Humans logo

I know you're watching.

For whoever is now reading

By Cindy Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

How does one begin to compose a letter for the dead?..... Do you start with "Hi, I hope you're well?" or "how is it going up there?".

For my hero's aren't like yours. They've barely lived or breathed. My hero's aren't alive and well. They can barely even be seen.

Instead they’re the breeze that blows in gently; or rushes with such force. They’re the sun that heats my aching legs to warm me when I’m down. They're the song that plays on the radio when they know I need it the most. For this is how my hero’s continue to help me grow.

They can’t wrap me up in loving hugs or call me on the phone. They can’t come around with handmade gifts to show they love and care. For my hero's are souls who have left this earth and travelled somewhere new. Some have never touched this land; only seeing it from afar.

So this is my letter to the dead; to the hero’s I want to thank. For without them I wouldn’t be the person that is standing here today.

For my long lost love,

Through you I learnt to be strong and brave. I learnt that love is all that matters and it can truly change the world. The smile on a person's face can simply say it all. The saying is true;

" No act of kindness no matter how small; is ever wasted"

~ Aesop

For you are the reason I have changed who I am. For the call I decided to take. To dedicate my life to helping those in need. To acknowledge that whilst I couldn't save you; there are others that can be saved.

You are the reason I continue to push on; placing one foot in front of the other; because not everyone will get the chance to live a long and fulfilling life.

Instead of wasting my time here on earth; I found my passion and let it ignite. I let it consume my soul and spread like wild fire. For each day could be your last. Why waste it on your phone?. Connect with the world and others; and do what makes you happy.

For if you were still here on earth; you would be continuing to create love and happiness wherever you go because that was your outlook on life.

For this; I am eternally grateful.

"Live life for those who can't"

For my spirits and guides,

You have been there from the beginning and will continue to do so until my time on earth is done. Whilst I may not meet you until the end; I know that you are there. You encourage me to focus, listen and learn. To grow something beautiful from inside a mere soul.

For you are the reason I change and adapt and learn to navigate through life. I know that whilst everything may seem hard and with no end in sight; it doesn't mean it will.

You encourage me to be positive and ask for guidance and help. For love can conquer all; and positive thoughts allow positive reactions.

Through loss; I have become the person that I am today. Impacts left on my heart and soul have encouraged me to become more, to do more and to never give up. There is always something better waiting on the other side. Whilst doors may close; others will always open.

There are days where I feel I have no fight; days when I don't know what i'm doing but I can't give up. I have no choice but to push on because not everyone can say they've lived a long and fulfilling life.

Hero's don't always walk amongst us. Some of my hero's have never even walked at all.

Hero’s can’t always phone you; or walk with you hand in hand. Instead; my hero's instill courage, hope and strength through love, music and inspiration.

They watch from up above; and walk silently by my side. I know that they are there guiding me with love; and for this I’ll forever be grateful. To my hero’s you have shaped me; into the woman I have become.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Cindy

Nurse. Mum. Spiritualist. Adventurer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.