am an artist of many expressions. I offer my understanding of myself, the world, and the human experience in my work. I hope what ever I express in my work finds you in the best of spirits and helps you along your journey. Love always.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.