Humans logo

I made 5 big mistakes and was forced out by the company I had worked for for 15 years.

Being sacked is something I never expected

By KurandaPublished 12 months ago 10 min read
Like
I made 5 big mistakes and was forced out by the company I had worked for for 15 years.
Photo by Emmanuel Ikwuegbu on Unsplash

The sacking was a humiliating event for me. Even though a few years have passed, it still makes me sad.

When I left then, I was sent off by my colleagues and I was in tears of resignation.

It was a company that I had worked for for 15 years and had deep feelings for.

Being sacked was something I never expected in any way.

When I first arrived at the company, I was just a warehouse clerk and usually helped out in the workshop when I had nothing else to do. At that time, I was a good employee who was willing to work.

The boss's wife took the initiative to give me two pay rises a year.

After working as a warehouse clerk for two years, I took up a part-time job as the manager of the punching board workshop. What people didn't expect was that a woman could manage a workshop and organize things in a good way.

The people in the factory were impressed by me and agreed that I was smart and capable. (Unfortunately, I was not pretty)

Then I got pregnant and resigned and went back home.

The following year my boss's wife called and asked me to come and work there with a salary increase of 500 yuan a month, and I was overjoyed to agree.

The company did not have a suitable position for me, so I was assigned to follow the orders, and when the management was off work, I took over, and I was in charge of a few general workers who kept track of the pieces.

I was also in charge of a few general workers who were keeping track of the pieces. I replaced one of the managers of the finished goods shop when she was fired.

I have a soft personality and no one else saw me as a good person, and the finished workshop was full of women who were very calculating and didn't want to suffer, so it was difficult to manage.

Workplace

I also had to arrange for three drivers to deliver the goods, plus those general workers, my workload was huge.

At that time the boss's wife said: "Don't worry, I will support you". Fortunately, I was lucky enough not to let her down.

I was a workshop manager for three years without any major problems, and the boss's wife was always available to me at that time. Because I was able to speak in front of the boss's wife, people naturally looked up to me.

The above is a description of the situation, and the following is an analysis of why I couldn't get on afterward. One thing I must stress is that I have never been complacent in front of others, nor do I snitch on others.

In other words, I was good to people. But why did this end so badly for me? A colleague once described my company in this way.

The water is shallow, the temple is small and the wind is strong.

1:Did not put me in the right position

I am just a small manager, above the manager, the factory manager. But I feel in my heart that they are just decorations. I always like to show myself in front of the boss's wife I do not mean to move up, I just like to be recognized for that sense of achievement.

But to others, it was abhorrent to the core.

It was fine when nothing was going on, but when something was going on, they fell on their sword.

There was a major quality incident in my workshop at the time, when the box was glued on the ink was scratched off and the white showed through. The company lost a total of 60,000 yuan when the boxes were made for over 100,000 and no one noticed.

There was a quality inspector in the factory, and a machinist who made the boxes, so it was reasonable to say that I was not responsible.

But these people kept pointing the finger at me, saying in front of the boss's wife that I was irresponsible in my work, that I didn't put any thought into it, and that I was only concerned with the children.

The leaders, who normally looked at me with disdain, pushed me out as a scapegoat.

My image was suddenly tarnished. And I was still feeling aggrieved, not noticing the change in the attitude of my boss's wife towards me.

2: Wrong position, not in the company's interest

I have always believed that management should fight for the interests of the employees, make their work easy and enjoyable, make the company more efficient and reduce costs.

I think it is the highest level of a manager to make the employees appreciate and trust him/herself. The people around you, think that management should be all about the company's interests, but all the things that have to be done for the benefit of the staff, can not get involved. It is wise to manage less.

That year, a new production line was added to the factory, which originally only did pen box packaging, but later did shoeboxes. Shoe boxes took up a lot of space, and pulling a cart would only deliver 2,000 at most.

But the boss's wife didn't want to recruit a driver, so the workload of the three drivers increased significantly and they were quite complaining.

Originally they were paid every month, but then they worked overtime every night and each person had to pay 60 yuan for a trip, so the three drivers needed 180 yuan for one night. The owner's wife felt that it was not cost-effective.

I wanted to let them keep track of the pieces, but after a while, the boss's wife still felt that the wages were too much and asked me to come up with a plan.

I then followed the production of several months at that time, combined to develop each month to send shoeboxes to three people together to subsidize 2,000 yuan, after overtime will not be paid.

The contract was up to the end of the year, and the boss's wife agreed at the time, and the drivers were also happy.

Dry a month at that time summer was a little busy, and too tiring, the drivers proposed to suspend the contract so that the boss woman again recruit drivers, but the boss woman did not agree. They said that the contract was agreed upon at the beginning, and they were willing to gamble to lose.

The drivers were busy for another month and thought that suddenly business faded down. The orders for shoe boxes were two-thirds less.

At this point, the boss's wife was upset and thought, "Aren't they getting my subsidized salary for nothing? This won't work, it has to be canceled.

The drivers naturally disagreed, and I also found it unreasonable.

At this point, the boss's wife blamed me for everything, saying that the plan I had drawn up was unreasonable and faulty and that I was speechless.

She also said that she had trusted me in the first place and had not looked at it carefully, which had led to this situation. I was also very aggrieved by this, and I was not happy on either side. The drivers went on strike and resigned. The boss's wife's attitude was to do it or leave it.

I was on the side of the drivers in this matter and the boss's wife was very critical of me. Plus those leaders fanning the flames, who were already upset just before over quality issues, started to resent me visibly this time.

3:Taking matters into my own hands, which is a big no-no

There are some small things I like to take my ideas, for example, some of the new products in the workshop price issues, I estimate to give, did not consult the boss's wife, has always been the case, several years she did not ask.

But this was a bad habit that I hadn't broken, knowing that I was in a dire situation.

One time she called me and told me why I didn't know about the price increase. Silly as I was, I didn't know how to respond and just kept quiet.

This made her feel much worse about me again.

4: The sense of loss of being unappreciated

After being lectured one after another, my mindset changed. The confident person I used to be suddenly become became first-floor vulnerable, always feeling that people were targeting me, instead of reflecting on why I had come to this point, instead of thinking about making amends and changing.

Then I saw that the boss's wife had recruited a new manager for the first floor workshop, who was very important to him and was also responsive to requests, and I was lost in my heart and somehow jealous.

Suddenly I had the desire to run away from the work I used to love and felt increasingly bored and uninspired. This seriously affects my motivation to work and my temper naturally changes, and I get annoyed when I can't say a few words.

5: Overestimating myself, which is stupid

Even though all the signs were against me, I still didn't think the worst of it.

I didn't even know that I was already a dispensable person in the boss's wife's mind, until that day when I was paid. The male manager of the first-floor workshop got 1,000 yuan more than I did. The nature of the work was similar, and I did no worse than he did, but he took the lead. This is not comfortable for anyone.

I asked the boss's wife: "Why is his salary so much higher than mine? She was no longer as gentle as she used to be with me. Instead, she said coldly, "You are a woman, he is a man, and you can't even pull a trailer."

I had worked for over ten years and she had never treated me like a woman, and at that time she used that as an excuse.

At that point, I blurted out, "Then find another manager, I'm out!" I came out in tears.

It hurt at the time, but afterward, I thought about my situation and how I was not ready to leave.

A few days later, she asked HR to confirm that I was quitting. If I didn't do it, I would have to recruit someone.

There was no half-meaning to stay, my heart was dead. There was no point in staying at this point.

That day the staff from my workshop came to my bedroom, and they all heard the rumor that I was going to be fired, although I tried to explain it was useless.

When it was time to leave, the boss's wife still had the same attitude, "I welcome you to continue working if you want to, I'm not firing you. Wasn't that like being forced to leave?

Luckily, I found a new job that day and left with dignity.

After I left, I deleted all my contacts at that company, leaving only a few close friends. It was not because of a job, it was because I had given years of my life to a relationship that had been abandoned, and I felt resentful.

It became a knot in my heart and I dreamed many times that my boss's wife asked me back to work, but of course, I wouldn't go. I just subconsciously felt that she should do it so that I could feel more comfortable.

I was to blame for all this, I understand. But I just couldn't accept it in my heart.

It's really good to leave, to change in response to the situation, and to maaand b akthrough.

If you stay in one place for a long time, you'll be afraid for your life. There's nothing to worry about, it's gold that will shine everywhere.

If you want to know how I'm doing, I won't tell you the secret.

how tovintageadvice
Like

About the Creator

Kuranda

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.