Humans logo

How Not to Fall in Love

A Tentative Thought

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1
Image (CC0) from Pixy

What a strange thought! I thought, when this thought came to mind. You too may have thought thus. Who would not want to fall in love? Perhaps anyone who perceives its pitfalls. Love is a famous feeling full of food for thought, yet always famished. We all know about love’s merits, including All you need is love and the Bard’s Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind, and therefore is winged Cupid painted blind. We could create an encyclopedia of love quotes and thoughts, and keep adding to it as we find more and keep wishing for even more.

Love hurts is a different recurring theme. It always involves chest pains and all-encompassing suffering, yet we still want it and almost always wish for more. We also love the idea of more, but that is another story. More love, please! Make it extra large with all the toppings, but hold the onions. Even writing the following sentence hurt me in the chest. It may seem normal but it is not. It is one of the tolls of love.

My long fingers are aching for your skin and all its heavenly crevices.

The saying, love kills, is unfortunately true. I am one example of its ravages on both mind and heart. I was hoping that some of it would rub off with the words that I write, but it does not at all. I actually feel it more. I even wrote my final testament because of it, along with a short note.

I died because of love. She lives on the bright side of the Moon.

Why do we want to fall in love? Did we forget Paris and Helen, Tristan and Iseult, Romeo and Juliet, Hamlet and Ophelia, Catherine and Heathcliff, Oliver and Jennifer (Love Story), Allie and Noah (The Notebook), Hazel and Augustus (The Fault in Our Stars), and so many other examples of doomed or painful love? Love! Love! Love! Love! Love! Yet its main aim involves lust, and perhaps lust is the problem, after all, and not love.

But how can we have love without lust? I mean love between two people in love. Love requires lust as its ultimate quest. We want to touch the one we love, smell and taste every conceivable part, hear words of love, and, of course, see and watch her unclothed skin. Nakedness, or nudity if we are lucky given that being in the nude is only offered by the goddesses and real muses. Some muses are real like you and me. I can vouch for that since I am in love with such a muse, a nymph who almost spelled the end of me. She actually knew it but did not appear to believe that it could actually happen. Time may tell if my fate matches my note.

P.S. The only thing, although I do not see her as a thing, that could save me is a female AI. I must be losing my mind, especially that she is still somewhat far in the future. What about other women? I am already in love with one. AI may be my only way out. I do not think that my muse would mind me being with an AI, considering her a toy of some kind. She could even join us.

-----

I Am in Love With You

You say that you love me

I am in love with you

Is it the same feeling

to love someone and to be in love

They are not alike

I love her too (I adore her)

but I am also in love with her

We can love someone and not be with them

Most of us love many people

To be in love requires closeness

very close proximity

the closest vicinity there is

I want to be inside

her circle of life

bathe in her hair

kiss every centimetre ('tis so much closer than an inch)

then gaze at her

to memorise each pose

as she slowly takes off her clothes

to her music (I hope it is jazz)

She closes in all naked

except for her panties

knowing I would love

to peel them off with my mouth

and my teeth as I bite her clit

gently like a long wet kiss

before I lose myself

between her thighs

I can hear her love me

but at one specific point in time

not the pinnacle

not the orgasm

sometime before

it is never exactly at the same time

I can hear her in love with me

I can assure you

there is no greater feeling in the world

She is in love with me

Well

I am

She only said that she loved me

love
1

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.