Humans logo

I'm Not Like Most Other Women

Or the things that make me wondrously me

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
I'm Not Like Most Other Women
Photo by Jordan Donaldson | @jordi.d on Unsplash

I always tell myself, almost convincingly, that I'm not quite like other girls. For the most part, I see myself as a somewhat peculiar, yet wondrously unique woman. Now that I think about it, all woman are unique in their own way. No, scratch that. Everyone is. 

That hasn't stopped me from feeling noticeably different from other females and others have noticed how different I am too. 

I Don't Wear Make up. At All. 

"You know, I've never even seen you wear make up." 

I'm just about the only woman in my family that does not wear make up. 

No mascara. No eye shadow. Not even simple eyeliner. Does lip balm count? 

You'd think I'd have some for influence to wear it. But no. 

I've worn make up for a very short time in my life. During my junior / senior year in high school and the first half of college. I even had a favorite go to color combination, neutral browns and purples. 

By Laura Chouette on Unsplash

And then I just stopped one day. It wasn't really me and after days turned into weeks without any makeup whatsoever, I didn't even miss it. In fact, I completely forgot about it. 

I don't have to spend an extra five to ten minutes getting ready for the day. That's not the best thing about it though. Not wearing make up has given me a sense of self confidence. I feel so free without it.

I've always felt that any make up worn should be used to enhance one's natural physical beauty, not to mask anything. 

Sometimes, as I pass through the makeup section of a store, I stop and glance over all of the different make ups and stare in fascination at the plethora of colors that exist. While I have none to very little desire to wear make up again, part of my creativity has somehow been ignited. I briefly imagine what colors would coincide together and in what ways I could wear it so that it was as unique as my personality. 

If I wore make up. 

I Don't Carry a Purse

I don't think I have ever carried a purse in my life. Not even for a short period of time. Like with make up, I am the only female in my family that doesn't own or carry a purse. 

It's just not me. I prefer my knapsacks. I can place more things into one than I could a purse. Unless I'd get one of those oversized purses where you can probably sit a small Pomeranian comfortably in. Except that is so not me!

I admit. There have been numerous purses that I found attractive. I recently saw a small dark purple one that made me do a double take and smile. That being said, I'm sticking to my reliable knapsacks. Maybe I'll be on the look out for a dark purple one! 

I Don't Really Wear Dresses

While some other women pass me by in their sundresses and skirts on a hot summer day, there I am in simple shorts and a t-shirt. 

I honestly can't remember the last time I wore a dress. Or a skirt. As with some make up and that purple purse I saw, quite a few dresses have caught my eye. I actually have a few dresses at the furthest part of my closet that I somehow won't bring myself to get rid of. What's the point if I don't even wear dresses? I always convince myself, just in case. What if I find myself invited to some for casual / formal event. Like a social dinner of some sort. Hmm. Highly unlikely. And then I thought of a more practical reason. Jasmine, you are a woman that fits into no such category. An in between-er between a feminine "girly girl" and a "Tom boy". If you like it, and it makes you feel good, wear the damn dress!

It's obvious that I'm not like other women to a degree and I feel that I relate somewhat more to guys to a degree as well. For instance, I remember one humorous moment in which me and a group of guys tried to understand the concept of curling eyelashes and cuticle removers. Yeah. We didn't get it. 

I wouldn't change who I am for anything! The things that make me different have shaped me into the wondrously unique person I am today!

lovehumanity
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 3 months ago

    Continue being you. One can either let the world rule us as human beings or we rule our own world .

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.