Humans logo

I'm with the FBI

Why you shouldn't trust everything your date tells you

By Brooke HudsonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Of all the dating stories I tell, this one by far is the most absurd and unreal. When you're young, you do really dumb things sometimes. If I had to label the dumbest thing I've ever done. This whole story would be it.

I met him on a dating app, and we had an instant connection. I was 27, not too young but young enough and naive enough to believe what he told me. I think it was more that I wanted to believe him, and I didn't actually believe him.

We met, and the connection in person was just awesome. He told me that he was leaving town the next day and that we'd never see each other again. He also told me that he worked for the FBI, in cybercrimes. I had no way to disprove him or check his story. So, I went with it. He explained that he might be able to come back into town, but he just wasn't sure. I was naive, I really didn't have a lot of dating experiences at that point. You would think by 27 one would have a lot of them, but I was very shy around men. Especially when it came to dating, and I never knew if they were into me or not. So, this guy, we would text here and there. No big deal, and I never forgot what an amazing connection we had with each other. Well..... he called me up and told me he was coming into town. So, we hung out and had the best time. We went to dinner, walked around downtown, and then he had to fly home. I took him to the airport and he left. I didn't hear from him for a week, and then that's when he dropped the bombshell on me. He was married and was never going to leave his wife. I for one had NO idea he was married. Then, he finally confessed that he lied to me about his job, and he didn't work for the FBI. He had no internet footprint anywhere, so there was no way I could find him to check if he did work for the FBI. So, those two bombshells later. I told him he was a jerk and thought that would be the end of it. Well, as it turns out. It was not. He did travel for work and was in Denver Colorado when he was dumb and responded to a 13-year-old girl on a dating site. To me, this had police written ALL over it, and he was a dummy and responded! Even worse, he agreed to meet up with her to sleep with her. So, he calls me up and tells me what's going on. That his wife is finally leaving him, because of it. He can't see his kids, and he goes on and on about how devastated he is about the whole thing. I asked him "Why did you do it?" his answer? "I didn't know it was the police". So wait, he was comfortable sleeping with a 14-year-old? No way! I told him he'd better get an attorney ASAP, and it better be a good one. I told him he'd go to jail, and it might be better for him too. I wish more than anything that this ended right here, and I never saw him again. He lost his job, he lost his housing, and he needed help. Like a dummy, I helped him. I didn't have a lot, but I helped him. I bought a pizza for him when he didn't have any food. I sent him care packages, and even now. I'm not even sure why I did. The thing that finally ended it is that I realized. If he had to register as a sex offender, he would not be allowed around any of the kids in my family. He wouldn't be allowed around any kids at all. That didn't sit well with me, and then I analyzed everything about him and what happened in the time I knew him. The last thing time I talked to him, he called me to tell me he was hungry. Told me he couldn't find work anywhere, and that he couldn't leave his motel. He couldn't find a job, and he had to wear an ankle monitor. I told him that the only thing I could do was order another pizza for him, and then that was it. I couldn't help him anymore. I received a text from him later saying that he was given probation and that he had to still wear the ankle monitor. He was going to live with his Dad in Maine, and that I should marry him. It was just gross at that point to even think about being married to him. I realize that I have the best of intentions, but nothing should ever cloud my judgment again.

dating
2

About the Creator

Brooke Hudson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.