Humans logo

I believe that before a mother, I am a human being first Says Namita Das.

Her Books, 'It’s Punny Oops, I mean Funny!' and 'Happily Technically, Ever After' are Bestsellers.

By Rachel MukherjeePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
She lives in Uganda with her husband and a young child.

Namita Das, an ex-software analyst, mother to a toddler and a passionate writer, for whom writing humor comes naturally. Her experience of having lived in the maximum city, Mumbai and worked with corporate bigwigs like Infosys, Accenture and J.P. Morgan Chase explains the cosmopolitan nature of her novella “It’s Punny Oops, I mean Funny!” and “Happily Technically, Ever After.” With the many joys and wonders of motherhood that she has experienced, Namita also writes tiny tales for pre-school pupils and one of her books “Keen Little Kuku” is expected to be out anytime soon.

Q. How does it feel to be a bestselling author?

A. It feels super awesome. I always wanted to write but had never thought I will write a book. The fact that I have already published it and the response I am getting from my readers is just motivating me to explore this field further.

Q. Did you wanted to be an author since your childhood?

A. No. Not really. Although when I was in school, I did love to write, I would always pick up prompts and write essays and poems. I, then, aspired to become a journalist and write columns in newspapers (I still want to do this) but destiny had a different plan. I was pushed into IT where I wrote codes and software programs but then after 14 years of my stint in IT, now I am here writing books.

Q. Tell us something about your two amazing books “It’s Punny.. Oops, I mean Funny!” and its sequel “Happily Technically, Ever After!”

A. These are hilarious stories about an urban couple, Anu and Mr. Husband. The book has various episodes from their day to day lives but with a different perspective which makes it comic. Most of my readers said it was relatable and that it also changed the way they would look at a particular situation.

Q. Tell us about your life and background a bit.

A. I was born and brought up in Mumbai; an obedient daughter, I fulfilled my parents wish to be the first female engineer in the family. I started my career with Infosys as a software analyst and continued to grow in the career associated with the biggies like Accenture and JPMC. After 14 years I quit, to relocate with my family. Right now, I am based in Uganda with my husband and a toddler son and happily exploring the vocation I love, writing.

Q. How do you manage being a mom and an active author together?

A. It is tough, motherhood takes a priority over everything else in your life. But I also believe that before a mother, I am a human being who needs her mental sanity and strength. I need to be in a good shape of mind to keep my family bonded. Hence, I have set some boundaries for myself to not get into a superwoman syndrome and try to fit in everything myself. I ask for help whenever required, I take a break when I need it. I enjoy writing and it lightens my mood, so I do shut myself in a room for a couple of hours and write. Of course, this would not have been possible without my supportive husband, and I am blessed to have him by my side.

Author Namita Das

Q. What are you going to do next as an author? Do you have any other plans?

A. I plan to write, write, write and entertain my readers. I am glad to see the response to my first book and would love to experiment with the genres. I have written a horror-comedy novella, which will be available in the market, hopefully before the year-end. Also, a Kids storybook is expected to be released anytime soon, I do plan to write more for kids as well.

Q. Your all time favorite books and writers?

A. There are many good writers but if I have to name them, then my best favorite is Ruskin Bond. I also love the writing journey of Sudha Murthy. To add to the list of my recent favorite reads are by Fredrick Backman.

Q. How is the response of your book? The best compliment you got for your book so far?

A. The response is great. The best compliment was by one of my readers who said that my book helped her overcome the stress of Covid. She was depressed with the news that her husband and daughter were infected but because she had read my book, she could see the same situation from a different viewpoint. My book is not a self-help book but this comment made me feel so bonzer, that the humor in my book could help someone overcome stress. I was touched.

Q. Your message to upcoming fiction writers.

A. Write your piece and put it out for the mass to read. Do not seek validation even before starting the journey. Every book has its readers and the book will find its way to reach them.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Mukherjee

Cinema, Art and Lifestyle correspondent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.