Humans logo

I'M Back

Revaluate, Reflect, and Regroup

By Sakoli Norman Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I'M Back
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

I took a little hiatus from writing. One of the reasons is because I've come to realize that, sometimes you have to step back and see what things for what they truly are. People say that "Your passion doesn't find you, but you have to find your passion" I think thats true to an extent, but I also think that your passion can find you through a lot of trial, error, and life experiences. I believe once you really soul search you really start to realize what your good at!

By Robert Koorenny on Unsplash

The time I spent away I spent reflecting. I spent thinking about what I've accomplished, what I want to accomplish, and each challenge that those accomplishments have brought, as well as what future trials and tribulations of completing my future accomplishments will bring. I've realized the passion that I have for accomplishing those things far exceeds any challenge that those journeys could bring. I think once you've found your gift, this motivation comes over you! You just tell the world to BRING IT ON!

By Nikola Majksner on Unsplash

I think about today's time and how some people are going through things that are unimaginable. A single mother raising children that can fall victim to the street, a child watching their parent take their last breath not knowing how their going to move on, a young man or woman confused about their journey, racial profiling, inflation, poverty, family dysfunction..etc. Its hard for any person to focus on what their gift is and to truly take advantage of it. I believe if your gift is truly yours, nothing will stop you, not even those situations I just listed!

I reflected on my teenage years. I remember my mother coming to get me from a small town in Jersey called Pleasantville. It was about seven miles from the well known Atlantic City. I had lived their for many years, but my grandmother knew that I needed to grow up eventually. So she told me I needed to live with my mother! I often refer to this as the day I grew up. This little change brought so many different challenges with it. It also brought the change that I needed to thrive in life.

By Volodymyr Hryshchenko on Unsplash

What I learned from this is that life isn't always easy. Challenges will constantly thrown your way. If you stay your course and stand ten toes down on your belief you will prevail. The one thing that I promised my grandmother is that I would finish high school. Thats one of the only things she asked me to do. I promised her that I would. So regardless of what challenges came my way whether it was: poverty, gangs or homelessness I overcame it. My passion for completing high school was far greater than any obstacle that could of been thrown in my way.

As I thought about those times it made me believe that if I can overcome that than I can overcome anything. Its just as simple as deciding and putting my mind to it. Reflecting on that made me believe in me again, and its a process that Im glad that I took!

By Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash
By Tanjir Ahmed Chowdhury on Unsplash

Reevaluation and Reflection are important for the body and the mind. Knowing who you are and how far you came can really change your mindset. You've made it through the worst of times. You've made it through times that you didn't think you would be able to make it through. Your win is on the horizon, just stay focused! I tell you man reflection/experience are something else. That was why I took my hiatus. To find myself! Reflect, Reevaluate, and Regroup!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Sakoli Norman

The world is a blank book, what you choose to fill in that blank is the purest form of creation.

Aspire to create and Create to inspire!

Check out my Instagram! @writingisthriving

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.