Humans logo

I Can Finally Call You Home!

“The ache for home lives in all of us. The safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned.” ― Maya Angelou

By Nkeonye Judith IZUKAPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
I Can Finally Call You Home!
Photo by Outsite Co on Unsplash

Events Leading to Home Search

I underestimated the importance of one's living experience when I migrated. I had a lot of things to process like my career, generating income, and the weather. As you can see, accommodation did not make the list. After signing three different leases with three different landlords, I began having epiphanies. The people who live under the same roof as you impact your goal. What do I mean? This is a new year. New year resolutions abound. You might make a resolution in good faith like I am going to be present during my zoom meetings. If the people you live with have a different set of goals or lifestyle, that will affect you.

Each lease I signed was for a shared space. I could afford this option compared to an exclusive space. In every case, I always had my room. But, I shared common areas like the bathroom and the kitchen. If there was a living room, I shared that as well. Though in most cases, I was content with the former. The latter was a luxury.

As expected, there were challenges. For instance, I love to cook. I have a schedule to make the three meals of the day. This is herculean when you live with people. You either need a kitchen timetable or have a quiet understanding of a clean space. Sometimes, either of the two doesn't materialize. That affects your habit or culture of making your own meals and eating. What of bathroom culture? This space is a sacred space for some. I meditate while I shower. If the shower is dirty, all meditative thoughts fly out the window.

Have I talked about loud music or other recreational activities? Heavens help you if they happen on a day you are either studying or have a migraine headache. It was a repeat of all these plus the epiphanic moments that pushed me to a realization: I needed to get my own space.

The Search Begins

At this point, it was clear what I wanted. I am big on aesthetics. I am also big on infrastructure and functionality. But, budget trumps them all. When I first began my search, aesthetics always caught my eyes but the rental price was a decider. The first exclusive space I inspected was as lovely as my feature photo. It had the infrastructure and was functional. It was close to social amenities; transport, grocery stores, and a library. How did it get knocked out of the race? Cost. There was a price to pay for all its lovely attributes. It was double my former rent. The rent was not inclusive of utilities. So I went back to scouring rental ads. Lo, and behold I found a home.

'Home Ownership'

The ad sold itself by stating:

Fully Furnished Junior Studio Apartment

Weekly price $325, monthly price $1295.

NO FIRST AND LAST, NO LEASE, NO CREDIT CHECK

BOOK SOON, LIMITED AVAILABILITY

Price includes Heat, Hydro, Wi-Fi, Cable TV, kitchenette, and much more.

Special offer $1250 for immediate move-in or check-in within a week.

The block letters were like paradise to my senses. I dialed the number provided and booked an inspection. As I entered the apartment, one thing was clear, this was a dated building. It was in stark contrast to the last apartment I viewed. But everything the ad promised, I could see. I needed to get used to the dated infrastructure if I was going to call this space home.

They were right to call it a junior studio. It was a small space with a laid queen's size bed, a kitchenette, and a bathroom. From the bed, I could peruse the whole space. It then dawned on me! For the first time in three years, I had a place to myself. I had no need for cooking or cleaning timetables. There was no need to seek permission overtly or covertly. I could do anything I wanted at any time in any way. As for the datedness and not so grand infrastructure, I could spruce things up here and there.

I told the property manager I would move in as soon as possible. I asked him after documentation. He filled me in and I planned for the future. I took photos of the place and went to the furniture shop. I needed to buy a few things to transform my home. I worked my magic and yes, I do feel at home!

Photo credit: Story Kitchnette

Kitchen cabinets

Refrigerator

Queen Bed

Wall Tv

Work Space

Bathroom

humanity
3

About the Creator

Nkeonye Judith IZUKA

love life & humor, simple, grounded, focused, tenacious, motivated, warm- hearted and a fan of nutrition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.