Humans logo

I'm your taxi

"Party Mode"

By Ephirium CrimleyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

I start my day with a small work out, about 30 minutes. Have coffee, shower, then get dress.... Usually, but to day is a little more special. Today I have the pleasure of being a host for a close friend of mine, it's his birthday and of course I volunteered to be his driver. It made sense, since we would have been hanging out together anyway. Actually, I was just returning a favor. He was the driver for my birthday simple as that, you might be thinking "now why would you want a driver just for your birthday?" And the answer is easy, so you can party as much as you want and not have to worry about how you getting home or how you ended up in someone else's house, and yes that has happened. I had loads to do this day, I still had to be to work and some make it to the bank. I'm looking to start my own business and my friend Jason came up with the ideal an great ideal for us to be Uber drivers.

It was about 1 in the afternoon when I took my break, when I received a call from Jason asking me to meet him at his cousin's house to which I had to remind him that I was at work and would not be getting off until much later in the evening; he said "Cool," than started on a new topic. We spoke for a few more minutes then I ended the call being that I didn't want to spend the rest of my break talking to him, especially since we are going to be chilling later anyway.

We meet up around 8:20 pm at Jason's cousin house; he pulls up in his car, me right behind him in my car. Jason got out of his car and started to approach mine at the same time signaling to me to stay in the car because of the load noises coming from inside the house. He goes in and disappears for a few minutes. While I waited I lite up one of my cigars (one of my secret pleasures in life) step out of my car and right as I'm getting out the door to the house flies open and two people come stumbling out. One female and the other a male, and right behind them my boy Jason carrying a third person. As he got closer to his car, he signals me again but this time it's to come to where he was. When I got close enough he said to me "Hey Eli, you want to make some money? Half of these guys are drunk and to go home. Obviously I can't drive everyone and it's like 9 people." He indicated with his fingers once freed from the load he was holding. He continued. "I guess they going to missed the party, now we got to play cabbies. Well, at least we making some money out of this. My cousin in there sauce and wanted us to bring them home. I think we can make like a $100 dollars apiece and then we can go to the bar after." The look on my face must of spoke volumes.. "What? It's like 8:45 pm; be done in like an hour, hour and a half tops. Then hit the bar around 11 pm, what you think?" He said, I guess he was a kind of annoyed too that he had to drive people home on his birthday, especially if they had their own car. But we realized to that we was getting paid for are services.

I replied, "Fine, we wasn't going to do much here anyway, but but chill so why not make a little bread on the side. Lets go now so we can get back and start the night, PARTY MODE ON!!!" He nodded than had the other two people that came out first go to my car, following I went back to my car as will to let the girl and the guy in. Once I got in I asked where they where heading.

It went fast, dropping off those people. We started off by taking the ones who lived further away first until the last ones, finally meeting back up with Jason at his cousin's house at 9:50 pm, an hour and five minutes later. We both pulled up around the same time again; I thought to myself, "Didn't we just do this?" We both exit our cars to head inside the house. Since we cleared majority of the people out of here it was less rowdy but you could have still feel the energy they left. As we enter the house you can still hear the music playing in the background while the few voices in the kitchen can be heard, the volume shifting from loud, to excited, to dramatic back to the drunken slur you get when you had quite a lot. As we make are way to where all the noise was coming from, there was three women sitting at a dinner table. They looked to be in way better shape than those other people Jason and I took home. One of the ladies was Jason's cousin, they heard us coming in, turned to be sure then turn back to a bottle on the table. "I know ya'll want a shot! Come on and take a shot! Happy birthday cozo! She said very animatedly. We partied for about another half hour, then start to get ready to head out.

Jason said, "See, if they were smart they would have started around the time we did. They would have been able to come out with us, now they at home kissing theirs toilets. Or if they knew they was going to drink so much have someone drive there car, that's what I'd do. Especially if it's your birthday." He paused, you could pretty much see the ideal forming in his face. Then he turned to me with an ostentatious look on his face..

"No.... No. We not going through this again let's just get to the bar."

satire
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.