Humans logo

I Have a Dream

Where kindness is as natural as breathing

By Gerald HolmesPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
15
Photo by Islander Images on Unsplash

In the words of John Ruskin, “A little thought and a little kindness are often worth more than a great deal of money.”

Let’s look at the word “worth” in this quote. What is a kind word or kind act really worth? I believe the answer to that question is; everything. Every act of kindness that you commit in your life rewards you in ways that are invaluable to your soul and sense of self-worth. Being thoughtful and kind with your words and actions has a positive impact on everybody around you, and, maybe just as important, it also has a positive impact on you.

I have never regretted being kind and empathetic, but I have most certainly regretted being unkind or cruel. I believe most people have been unkind, unsympathetic or downright cruel at some point in their life. But I also believe that we all come to regret that moment of anger or stupidity at some point after the fact. It is the regret of these actions that helps us grow as humans, just as an act of kindness helps us grow with no regrets.

Our ability as a species to change the world we live in, for the better of all, lies in our ability as single members of that species to use kindness as the motivating factor in our decisions and actions.

As Desmond Tutu said, “Do your little bit of good where you are; it’s those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world.”

When I was thinking about what I wanted to say in this article, this quote appeared in my mind. Maybe it was close to my thoughts because Desmond Tutu died just a few short weeks ago, and I had been reading several stories about him. What surprised me when I started writing this is that out of the thousands of words that I read about him, the quote above and the quote below are the two that stuck to me like glue and moved me deeply.

Desmond Tutu; “There comes a point where we need to stop just pulling people out of the river. We need to go upstream and find out why they're falling in.”

We could do so much more than a little good if we got to those people floating in the river long before they fell in. This is why we need to do a little bit of good where we are and in any way we can. It could be something as simple as a kind word or a welcoming smile that changes someone’s day for the better.

Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

Think about that guy in dirty clothes on the street corner begging for money; you know who I’m talking about. It’s the same person you rush past every morning, avoiding eye contact, as you scurry to work caught up in the rat race of your day. Do you ever wonder how he ended up where he is, or do you even care? Maybe you feel annoyed by this person's presence in your day, or maybe you feel fear and avoidance is your shield. But maybe, just maybe, his fear is much greater than yours. Maybe he doesn’t know if he will eat today or where he will sleep tonight.

The point is nobody chooses to be hungry, cold or homeless without a very good reason. Everybody has a reason and a story that shapes them into this person, standing on a street corner cold, hungry and invisible.

So the question is, how do we get to that person before they become invisible? How do we change their path before they fall in that river? How do we foster kindness and inclusivity in a society that is so fast-paced that we can't see past our own day-to-day struggles?

Charles Glassman said, “Kindness begins with the understanding that we all struggle.”

This quote states the simple but important fact that we are all connected and somehow in this journey together. If these words stick with you as you struggle through your day, you will find that person on the street corner is no longer invisible. Maybe you will show him a kind smile or maybe even stop and talk to him for a minute. This simple act could change his day and make him feel seen and valued in some small way. But also, and here’s the kicker, I have learned that it will change your day for the better.

So, you might ask how do I, as an individual, foster this great change in society. I know it seems like such an overwhelming task, but I believe the answer lies with our children.

In a bit of shameless promotion, I will use my words from my poem, "The Reason I’m a Man," "Every person's childhood and all the things we see shape us like an artist's clay into everything we'll be."

I truly believe that who we become as an adult is a direct result of our childhood, be it good or bad. I know from my own experience that bad habits such as alcohol and drugs or bullying and hatred can be a generational problem, passed down from one generation to the next until someone breaks that cycle.

I think the most important thing I can teach my three granddaughters, aged seven, four and two, is that kindness and empathy are the most attractive features in any human. I do this not only with my words but also with my actions. Children are genuinely like sponges as they soak up what you say and do and then imitate you as they grow. So it is beyond important that we teach our children well and give them a strong sense of the value of being kind and inclusive.

Eric Hoffer said, “Kindness can become its own motive. We are made kind by being kind.”

I would like to expand on this quote by saying; children are made kind by witnessing kindness and acts of inclusivity by the adults in their lives. Those adults are more than just the parents and grandparents; they are all the adults that interact with our children and are a part of their lives. Our children's friends, extended family, teachers and neighbours all have a hand in shaping them into who they will become. So it goes without saying that we should all make it our goal to always be kind and inclusive in front of children. Not just our own but all children.

If we do this, and I know we can, maybe in the near future, we will create a generation where kindness is as natural as breathing.

Right now, I am in the process of writing a short play for children that shows the value of kindness and inclusivity and the cost of being unkind or cruel. My goal is to use it as a teaching exercise as the children in my life will be the actors. I have spoken to some teacher friends about this project, and they were excited, asking if they could use it in their classrooms.

I, for one, will do all I can by working with family, friends, neighbours and teachers to create an environment that fosters kindness and inclusivity and becomes a natural part of life for our children.

This is my dream, and I hope someday to see it become a reality.

As John Lennon said,

“You may say I'm a dreamer

But I'm not the only one

I hope someday you'll join us

And the world will live as one.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

humanity
15

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Judith Okech8 months ago

    I'm new to this platform. I came across your article while trying to acquaint myself with its activities. Your story genuinely mirrors your compassionate feelings towards humanity.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.