Humans logo

I forgive u.

Broken and used but still forgiving.

By Donna Rangirangi Published about a year ago 5 min read
Like

I asked my sister to leave!

All my younger years I admired my oldest sister,(7 years older than me). Would do anything for her, loved her with all my heart. She did grow up with us, she grew up with our grandparents but we were still around each other often. I have four sisters. One older and three younger than me. Me being the second eldest things weren’t all auger and spice , no, I was treated differently no doubt about it. And by everyone. But that was when I was much younger and would probably just be in everyone’s way anyways.

Anyhoo. Fast forward a few years. Finished school, working partime at a few different places. I admired my sister for everything she did. Thought she was thee most gorgeous human being ever and just loved how sometimes she’d treat me like her actual sibling. (Lol) when she was in good moods we’d get along so good and have little karaoke nights. There other times too when she felt like she just needed me to know she was still big sissy.

Over the years things were awesome and then they were crap with us and it seemed like it will just play like that over and over again.

We all five sisters now have babies and families of our own, grandchildren even. Now we all hit a wall now and then in our lives, surely I’m not thee only one, but I didn’t choose to crap on the ones that had my back.

Long story short this older sister of mine had to move out of her house as the owners were selling up and the realestate agents hadn’t found a home for them yet. Now for me, after having a sibling already live with me and my family and then having them live somewhere else, it was awesome to just have my house back to feeling like a home again, OUR home. But now another sister is in need or somewhere. Now I didn’t even consider offering them to stay at mine. For one. There were 5 of them, two; my lifestyle and way of living wasn’t really their cup of tea; and lastly I had one empty room but was going to make it up for my adult children and their family when they come home. Anyways, older sister ends up messaging me and asking if they could come bunk up at ours until they get a house that wouldn’t take long to wait for, and they had other people storing their gears.

Now after an uncomfortable sleep and a good think over, making sure she knew what was up at home and how things are and she assured me they would be good and just greatful to have somewhere to be, I now regretfully said sure. They had cats also which I specifically said no too as I have dogs and didn’t want him to be the reason they die.(not cat friendly dog). There was only one room remember so I told her they could have the room. She ended up not abiding by my very simple no to care policy, and bringing her cats having them in the house and the room. Having some run away and then find them and bring them back, I just didn’t know what to say.

On the day they moved in I was out, but they had filled up the room to the ceiling with gears leaving a tiny space. Ended up all living in my lounge room. Now as the days went on things were just so awkward. She was working, her husband was occasionally, their son was at primary and daught at high school and they had their grand daughter with them, now crowded into my little lounge. I tried for so long to just carry on even with them here. Kids had to go to school but other things were happening as well. This was my house and I would be making any and everything I could to feed the whanau. One day I got up went to the kitchen and there was like frozen to be thawed food on the bench. Now I don’t know why but I left it there and then the next day it happened again. And I was just not having it. I’m not the maid here I was not going to made to feel like one.

The last straw for me was I was away on a little weekend away at my daughters house when I get some messages that are telling me that the sister I had let stay with me and my family has been out spreading rumours and saying things like we’re getting bitten and scabby over here and things along that line(probably from her own cats). But yeah I had had enough. I wasn’t about to get into any big yelling obscenities, I just messaged her to be out of the house before I get home in a couple of days. Her response was to play the victim card. On her half things got so nasty I never thought things that she said to me even existed in her vocabulary. We don’t speak to this day and im better in every way. She went on to sell her sad story and just rope everyone into thinking shes this broken fragile thing, when in reality she’s conniving and two faced and im not missing out in anything. I choose to forgive but I will never forget.

humanityfamily
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.