Humans logo

How My Phone Got Stolen Because of N500 Shawarma in Computer Village - Ruger

Ruger narrates entire ordeal

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

If you live in Nigeria, then you know about the dramas that happen in Lagos. Even if you don't live in Lagos, you hear the stories, you know the reputation that the city has. So, when Nigerian singer Ruger went to Susan Pwajok's podcast called Surviving Lagos, he was asked to reveal an experience that showed him pepper while living in Lagos. Ruger quickly remembered the story of when they stole his phone because of N500 shawarma and below is how he explained it all happened.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Ruger on "Surviving Lagos" Podcast

Speaking on one experienced that showed him pepper while growing up in Lagos, Ruger said:

This was when I was not wise. So I just started working in Computer Village at that time, I just got to Computer Village, that's my first time getting to Computer Village. I just started working, learning the job, repairing phones and things. So there's this brother that came to our shop one day. That time I still be small boy, I just komot from secondary school so I no really know about that crazy life. So this man came and said he wanted to repair phone. So my boss was trying to repair a phone that he brought to the shop. So my boss went to buy something. So it was remaining only me and him in the small kiosk there. So I sha see say the guy dey look my phone, the guy was looking at my phone and saying "ah, this your phone is actually nice". He was looking like a better guy, he was looking like a good guy, and me sef I was liking his energy. I was feeling the guy's energy. So the man told me "ah, nice phone" as he was looking at it. That's how he now said "Ah, he feels like eating shawarma oh". I said "ah ah, boss dem dey sell shawarma". I was trying to be nice and I wanted to chop small money from him in case he tips me. Greed! [laughs]. Na so this man give me money say make I go buy shawarma o. Omo he gave me like 1k, said buy for yourself too. I was saying "ah ah, such a nice man!" I said okay, that remaining N500, I would keep it for myself when I'm going back home. I'll just buy the shawarma and give him. As I go buy shawarma, come back, omo baba don move. Took my phone. I first thought maybe he went to go and buy something, that's how my boss came and was like ah ah, that guy said he's already going, that he would come back another time. Ah, I wanted to faint there. I just carried the shawarma like so because of shawarma! They carried my phone, leave me with shawarma and N500.

What do you think of Ruger's story? Do you have any stories too that come to mind when you think about a story that has shown you pepper in your own town or city growing up? Let me know by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.