Humans logo

I am a Gemini (But Maybe I'm Not)

Nobody ever said a zodiac sign is completely accurate.

By Shari BaeuerlenPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Zodiac signs come in literally all shapes and sizes, they are a mystery to a lot of people including myself. Every zodiac sign is unique down to its very definition and the lore behind them. The biggest question that I have ever asked myself about zodiac signs is “are they really accurate?” I’ve never bothered to ask myself the question of whether or not zodiac signs are a real thing, people believe in what they want to and I have never seen a reason for them not to be real. I don’t necessarily believe in them myself but I would never discourage someone from thinking they were.

The question of whether or not they are real and/or, accurate can be answered with a simple; maybe. There are certain people that I’ve met that are exactly how their zodiac sign would describe them and there are others who are the complete opposite. I personally do not have enough proof to conclude whether or not astronomical signs are real, but who is to say that they aren’t?

I, myself, being born in the middle of June, am a Gemini. I have yet to figure out if I really am a Gemini according to what one defines a Gemini. As I write this I am learning all of this along with you, so bear with me.

Let’s start with breaking down what a zodiac sign is.

A zodiac by definition is “a belt of the heavens within about 8 degrees north or south of the ecliptic, including all apparent positions of the sun, moon, and most familiar planets. There are twelve equal divisions or signs: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.” The word zodiac comes from a Greek word meaning “cycle or circle of little animals.” The name shows the importance of animals (and mythological hybrids) among the twelve signs.

Despite my long search for it, I couldn’t find exactly what the meaning of a zodiac sign was but to the best of my knowledge it’s determined by the placement of your sign in the stars. How we’ve come to define people with those positions is still a mystery to me.

The first thing I have always thought about with the sign Gemini is that the constellation itself is twins, making the symbol for Gemini twins. I am not a twin. I am aware that being Gemini doesn’t mean that you have to be a twin but it is interesting to me that I have never met a pair of twins that were born between June 16th and July 16th.

According to what I’ve read up on Gemini the air sign is known for being so interested in many different things that it literally had to double itself. Which does not mean actual twins. It’s more like feeling like you would have to make clones of yourself in order to get everything that you want to be done. Most Gemini is easily mistaken as two-faced, having one “good twin” and one “evil twin” which could not be further from the truth. They rarely have hidden agendas. Gemini is described as playful and intellectually curious. They often juggle many different passions, hobbies, careers, and friend groups. Out of all the signs they are the social butterflies.

I will admit easily that I am very good at doing multiple things at once. I’ve always been a multitasker and honestly, I do enjoy being able to get as many things a possible done in just the span of few hours. I fill my free time up as much as I possibly can. I do love learning new things and learning as much as my brain can handle. I have so many random facts stored up in my mind that sometimes it’s hard to keep track of them. I have a lot of hobbies and different passions that result in having different careers. I enjoy doing art with a passion that I can not put into words, but I have a deep interest in cars which makes me want to become a mechanic. I don’t however have many friend groups. I tend to stick to the people that I am loyal to but it doesn’t mean I’m not open to meeting new people. I’m not exactly a “social butterfly” either. I rarely start conversations with people I don’t know but on the other hand, when I am with the people I am comfortable with I interact as much as possible.

Gemini is open to change and is best at guiding through transformations. They enjoy spending most of their time using as much of their creative process as possible but aren’t afraid to try new things. Usually though, after trying something new they will give their opinion and most likely go back to trying to be as creative as possible.

I wouldn’t go as far as to say that I am not open to change but I don’t always completely reject the thought of it. If it’s a huge life-altering change I usually need time to adjust and sort myself out. Little changes I can handle. Most of the people I know say that I am however good at helping others through change. I’ve always been good at guiding others through their hardships even when my own life seemed to be falling apart around me. I have never been afraid to try new things, somethings had made me hesitate or question the moments that led up to those events but even if I regret it afterward, I enjoy taking risks. For example, the time I was dared to try squid. It was weird and I didn’t like it but I wouldn’t say no if I was given a redo.

A Gemini is great at expressing their emotions externally. They don’t take time to be embarrassed about the way that they feel or moments that others might regret. Communication is very important to a Gemini. They usually like to talk a lot and with their hands. Gemini enjoys texting and tweeting and other forms of communication and expression.

I definitely am not good at expressing emotions other than happiness to people. I always want to put people in a better mood or brighten their day by giving them a smile and there are only a handful of people that have ever seen me cry. I tend to close myself off to other people, but I’ve always been good at making sure people know if I am mad or upset with them in order to give them the chance to redeem themselves. Depending on the situation I can become easily embarrassed like stumbling or singing in front of people. I try not to fret over things I might regret too long though. I have always believed that communication is key to every relationship you have but that doesn’t mean I am just going to talk to random people as I please. I don’t talk with my hand unless I am really passionate about the topic I am on. I know for a fact that I do not enjoy texting and tweeting. You can ask anyone, I am the worst at texting. You have more chance of a response just calling me.

Geminis are gentle, affectionate, curious, adaptable, learn new things, and change ideas with ease. But they can be nervous, inconsistent, and indecisive.

They like music, magazines, talking with just about anyone and short trips into town. They dislike being alone, confined, repetition and routines.

I don’t know if I would call myself gentle. I know when the best time is to be gentle but I also like to rough house with friends and play slug bug with my siblings. I’m stern and hard when I need to be but I am gentle with animals and if someone is emotional. I am not good at showing people affection through words but I try my hardest to let people know that I care through my actions. I love learning new things, I could spend hours reading up on any topic that I find interesting to soak up as much information as I can and I love watching documentaries.

I certainly am nervous at times depending on the situation, I’m not the biggest fan of speaking in public and it gives me epic butterflies. I can be indecisive but I try not to be inconsistent, I like patterns and staying as organized as possible.

I know for a fact I like music, it’s one thing that I have always been able to rely on, I listen to music every chance I get. Music is one of the ways that I love expressing myself. I’m not really into magazines but I love to read books, I am what my family calls a “book nut.” I like talking with the people that I know but I’m not very good at talking with strangers, though I do enjoy meeting new people when given the chance. I love talking as long of drives as I can get away with. I love going into town with friends and family and exploring as much as possible.

I like to have my alone time, sometimes I like to get away from the world and spend some time on my own. I usually do it by going on walks to even just being outside gardening. I like having a routine but sometimes it gets boring doing the same things over and over again so I try to change things up as much as possible.

From what I’ve read a Geminis love life requires a lot of communication and I think that in a relationship communication is one of the most important factors. Physical contact is important to me and to a Gemini. It’s not a deal-breaker for me if someone doesn’t like to cuddle as much as I do but I do like to show my affection through physical touch. Gemini tends to bounce from lover to lover until they finally find the one they want to settle down with. They need an exciting relationship that is full of passion. Their lover needs to be someone they can have as a lover, a friend, family, and someone to talk to.

I haven’t bounced from one relationship to another, I actually haven’t been in very many relationships but I am in my early twenties so that could easily change. I like my relationships to be just that. Exciting and full of passion, communication. I like to have someone I can confide to as a lover and a friend.

When reading about the personality traits and details of a Gemini half of me can agree that yes, I am indeed a Gemini. But, I am not everything that a Gemini is said to be. I still don’t know if I am a Gemini by definition. All I know is, and this is going back to what I said earlier, you can believe what you want to. I don’t think that if anyone were to ever ask me to describe myself to them that I would reply by saying “well, I am a Gemini.” I don’t think it describes me completely. There may be people out there who read about their star sign and can say that they are described perfectly, but I am not one of those people.

Besides, how would we all be so unique if every Gemini, Virgo and Aries were the same?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Shari Baeuerlen

I'm just a girl who enjoys writing and would like to do it more. I am an artist working on starting a small business and I would like to write about as much of my journey as I can. I love to paint, draw and do photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.