Humans logo

Hungry Eyes

I looked up at him from under my lashes really taking him in for the first time, I followed his hard chiseled jaw line that bought your eyes to his full lips. A bead of red wine fell from his mouth staining his lips, the strong aroma of wine filled my nostrils as I watched his tongue jot out and lick his red stained lips.

By Shannon RileyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
5

The bathroom was filled with the echoing sound of water swirling down the drain. A single drop of blood dropped, mixing with the clear water.

"Why does this always happen to me?"

I murmured out loud finally looking up from the sink as I wiped the blood from my nose. Here I was out on a blind date I never should of agreed to go on, specially with the murders they kept talking about on the news, 3 young girls have gone missing in the last 2 weeks. That should of been enough of a reason to tell my annoying friend Lisa no, but here I was standing in this very fancy bathroom after leaving the empty table, my date had yet to show

I took once last look at myself in the mirror, my red curls caught my eye in the Florence light of the bathroom as they bounced over my shoulder. I looked at my pale face as I tilted my face side to side taking in the very little and bad attempt of make up I tried to apply. My nose was now a tinge of red against my pale skin, The door flew open suddenly startling me from my daydream, I quickly wiped my nose again making sure the blood was gone as I made my way back to the empty table, wondered why the hell tonight was the night my body decided to through a blood nose at me, my thoughts were interrupted as I bumped into a waiter standing next to table.

"Excuse me Miss." His voice came out like liquid honey, "This has been ordered for you."

He smiled as he place a large glass of red wine on the table as I sat down.

"What is this?"

"It is our famous and very popular glass of Merlot!" He smiled, his incisors big and sharp in the corners of his smile, they reached his eyes and when I looked in to them it seemed to be an endless sea staring back at me, it sent shivers down my spine.

"Ordered by who?" I looked around not finding any one.

The waiter smiled as he left me staring at the large glass of Merlot alone. I picked the glass up and twirled it around in my hand. I watched as the red liquid swirled and splashed up against the rim of the glass. It was almost mesmerizing as I inhaled the rich smell, I closed my eyes enjoying the smell that was making my mouth water.

"Am I interrupting?"

I opened my eyes to find a very handsome very tall man standing on the other side of the table staring at me.

I cleared my throat feeling like he caught me doing something embarrassing. I went to answer but was caught by his stunning eyes, they looked bronze almost gold in this light, the longer I stared I could of swear they started to swirl. I cleared my throat snapping myself out of whatever weird daze I was in.

"I'm guessing your my date?" I said with a bit too much annoyance in my voice then I meant to.

"You would be correct! My name is Roman." He smiled reaching his hand out across the table.

I stood as I reached my hand out intending to shake it, but he grabbed the end of my fingers bringing me out from the chair and around the table to stand in front of him. he bent down and bought his mouth down to hover over my hand.

"And your name is?" He purred.

No words came out as I steered at his plump lips that were hovering over my hand, his hot breath fanning my skin sending shivers down my spine.

"Emery."

"Mmm Emery, nice to meet you." He smiled as he kissed the top of my hand.

I closed my eyes as his lips touched my skin it felt like his kiss was scorching my skin. It sent butterfly's to my stomach that continued further down creating an unfamiliar ache between my legs.

I pulled my hand back and opened my eyes, feeling my cheeks burn at my body reaction to him.

"Nice to meet you." I said quickly as I fumbled back to my chair and sat down.

He smiled as he took off his blazer folding and placing it on the back of the chair. His muscles standing out under the tight dress shirt he wore. I swallowed as I watched his tall frame sit in the chair in front of him, everything about him lured me to him, my gaze my body, I found myself staring at the small tuff of hair that was peaking out of her shirt, his skin was tanned and hard, I followed his bare skin up to his neck taking in the fine line of his jaw.

"Enjoying the view?"

"Sorry, what?" He startled me from my gawking.

"I said are you enjoying the red?"

"Um.."

I steered at the glass I had yet to taste. I quickly picked up the glass and bought it to my mouth enjoying the strong rich smell of the wine. I gulped down the intoxicating red liquid and enjoyed the warm burn it left behind.

"It delicious!" I licked my lips as some of it escaped my rash attempt of tasting the wine.

"Mm yes delicious!" He smirked as he lifted his hand to grab a waiters attention.

I didn't pay attention to their conversation I was too lost in this alluring man in front of me.

What was my issue? I tried snapping myself out of this daze, he was late, which was just rude and he hasn't even apologized for it, even as my brain was trying to make me snap out of it my eyes were glued to his mouth and his perfect straight teeth. His tongue traced over his teeth, slowing as his tongue came to his incisor wrapping his tongue around the sharp tooth, I looked up to find his golden eyes staring at me, watching me completely lost in his beauty, he smiled and I blushed mentally slapping myself.

"Sorry I'm late, I was tied up." He smiled as 2 glasses of red were placed on the table.

The waiter took my empty glass as I grabbed for the new one. I felt my vision sway a little as I looked around the room finding the dimly lit restaurant hard to focus on. Surely I wasn't tipsy from one glass of red?

my attention was bought back to Roman who was admiring the glass of red as he bought the glass to his lips taking a mouthful, he frowned looking at me.

"Your bleeding?" he said as he placed his glass on the table.

My hand flung up to my nose, wiping away the blood.

"Here let me."

Before I new it he was kneeling in front of me, bringing a napkin up to my nose and dapping the blood.

He smiled as he moved forward almost landing us nose to nose.

"Dose this happen a lot?" He asked as his eyes landed on my lips.

"I.. uh.. I"

I stumbled as his hot breathed fanned my face, I went to speak but before I knew it his lips crushed against mine, the taste of blood and red wine mixing together. when I opened my eyes I found him staring at me as his lips left mine, he dragged his thump over his lips wiping my blood from them.

"What an intoxicating flavor, blood mixed with wine." He smiled and licked his thumb.

Something inside of me screamed, like a warning going off in my head. Something like RUN, run now.

literature
5

About the Creator

Shannon Riley

I have been writing as early as I remember, I always had so many ideas running through my heads flowing onto pages. But for the last 5 years I have been adapting a short story I wrote when I was 12 into a novel. I like to write fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.